Hack a CECB to get HDTV out? No. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 05-07-2009, 01:20 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
nota's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
have any wizards hacked a CE box to to get DTV out [bypass the analog conv] or even get a cheap full HD output if possible????
or is this just a nuts idea????
nota is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 05-07-2009, 02:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
biker19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: McLean, VA
Posts: 3,695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I don't think any of the CECB have the hardware (output circuitry) or the firmware to support any of that. The main decoder chip may support some of those things but the rest of the things are not in place to support any kind of hacks.
biker19 is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 05-07-2009, 02:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by nota View Post

have any wizards hacked a CE box to to get DTV out [bypass the analog conv] or even get a cheap full HD output if possible????

No.



Quote:
or is this just a nuts idea????

Yes.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 05-07-2009, 04:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DigaDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pacific Northwest.
Posts: 4,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by nota View Post

have any wizards hacked a CE box to to get DTV out [bypass the analog conv] or even get a cheap full HD output if possible????
or is this just a nuts idea????

CECB design characteristics and technical limitations have been discussed in many threads, some going back more than a year.

There are some "hacker" discussions found here:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1006402

"A ROSE BY ANY OTHER NAME WILL SMELL AS SWEET. BUT IT DOES NOT FOLLOW THAT WHATEVER WE CHOOSE TO CALL A ROSE WILL POSSESS THE ROSE'S FRAGRANCE."

--Benjamin Breckinridge Warfield (1917)
DigaDo is online now  
post #5 of 16 Old 05-07-2009, 04:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why do you want a CECB to output ATSC? A CECB is used to take a DTV signal and convert it to analog or baseband.

If you need a tuner for a HDTV television, why not just buy a tuner designed for that purpose?
systems2000 is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 05-07-2009, 04:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by systems2000 View Post


If you need a tuner for a HDTV television, why not just buy a tuner designed for that purpose?

The fun of turning a sows ear into a silk purse?

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 05-07-2009, 07:38 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
nota's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by systems2000 View Post

Why do you want a CECB to output ATSC? A CECB is used to take a DTV signal and convert it to analog or baseband.

If you need a tuner for a HDTV television, why not just buy a tuner designed for that purpose?

CECB's are currently allmost free thanks to the feds
and are a DTV tuner + the unwanted analog converter
now never have taken one apart I wondered if the two bits
could be separated to get a free DTV tuner and MAYBE even trick HD out of it
as in is it a tuner chip or board feeding a converter chip/board in some of the boxes
or is the whole thing done in one chip/board
and if it is possible rewire or add bits/connectors to get the tuner data out
I LIKE FREE OR CHEAP and thinking outside the box
and donot like the throw money at it idea
my sony tv came from craigs list and the sony a/v 5.1 amp from a dumpster
the speakers, warfdales and A/R's from yard sales and all work fine!!!!
so I have less then the cost of a new samsung tuner in the WHOLE SYSTEM
nota is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 05-07-2009, 08:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10


CECB's are DTV tuners.

put another way:

CECB = DTV tuner

CECB's do not output HDTV or 5.1 audio. They are strictly 480i (SDTV) with mono/stereo audio. Most CECB's are no more than a tuner, System on a Chip (SoC), Memory Chips, and audio circuitry. The firmware is what makes the units work, much like your PC or cell phone.
systems2000 is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 05-07-2009, 08:50 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
nota's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
never mind the 5.1 audio that was just about a free unit I found
2.0 audio is fine
what I would like is

a pure DTV signal without the analog down conversion would be nice
even better if 720p or 1080i could be gotten out of the CECB by a trick or two
and even better if without a big cost

no idea if it can be done or what CECB would be a better victim for this
so that why this thread

thanks for the link to the other thread
nota is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 05-08-2009, 06:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DigaDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pacific Northwest.
Posts: 4,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by nota View Post

CECB's are currently allmost free thanks to the feds and are a DTV tuner + the unwanted analog converter now never have taken one apart I wondered if the two bits could be separated to get a free DTV tuner and MAYBE even trick HD out of it as in is it a tuner chip or board feeding a converter chip/board in some of the boxes or is the whole thing done in one chip/board and if it is possible rewire or add bits/connectors to get the tuner data out

Attached are interior photos of a Zenith DTT900 of April 2008 production. An Insignia of the same vintage will be similar.
LL
LL

"A ROSE BY ANY OTHER NAME WILL SMELL AS SWEET. BUT IT DOES NOT FOLLOW THAT WHATEVER WE CHOOSE TO CALL A ROSE WILL POSSESS THE ROSE'S FRAGRANCE."

--Benjamin Breckinridge Warfield (1917)
DigaDo is online now  
post #11 of 16 Old 05-08-2009, 10:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Beeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: WI
Posts: 1,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
After you trick the CECB to output 720p or 1080i, what "FREE OR CHEAP" TV are you going to connect it to?

Then the next step would be to trick your analog TV into accepting a 720p or 1080i input.
That would take at least two or three tricks.
Beeper is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 05-08-2009, 11:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dattier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago IL, Northwest Side
Posts: 2,868
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by nota View Post

have any wizards hacked a CE box to to get DTV out [bypass the analog conv] or even get a cheap full HD output if possible????

So, you want to know how to get from the CECB exactly what goes into it?  Buy a model with RF passthrough (usually misnamed "analog passthrough" but it will pass any RF signal), or more simply, leave the CECB out of the path entirely and just don't use one at all.
dattier is online now  
post #13 of 16 Old 05-08-2009, 01:15 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
nota's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beeper View Post

After you trick the CECB to output 720p or 1080i, what "FREE OR CHEAP" TV are you going to connect it to?

Then the next step would be to trick your analog TV into accepting a 720p or 1080i input.
That would take at least two or three tricks.

I have a sony CRT KV32HV600 that is 1080i so that cuts a few tricks
nota is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 05-08-2009, 01:48 PM
Senior Member
 
WeAreNotAlone69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by nota View Post

I have a sony CRT KV32HV600 that is 1080i so that cuts a few tricks

While I'm all for using low-cost devices in new ways...

As others have tried to point out to you it is highly unlikely that you are going to get digital out on a CECB device. The reason being the devices don't have the correct hardware, NOR firmware.. That said even if the hardware was correct and you could figure out a way to connect to it the sections in the chipset keep in mind that mfg's of "chips" may disable features of that "chip"..

(Read that as the same chipset may be used in several devices- and the mfg locks out features that don't pertain to the intended usage.)

.
WeAreNotAlone69 is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 06-21-2009, 11:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Servicetech571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You can buy a used HDTV box for about $50.
Servicetech571 is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 06-21-2009, 01:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Youngsville, NC USA
Posts: 5,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by nota View Post

I have a sony CRT KV32HV600 that is 1080i so that cuts a few tricks

If you need a Digital OTA tuner for that, look for a Samsung DTB-H260F that has both HDMI and Component outputs.

You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...
http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

Being A Beacon of Knowledge in the darkness of FUD
Scooper is offline  
Reply Coupon Eligible Converter Box (CECB)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off