Insignia problem with audio sync to video? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 10-07-2008, 04:46 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Dr Becker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lake Woebegone
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is kind of wierd. I always have to do lip reading in order to understand dialog, or else use the close caption feature. On my Insignia, most of the time the audio is not in sync with the video. It's really wierd trying to watch somone speak when the voice is not on track with the lips. Anybody else notice this? I think you have to be hearing impaired to notice it. Is it just the Insignia doing this?
Dr Becker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 10-07-2008, 07:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
nybbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 697
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does this occur on all channels or just one?
nybbler is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 10-07-2008, 07:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mikemikeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: DC Area
Posts: 1,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also, are you using the composite (yellow cable) output or RF (channel 3 or 4) output?
mikemikeb is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 10-07-2008, 08:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You're probably experiencing the CECB decoder audio/video going out of sync. I've experience this problem with all CECB's that I've tested. It usually happens when the incoming "Signal Quality" (not "Signal Level") drops to it's threshold level. Usually, I find the problem gets resolved by power cycling the CECB. If the "Signal Quality" stays low, you may have the problem reappear.
systems2000 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 10-08-2008, 09:36 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Dr Becker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lake Woebegone
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all. Thanks for replying. The problem is not restricted to one channel. I'm using the composite video/audio not the rf connection.
Is there a box that doesn't have this problem?
Dr Becker is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 10-08-2008, 10:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DigaDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pacific Northwest.
Posts: 4,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Becker View Post

Hi all. Thanks for replying. The problem is not restricted to one channel. I'm using the composite video/audio not the rf connection.
Is there a box that doesn't have this problem?

My Zeniths (DTT900/901) have the sync problem once in a while. I power them off and on and it's fine for days or weeks.

Yesterday I purchased a Zinwell ZAT-970 at a local Albertsons Grocery/Pharmacy store. I haven't had much of an opportunity to check out the ZAT.

"A ROSE BY ANY OTHER NAME WILL SMELL AS SWEET. BUT IT DOES NOT FOLLOW THAT WHATEVER WE CHOOSE TO CALL A ROSE WILL POSSESS THE ROSE'S FRAGRANCE."

--Benjamin Breckinridge Warfield (1917)
DigaDo is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 10-08-2008, 11:09 AM
Newbie
 
jine4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it goes out of sync of the signal drops out or stutters. no need to power off the box, you can just quickly flip to another channel and back to fix it. annoying.
jine4 is offline  
Reply Coupon Eligible Converter Box (CECB)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off