My Box only gets CBS 2.1 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 40 Old 11-04-2008, 07:54 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
lexus2108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Box only gets CBS 2.1

Is it my box or is it that CBS has NO substations? If that is the case will they in 2009?

Why is it only CBS with no substations? OR it is my box?

Any help or links would be a great help
lexus2108 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 40 Old 11-04-2008, 08:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jtbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Clinton, SC
Posts: 3,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Where are you?
jtbell is offline  
post #3 of 40 Old 11-04-2008, 09:27 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
lexus2108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
nyc
lexus2108 is offline  
post #4 of 40 Old 11-05-2008, 06:14 AM
 
electrictroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lexus2108 View Post

Is it my box or is it that CBS has NO substations?

I've been told that CBS-owned stations don't have subchannels, because they want to provide as good an HD picture as possible. Adding a subchannel would diminish the main channel's quality.
electrictroy is offline  
post #5 of 40 Old 11-05-2008, 06:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
golinux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 886
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by electrictroy View Post

I've been told that CBS-owned stations don't have subchannels, because they want to provide as good an HD picture as possible. Adding a subchannel would diminish the main channel's quality.

Wrong yet again. My local CBS is running RTN on 42.2.
golinux is online now  
post #6 of 40 Old 11-05-2008, 06:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Scooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Youngsville, NC USA
Posts: 5,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by lexus2108 View Post

My Box only gets CBS 2.1

Is it my box or is it that CBS has NO substations? If that is the case will they in 2009?

Why is it only CBS with no substations? OR it is my box?

Any help or links would be a great help

I'd start by asking this in the NYC thread.
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/forumdisplay.php?f=45

You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Being A Beacon of Knowledge in the darkness of FUD
Scooper is offline  
post #7 of 40 Old 11-05-2008, 06:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by golinux View Post

Wrong yet again. My local CBS is running RTN on 42.2.

Your local CBS station is not a CBS-owned station. It is owned by Four Points Media.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #8 of 40 Old 11-05-2008, 08:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dattier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago IL, Northwest Side
Posts: 2,913
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 28
The CBS station in Chicago is owned by CBS, and it comparably has no subchannels.
dattier is offline  
post #9 of 40 Old 11-05-2008, 08:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No sub-channels on WJZ (CBS-13) in Baltimore either.

USEFUL LINKS:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
systems2000 is offline  
post #10 of 40 Old 11-05-2008, 11:52 AM
Senior Member
 
partsman_ba's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
WCBS's website link to TitanTV only shows 2.1:

http://wcbstv.com/programming

I love the digital transition. The voices in my head just say 0 and 1 now.
partsman_ba is offline  
post #11 of 40 Old 11-05-2008, 12:35 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
lexus2108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
oK so they refuse to have any substations. What a shame.

Seems all stations do not see the potential in subs.

1) all news 24/7

2) Old movies 24/7

3) History

No one needs 24/7 weather. especially when it is not local weather.

They can get a new market of people who wont pay for cable. is there not like 50 million of us? That is a big market.
lexus2108 is offline  
post #12 of 40 Old 11-05-2008, 12:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Youngsville, NC USA
Posts: 5,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I don't know what you're bitching about - most of US would love to get no-subchanneled HDTV programming.

You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Being A Beacon of Knowledge in the darkness of FUD
Scooper is offline  
post #13 of 40 Old 11-05-2008, 01:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DigaDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pacific Northwest.
Posts: 4,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Our local Portland Oregon CBS station KOIN had both 6.1 and 6.2 until a few weeks ago. Channel 6.1 was widescreen HD/SD 16:9 and 6.2 had the same programming in SD fullscreen 4:3 (narrowscreen) with the sides of the picture cut off. Channel 6.2, that had the audio gain cranked up far higher than other local channels, is now gone.

"A ROSE BY ANY OTHER NAME WILL SMELL AS SWEET. BUT IT DOES NOT FOLLOW THAT WHATEVER WE CHOOSE TO CALL A ROSE WILL POSSESS THE ROSE'S FRAGRANCE."

--Benjamin Breckinridge Warfield (1917)
DigaDo is offline  
post #14 of 40 Old 11-05-2008, 02:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,817
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scooper View Post

I don't know what you're bitching about - most of US would love to get no-subchanneled HDTV programming.

Count me in that group. My local CBS channel has no subs and it shows. It has the best local PQ by far. IMO subs best belong on a channel of their own along with 3 or 4 other SD channels.
jjeff is offline  
post #15 of 40 Old 11-05-2008, 05:21 PM
Senior Member
 
spokybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WHBF shows great HD on 4.1 & SD on 4.2. I'm not sure why. My CECB has the same PQ on both. Sometimes graphics are chopped off when viewing HD on SD tv though.

