Fringe area question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 06-09-2009, 07:27 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
seastarbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live 90 miles from Diluth MN in the Superior National Forrest.
I have a very large, complex outdoor antenna with a built in low noise amplifer that gives me "fair to good" analog signals when the weather is right.
What's my chances of receiving digital signals with a converter box?
Which box is the most sensitive?
Any help will be appreciated!
seastarbr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 06-09-2009, 07:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
IDRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Eastern Idaho
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Welcome to the forum Seastarbr!

Can you go to tvfool.com, enter your actual address, and post the results back here? Either save the results to your hard drive and post as an attachment or copy the link from the first paragraph on tvfool output to your reply. Tvfool is an excellent tool for diagnosing problems and understanding reception possiblities.
IDRick is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 06-09-2009, 08:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Jesse31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Eastern NC
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You will find that is more difficult to receive digital.

Eastern NC.
Come on Plasma and LCD guys!...you know that the DLP format is better!...& You can be format neutral if you want but the war is over...BluRay won!
Jesse31 is offline  
post #4 of 18 Old 06-09-2009, 08:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jtbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Clinton, SC
Posts: 3,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I think most of the government-subsidized "coupon boxes" have pretty good tuners. I have the Zenith DTT901 and the Channel Master CM7000, and for me the CM7000 has a slight edge, but not by much. See the Coupon Eligibie Converter Box (CECB) forum for more information and opinion. These boxes don't provide HD, only SD.

If you want HD, your choices are rather slim. The Samsung DTB-H260F has a pretty good tuner, but it's hard to find now. Other recent models are the PrimeDTV PHD-205 and the Centronics ZAT-502 which are apparently available only online. I haven't seen any comparisons of their tuners, but they're recent models so they should be on a par with the Samsung. There are threads about each of these units in this forum.
jtbell is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 06-09-2009, 08:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MeowMeow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,799
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The answer is here:

http://www.tvfool.com/index.php?opti...pper&Itemid=29

Input all the relevant data. The data given is roughly an estimate for about 20' high if you don't enter an antenna height. Change the AGL if needed to reflect your antenna height.
MeowMeow is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 06-10-2009, 02:32 AM
Senior Member
 
pm3839's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: midwest, usa
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse31 View Post

You will find that is more difficult to receive digital.

i dont know about that...each local area can be different but its been my experience so far that digital tv signals are generally easier to receive well....

90 miles is a long way for local tv signals but if your antenna is working properly i bet u'll do well, seastarbr....especially since you said your analog works fairly well now....

the DTVPal +PLUS box claims to have an enhanced sensitivity tuner >

http://www.dtvpal.com/

give us your zip code for tvfool.com....

*** its high time to go back to OTA antennas and CANCEL our cable/satellite pay tv services! their greed is totally & insanely out of control! ***
pm3839 is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 06-10-2009, 01:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rick_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Simi Valley, CA USA
Posts: 3,213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
From what I have seen is that if you can get a snowy but watchable analog picture you can get digital... if the signal strength is equivalent.

Rick R
Rick_R is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 06-11-2009, 03:03 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
seastarbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The TV Fool website will not accept my address in the Superior National Forrest.
The zip covers an entire Minnesota county (Lake) where the center is 30 miles from my home so that;s no help.
I think I will rely on the fact that I now get fair analog reception and buy a couple of converters.
Again, what are the most sensitive available????
Thanks
Bill
seastarbr is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 06-11-2009, 03:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tower Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Altamont, NY
Posts: 1,578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by seastarbr View Post

The TV Fool website will not accept my address in the Superior National Forrest.

You can use the coordinates option on tvfool. Use a GPS, or find your house on Google maps. Zoom in, put it your camp the center of the screen, and click on "link" (top right). Click on "Paste link". Your exact location will be embedded in the URL.

