IR Blaster only works intermittently with Replay 2000 and DigitalStream 9550 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 06-24-2009, 10:25 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
kcbaltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've got an old Replay 2000 hooked up to a DigitalStream 9550 and the IR blaster on the Replay is able to control the CECB most of the time. However, it does fail frequently enough (causing us to miss shows) that it's very frustrating. Any tips or suggestions on how to ensure we always get clean change? From what I see on the recording, it appears that some or all of the digits don't get received by the converter box. The IR blaster is adhered to the front of the box over what I believe to be the IR sensor.
kcbaltz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 06-25-2009, 01:15 PM
Member
 
ninja1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You sound maybe a bit uncertain about the location of the sensor. Use black tape or some type of lightproof shield to verify the sensor's location, by covering the front face except for a window for the sensor, and test using the CECB's remote to see if it responds.

Regarding the blasting, I have heard of people building a "tent" around the blaster to help concentrate the IR signal by bouncing stray signals back toward the sensor.

Regarding the CECB, make sure the digits you are blasting are correct and produce predictable result. Some CECB's have quirky behavior about interpreting leading zeros or how to account for the 'dot' in the subchannels (does 41 translate to 41.1 or 04.1 or do you have to do 041 to get 4.1 or whatever).
ninja1 is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 06-25-2009, 08:35 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
kcbaltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There's a little icon (a dot with concentric half circles around it) that I'm taking to indicate the sensor. I'll try your test to confirm. I'm not worried about the sub channels and when it works, I see the digits I expect in a blue box in the upper right of the screen. When it fails, I see less digits. I think it's a case of the blaster signal not always being seen. What would the "tent" be made out of, tin foil? Or something non-reflective?
kcbaltz is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 06-25-2009, 10:26 PM
Member
 
ninja1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I googled "IR tent"; here's a couple of links; lots of Tivo-related stuff out there
Link 1
Link 2
ninja1 is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 06-28-2009, 12:14 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
kcbaltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the IR tent links. Unfortunately, it doesn't seem to have helped. I'm going to experiment a bit more with the Replay IR blaster tweaks. I'd already tried adding delay, but that doesn't seem to have helped.
kcbaltz is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 07-09-2009, 01:15 PM
Member
 
vmalhotra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: FAIRFAX, VA
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is IR Blaster same gizmo as G-Link ?

You got to be nuts; you want me to pay to watch commercials?
vmalhotra is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 07-09-2009, 02:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by vmalhotra View Post

Is IR Blaster same gizmo as G-Link ?

Yes.

G-Link cable = IR blaster.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 07-09-2009, 02:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Youngsville, NC USA
Posts: 5,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
you might try using some tape to hold the IR blaster in front of the IR sensor on your CECB. That's what I had to resort to using a DTVPAL with my computer TV card.

You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...
http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

Being A Beacon of Knowledge in the darkness of FUD
Scooper is offline  
Reply Coupon Eligible Converter Box (CECB)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off