Bob 61231
spokybob is offline  
post #16 of 40 Old 11-05-2008, 06:02 PM
Senior Member
 
jeff2631's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Those using a converter box won't care about HD picture quality and will only want more sub channels. KCBS has no sub channels and hope it stays that way.
jeff2631 is offline  
post #17 of 40 Old 11-05-2008, 06:29 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by spokybob View Post

WHBF shows great HD on 4.1 & SD on 4.2. I'm not sure why. My CECB has the same PQ on both. Sometimes graphics are chopped off when viewing HD on SD tv though.

WHBF 4-2 is supposed to pick up RTN at some point.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #18 of 40 Old 11-06-2008, 08:35 AM
 
electrictroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by golinux View Post

Wrong yet again. My local CBS is running RTN on 42.2.

I said "CBS-owned" in clear black-and-white. An apology would be nice (yet again). :-)
Quote:
Originally Posted by lexus2108 View Post

oK so they refuse to have any substations. What a shame..

Multiple channels are nice (my ION has four of them), but it's also a shame to destroy the pristine HD picture. I have an NBC station with three subchannels, and the HD looks like crap even on an old analog set. (It has mosquitos, blocking, and other compression flaws.)

Not having any subchannels gives the best picture possible, and that's what CBS wants on their owned-and-operated stations.
electrictroy is offline  
post #19 of 40 Old 11-06-2008, 10:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
johnpost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 783
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by electrictroy View Post

I've been told that CBS-owned stations don't have subchannels, because they want to provide as good an HD picture as possible. Adding a subchannel would diminish the main channel's quality.

Quote:
Originally Posted by golinux View Post

Wrong yet again. My local CBS is running RTN on 42.2.

Quote:
Originally Posted by electrictroy View Post

I said "CBS-owned" in clear black-and-white. An apology would be nice (yet again). :-)

He may have been unaware that his CBS station was not network owned.

If people were to post apologies to this list when they made misstatements there would be some people needing to post them into the hundreds or more.
johnpost is offline  
post #20 of 40 Old 11-07-2008, 02:06 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff2631 View Post

Those using a converter box won't care about HD picture quality and will only want more sub channels.

Unfortunately, if you have subchannels which you really like, and also look very good, those, too, will look like complete cr*p once they add too many more.

We just had that happen here, where we have an HD channel that has three subs (one that no one cares much about - but the other two were great retro channels - even better than that national retro sub that's popular) - and they just added another - the MGM movie channel "ThisTV". Now, all the subchannels look terrible - and you can notice that clearly on my 32" analog set. People are complaining about it left and right over in our local OTA thread.

These people should be careful what they wish for, because there is a tipping point, and they will eventually notice it to the point of it being extremely bothersome - even on their little, 19" TV's.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #21 of 40 Old 11-07-2008, 04:46 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
lexus2108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rammitinski View Post

Unfortunately, if you have subchannels which you really like, and also look very good, those, too, will look like complete cr*p once they add too many more.

We just had that happen here, where we have an HD channel that has three subs (one that no one cares much about - but the other two were great retro channels - even better than that national retro sub that's popular) - and they just added another - the MGM movie channel "ThisTV". Now, all the subchannels look terrible - and you can notice that clearly on my 32" analog set. People are complaining about it left and right over in our local OTA thread.

These people should be careful what they wish for, because there is a tipping point, and they will eventually notice it to the point of it being extremely bothersome - even on their little, 19" TV's.

What channel added the MGM movie channel "thisTV"

What state you in?

Can you link us or pm me the link to the other thread

thanks
lexus2108 is offline  
post #22 of 40 Old 11-07-2008, 05:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by lexus2108 View Post

What channel added the MGM movie channel "thisTV"

What state you in?

Can you link us or pm me the link to the other thread

thanks

WCIU. There's a complete list of affiliates on Wikipedia, or at least, I think it's complete. (I've been compiling it)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/This_TV

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #23 of 40 Old 11-07-2008, 11:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,817
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Nice job. Now I could more see a channel like that to replace NBCs WX+ than a sports channel that would require more bandwidth due to the extensive motion in sports.
The Wiki stub mentioned MyTV but could a station like this be on the sub channel of NBC or would that be highly unlikely? I did notice FOX, CBS and ABC had this channel on at least one station but mostly independents.
jjeff is offline  
post #24 of 40 Old 11-07-2008, 02:06 PM
Senior Member
 
mosquito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ThisTV looks like it would be a great subchannel candidate. I used to be of the persuasion that any subchannels to an HD channel are bad, but I've come around to thinking that 1 subchannel with an HD main really has no impact on the HD quality. The encoders they have these days are so much better than when this argument first came up so many years ago.

