Audio breakups with converter box - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 01-22-2009, 03:59 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
madara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, I finally found an apex converter box in stock at BB. Looks great through s-video but I notice I get a weak signal message every time I turn it on and a few times every hour I get audio breakups. A huge antenna from the apartment roof goes to 22 units here. Do I have any options here to fix this that anyone can think of?
madara is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 01-22-2009, 04:24 PM
Senior Member
 
CasualOTAer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Welcome to the wonderful world of OTA DTV!! Sorry, but I just had to say that.

In an apartment environment, it would be very tough to completely eliminate such break ups - or worse - complete freezes and drop out of signal.

That said, the building's antenna and signal distribution system may be part of the problem. There likely is an amplified distribution system that feeds all 22 units.
Adding additional amplification between your wall jack and the converter box would amplify both the signal and the noise up to that point. So going that route is "iffy", and can cost real money.

If you are lucky enough to have a window that faces the direction of the local TV transmitter sites, you *could* try using your own indoor antenna placed near that window. Odds are, you may still have problems, although you may be able to place it to get one or two stations flawlessly.

One thing that may not make a big improvement, but is worth trying, is to use a higher quality coaxial cable (decent RG-6) between wall and converter and keep it (nearly) as short as possible. A long cable just weakens the signal. Cheap coaxial cables with poor shielding (some RG-59's), can work against you, too. Don't use ones with push on connectors. Screw the F-59 connectors down tightly.

I'm referring to the cable from the wall to the converter. You're using S-video, so that's the only coax cable in your case.

The Apex has a signal strength indicator. What does it show on your best and worst channels?
CasualOTAer is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 01-22-2009, 04:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Use http://www.tvfool.com/ and let us know how far from the transmitters you are.
systems2000 is offline  
Reply Coupon Eligible Converter Box (CECB)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off