CECB's with ATSC-E? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 11-14-2008, 01:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know how to determine if a CECB has the ability to recognize, or is receiving ATSC-E? Or is this more of a matter for the transmission facilities?
systems2000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 11-14-2008, 09:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see that I may need to clarify this subject and place a link from WIKI.

Quote:


Error Correction
Error correction is a technology that is used by the ATSC tuner to make sure that any data that is missing can be corrected. For instance, sometimes interference or a poor-quality signal will cause the loss of data information that the ATSC tuner receives. With error correction, the tuner has the ability to perform a number of checks and repair data so that a signal can be viewed on a TV set.
  • There is a subsection in the ATSC standard (ATSC-E) that allows broadcasters to add extra (and variable types) of error correction to their broadcast streams.
  • This error correction service is not mandatory in the US, nor is it mandatory in Canada.
  • It is not known how many HDTV receivers support this error correction standard.
  • For the transmission of HDTV at 720 or 1080, an extra 1% to 3% added error correction codes will help reduce some of ATSC's poorer performance with weak signals under adverse multipath conditions.

systems2000 is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 11-14-2008, 10:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
biker19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: McLean, VA
Posts: 3,695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
One can assume that if anything is not mandatory, neither the tuner makers nor the brodcasters are likely to implement it. On the CECB side it should be easier to figure out since one could look up the specs of the tuner chips used. When a broadcaster can't even get PSIP and other things right yet, expecting them to implement something that is not even required is too much of an expectation.
biker19 is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 11-15-2008, 09:40 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by systems2000 View Post

Does anyone know how to determine if a CECB has the ability to recognize, or is receiving ATSC-E?

Highly, highly, highly, unlikely. Did I say highly?

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 11-15-2008, 10:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
300ohm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Somewhere in Delaware
Posts: 1,823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I wonder why they didnt make that mandatory originally ? With digital transmission, thats exactly what is needed. Just think back when modems didnt have error correction, heh.
300ohm is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 11-15-2008, 10:42 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Along with a sizable buffer, it sure would solve a lot of fringe, interference, and edge problems.
systems2000 is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 11-15-2008, 11:33 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mark posted this over in the DMA forum for Baltimore.

Quote:


We did a test with ATSC-E about 1.5 years ago, with a 54.2 subchannel. It helped with trying to pick up a signal in a bad multipath area. It used a lot of bits for error correction that would otherwise go toward getting a nice HD picture. I'm pretty sure that no one in the US is using this.
__________________
Mark

systems2000 is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 11-15-2008, 08:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
dmatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Duncan Gap, North Central Arkansas
Posts: 590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 300ohm View Post

I wonder why they didnt make that mandatory originally ? With digital transmission, thats exactly what is needed. Just think back when modems didnt have error correction, heh.

I don't know if you are thinking that ATSC does not require error correction or not but this is not the same as modems not having error correction since the ATSC standard for digital transmissions does mandate error correction.

What is being discussed here is the "extra" error correction which is optional in ATSC-E. If digital transmissions did not have error correction at all then you would have to have a 100% signal quality for undisturbed viewing.

About 1/3 of the data in ATSC transmissions is forward error correction (FEC) data. ATSC has an FEC of 2/3 which means only about two-thirds of the data transmitted is the main signal and 1/3 is used for error correction.

dmatch
dmatch is offline  
Reply Coupon Eligible Converter Box (CECB)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off