Look for numbers like this: 47.6603 -91.3870. The first number is the Latitude. The second is the Longitude. Make sure that you use the - sign on the Longitude.
Tower Guy is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 06-11-2009, 03:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
johnpost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 783
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by seastarbr View Post

The TV Fool website will not accept my address in the Superior National Forrest.
The zip covers an entire Minnesota county (Lake) where the center is 30 miles from my home so that;s no help.
I think I will rely on the fact that I now get fair analog reception and buy a couple of converters.
Again, what are the most sensitive available????
Thanks
Bill

you can enter your geographical coordinates
johnpost is offline  
post #11 of 18 Old 06-16-2009, 11:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
At 70 miles, my Apex DT502's and Sunkey SK-801ATSC's are much more sensitive then my Insignia -APT (Zenith clone).

NOTE: I'm smack in the middle of three DMA's and have three local tranmitters within 20 miles. Since my reception from those three DMA's are 2-edge, I have severe multi-path and atmospheric propogation issues.

USEFUL LINKS:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
systems2000 is offline  
post #12 of 18 Old 06-16-2009, 01:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
tvropro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chicago Illinois
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtbell View Post

I think most of the government-subsidized "coupon boxes" have pretty good tuners. I have the Zenith DTT901 and the Channel Master CM7000, and for me the CM7000 has a slight edge, but not by much. See the Coupon Eligibie Converter Box (CECB) forum for more information and opinion. These boxes don't provide HD, only SD.

The Zenith DTT-900 had the best tuner in it. When LG went to the 901 they lost some sensitivity.

Mad Scientist :)
tvropro is offline  
post #13 of 18 Old 06-17-2009, 01:52 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
You're probably referring to the 900's with the Sanyo tuner, right?

Some 900's didn't have that. I had one that didn't.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #14 of 18 Old 06-17-2009, 06:16 PM
Member
 
oldsyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Eastern Iowa
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rammitinski View Post

You're probably referring to the 900's with the Sanyo tuner, right?

Some 900's didn't have that. I had one that didn't.

Didn't the 900's with the Sanyo tuner have the UBA00AL?

If it works that well for fringe, wouldn't the following CECB's
perform similarly for fringe since they also have it?

Sanyo UBA00AL

Artec T3AP
Artec T3Ap Pro
Digital Stream DSP7500T
Digital Stream DTX9900
GE 22729
Goodmind DTA1000
Microprose MPI-500
Microprose MPI-500PT
Zentech DF2000
Zentech DF2000L

I'm not sure what the difference is, but these use the Sanyo UBD00AL below.

Sanyo UBD00AL

Airlink 101 ATVC102
Digital Stream DTX9950
Zinwell-USA ZAT-970A
oldsyd is offline  
post #15 of 18 Old 06-17-2009, 08:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can confirm that the Digital Stream DTX9950 does not perform as well as the Insignia -APT (Zenith 901 clone).

USEFUL LINKS:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
systems2000 is offline  
post #16 of 18 Old 06-17-2009, 09:03 PM
Member
 
oldsyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Eastern Iowa
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't think Sanyo has the stats for either of those tuners posted on their website.
oldsyd is offline  
post #17 of 18 Old 07-25-2009, 04:57 AM
Member
 
janiegirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvropro View Post

The Zenith DTT-900 had the best tuner in it. When LG went to the 901 they lost some sensitivity.

I have both the 900 and the 901 and can confirm that the 900 with the Sanyo tuner has a small edge over the 901 in picking up distant signals, enough to make the difference between reception and no reception. I'm about 50 miles from most of my stations.
janiegirl is offline  
post #18 of 18 Old 07-25-2009, 05:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
tvropro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chicago Illinois
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by janiegirl View Post

I have both the 900 and the 901 and can confirm that the 900 with the Sanyo tuner has a small edge over the 901 in picking up distant signals, enough to make the difference between reception and no reception. I'm about 50 miles from most of my stations.

My DTT-900 does great getting stations 90 miles away. It wins hands down over the 901.

Mad Scientist :)
tvropro is offline  
Reply Coupon Eligible Converter Box (CECB)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off