I wonder if Sinclair would maybe add ThisTV as a CW23 subchannel in the Twin Cities? They were running The Tube for a while before it went under, and honestly, I don't much care for the CW programming anyway, so it doesn't matter to me if the HD quality suffers a bit
mosquito is offline  
post #25 of 40 Old 11-07-2008, 02:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,817
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 90
I'm with you on that. Now CW23 has one subchannel(23.2) which is totally worthless. A SD version of their 23.1 HD channel. I kind of miss the Tube. Never could figure how they could support themselves. I rarely if ever saw commercials on that channel.
jjeff is offline  
post #26 of 40 Old 11-07-2008, 04:35 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
lexus2108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok I did some DD research and this is what I found

The online programing for THIS TV, Metv, and MEtoo

http://www.metvchicago.com/

http://titantvguide.titantv.com/apg/...x?siteid=52545

It will give you an idea of propgraming on all three stations run by weigal entertainment group.

My aunt would enjoy these stations

Weigel Broadcasting, the local company behind The U, MeTV and MeToo, has announced that this fall it'll be partnering with MGM to produce a new, nationwide digital TV channel to be called This TV. When stations go all-digital in February, there will be many broadcasters that won't be able to fill the new subchannels, due to lack of funds and/or programming. This TV aims to fill the gap, available for lease to broadcasters who can broadcast the schedule as is (it'll be on the air 24/7) or customize it with local content. The new station will draw from more than 10,000 hours of TV shows and thousands of films that are part of the MGM library. And it'll be run and programmed right here in Chicago, overseen by Weigel's Executive VP Neal Sabin.

In order to meet the FCC requirement for children's programming, the new station will also include programs from Cookie Jar Entertainment (behind shows like The Doodlebops and Johnny Test). The first markets scheduled for This TV are Chicago, Milwaukee and South Bend.
lexus2108 is offline  
post #27 of 40 Old 11-07-2008, 04:38 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Yes, the programming on MeTV and MeToo is great. And so was the PQ, until they added ThisTV.

ThisTV occasionally shows action movies, so it's going to have just as many artifacts as any sports channel would in a comparable situation.

Here it sucks, because it's competing with 1 HD and 3 other SD subchannels. The station just got a new encoder - it looked fine 'till now, when this put all the subchannels over the limit. The last one, which is ethnic, is literally unwatchable now, and all the others are worse, too. Blocking on movement and much softer.

The Tube, when we had it, looked terrible, too - because it was a subchannel (the only one) of WGN-DT, which has always looked bad (Smallville, with all it's fast movement the other night was giving me a major headache). They never did have very good quality to begin with over there (old encoders or whatever). But people didn't mind with that subchannel so much because listening to it was really more important than watching it.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #28 of 40 Old 11-07-2008, 06:47 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
lexus2108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well in NYC we dont have these stations so who knows where they will put them. Or if the PQ will get worse. We will have to see. BUt as far as the shows. It is great for free tv
lexus2108 is offline  
post #29 of 40 Old 11-07-2008, 07:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jtbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Clinton, SC
Posts: 3,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The ideal host for these new subchannels would be an independent station that doesn't have any HD at all, just some SD subchannels. Three SD subchannels all by themselves could probably look very good. Maybe even four.
jtbell is offline  
post #30 of 40 Old 11-08-2008, 09:32 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
lexus2108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtbell View Post

The ideal host for these new subchannels would be an independent station that doesn't have any HD at all, just some SD subchannels. Three SD subchannels all by themselves could probably look very good. Maybe even four.

Well I don't care how they do it as long as the PQ stays good.

I was telling my aunt that since 50 million people use Antennas in USA. That is a large untapped resource. Most people like my aunt only used to watch the TV a little. Because the PQ was so bad in analog. Only a few stations came in good. Now that every station comes in dvd quality she watches more. Since she has more choices like ION with a total of 4 stations 3 subs. She is getting more movies and shows she likes.

My point is I am sure she is not the only one who is watching more tv because of digital.

If they can add a 24/7 old movie station (my Idea) Weigal stole my idea lol and add 24/7 news and science stations. They can turn this niche market into a small cable like viewing experience.

The major networks always complained they lost viewers because of cable tv. This is their chance to grow a market that they already invested in the infrastructure.

It would be a win /win for both stations and viewers.

I would agree they should add separate sub stations channel. For example ABC is on 7.1 we also have 7.2 7.3 If they moved the subs to lets say 16.1 16.2 16.3 16.4 ect. Call it ABC Plus or ABC Extra.

This would keep the original network shows at great PQ and give the choice of other things to watch with commercials.

Thus growing the income of the networks.

My aunt now has 27 total stations (subs included) II would like to see in 2009 it raise to the 30's and by 2010 low 40's

This would give same choice as basic cable and no need to pay $50 per month.

The goal as I see it is to add more and more programing choices and at same time keep the PQ
lexus2108 is offline  
Closed Thread Coupon Eligible Converter Box (CECB)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off