Insgnia: Video goes dark at times - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 10-14-2008, 08:47 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Dr Becker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lake Woebegone
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
At times, the video goes out on the Insignia. For all channels. This lasts for 10 minutes or so then comes back. Turning the unit off and on again does not fix it.
Anyone else having this problem?
Dr Becker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 10-15-2008, 08:05 AM
Senior Member
 
CasualOTAer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Becker View Post

At times, the video goes out on the Insignia. For all channels. This lasts for 10 minutes or so then comes back. Turning the unit off and on again does not fix it.
Anyone else having this problem?

Just curious, does it only happen on the composite outputs, or on the RF, too?
CasualOTAer is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 10-15-2008, 09:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
systems2000 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 10-15-2008, 10:00 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Dr Becker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lake Woebegone
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is the APT model. Good question about RF or composite. I don't have the RF connect set up so can't comment. I think I'll try that. TV screen just goes dark for long time, then eventually comes back. Seems to happen maybe 1-2 times a week.
Dr Becker is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 10-16-2008, 07:37 AM
Senior Member
 
CasualOTAer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Becker View Post

This is the APT model. Good question about RF or composite. I don't have the RF connect set up so can't comment. I think I'll try that. TV screen just goes dark for long time, then eventually comes back. Seems to happen maybe 1-2 times a week.

If it doesn't happen on the RF output, consider trying a new composite cable on the composite connections. One of the simplest things to try next.
CasualOTAer is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 10-16-2008, 07:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also, make sure you have a clean solid connection on the TV. Many RCA connections will build up dust and oxydation over the years from non-use. I've also seen loose connection boards in some TV's.
systems2000 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 11-10-2008, 06:35 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Dr Becker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lake Woebegone
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought I should update this entry. The problem was in the TV, not the set top box. Turns out that dust had accumulated inside on the chassis and caused something to overheat. It just needed a good vacuuming.
Dr Becker is offline  
Reply Coupon Eligible Converter Box (CECB)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off