Best Box For Child Lockout - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 07-06-2009, 10:25 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blood_donor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Zenith box works well all around, but its V-chip implementation is bizarre. If you are locked out, and want to watch the program, I don't understand how to temporarily unlock the block.

Which DTV box has a good implementation of the v-chip feature?
blood_donor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 07-08-2009, 04:10 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blood_donor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Help? Anyone?
blood_donor is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 07-08-2009, 05:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've used or tested several CECB's and, unfortunately, I never tested the V-Chip capabilities.

I don't have the Ventura STB7766G, Digital Stream DTX-9950, or APEX DT250 anymore. I can check or supply you links to the manuals for the Insignia NS-DXA1-APT, APEX DT502 (available at Target for $40), Zinwell ZAT-970A (early run - available at amazon.com for $40), AccessHD DTA1080-D (not the best CECB), Sunkey SK-801ATSC (available at http://www.freetvsignal.com/ for $40), and RCA DTA800B1 (might find at Target for $40).

What are you looking for? You'll have to explain, because I don't use the function and don't have any need to ever use it.

USEFUL LINKS:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
systems2000 is offline  
post #4 of 18 Old 07-08-2009, 07:35 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blood_donor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The problem with the Zenith DTT901 is that if you lock out a channel or program rating, there is no easy way to unlock it if you want to watch the show, you have to go into the menu and turn off the lock. A proper design would be to offer to take a password if a program is locked out, and unlock the program for that session.
blood_donor is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 07-08-2009, 11:23 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
As far as having to go into the menu, I think you'll pretty much have to do that on all of them to get to that feature.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 07-08-2009, 11:27 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blood_donor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No no, not a direct button. LEt me explain.

Say I program my DTV box to block all movies rated PG and up.

Now, I want to watch a PG-13 movie that is being broadcast. My Zenith box simply shows a black screen with a message that says something like "Program Blocked".

What it should do is give me an option to enter my password, so I can override the block, and watch the movie. Without having to go into the menu and unblock all PG-13 movies!

My old Panasonic CRT TV works this way.
blood_donor is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 07-08-2009, 11:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Well, I have the CM7000 and the DTV Pal, and a Zinwell on the way. Maybe I can get to them later and check to see what the situation is like with those models at least.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 07-08-2009, 12:51 PM
Senior Member
 
partsman_ba's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
According to the manual at http://www.dishnetwork.com/dtvpal/do..._withcover.pdf,

Locking Programs Based on Ratings
Your DTVPal supports a variety of ratings categories. These ratings depend on information about the program included by the broadcaster. Broadcasters may use the Age and Content Guidelines, or the MPAA (Motion Picture Association of America) Guidelines.

Entire AudienceIncludes rating categories None, TV-G, TV-PG, TV-14, and TV-MA.
ChildrenIncludes rating categories TV-Y and TV-Y7.
MPAA (Motion Picture Association of America)Includes rating categories N/A, G, PG, PG-13, R, and NC-17.
ExtendedIncludes rating categories Dialog, Language, Sex, Violence, and Fantasy Violence.

To block programs based on rating, use the following steps:
1 Select Ratings Settings from the Locks menu.
2 To easily lock (or unlock) all categories select Block All
or Unblock All.
3 To edit a specific category, highlight the category.
4 For that Category, press SELECT on the highest Rating you want to be viewed without a password. Anything with a rating higher than that will require entering your password before viewing. For example, if you select TV-G, programs with None or TV-G can be viewed without a password.
5 Select Done to save your changes.
6 Follow the steps in Locking the Receiver to apply the ratings locks.
Locking the Receiver
After you set the channel locks and the ratings locks, you must lock the receiver for the settings to take effect. To lock the receiver, select Lock System on the Locks menu.
If you already have a password, enter it using the remote's NUMBER PAD.
Enter a password using the NUMBER PAD on the remote control in the Password field.
Enter the new password again when prompted. Your DTVPal is now locked.

I love the digital transition. The voices in my head just say 0 and 1 now.
partsman_ba is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 07-08-2009, 09:11 PM
Member
 
hitbyambulance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just checked my CM-7000. when tuning to a blocked station, it asks you to enter your 4-digit passcode and then press ENTER, at which point it unblocks the station. this sounds like the functionality you're looking for.
hitbyambulance is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 07-08-2009, 09:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blood_donor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sweet, thanks!

Can anyone check how the DTV Pal works? I may be able to get one of those cheap.
blood_donor is offline  
post #11 of 18 Old 07-08-2009, 09:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dattier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago IL, Northwest Side
Posts: 2,910
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by hitbyambulance View Post

I just checked my CM-7000. when tuning to a blocked station, it asks you to enter your 4-digit passcode and then press ENTER, at which point it unblocks the station. this sounds like the functionality you're looking for.

Are you sure that the block is reinstated when the viewer changes stations or turns off the box, or at least that the viewer can reimpose the block without going through all the menus?
dattier is offline  
post #12 of 18 Old 07-08-2009, 10:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I checked my APEX DT502, Zinwell ZAT-970A, and Sunkey SK-801ATSC. They all appear to require going through the menu to disable the block.

USEFUL LINKS:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
systems2000 is offline  
post #13 of 18 Old 07-19-2009, 03:15 AM
Member
 
hitbyambulance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dattier View Post

Are you sure that the block is reinstated when the viewer changes stations or turns off the box,

'yes' to both.
hitbyambulance is offline  
post #14 of 18 Old 07-22-2009, 07:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Servicetech571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Where are the parents in the evenings/nights when most of the inappropriate programming would be aired? There's not a whole lot on in the daytime for the kids to be corrupted by. If you aren't in the living room with the kids at night/evenings at least poke your head in the door every once in awhile.
Servicetech571 is offline  
post #15 of 18 Old 07-22-2009, 08:07 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blood_donor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The idea is to lock out *ALL* programming, so that the kids have to ask permisson to watch TV, and can't just turn it on when no one is looking. It isn't corruption, it is rationing!
blood_donor is offline  
post #16 of 18 Old 07-22-2009, 11:46 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Servicetech571 View Post

There's not a whole lot on in the daytime for the kids to be corrupted by.

I'm not sure I'd want my kids to watch soap operas - or even worse - Maury or Jerry Springer.

Not without me there to explain things to them, anyway.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #17 of 18 Old 07-22-2009, 11:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nickdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You all are a bunch of prudes. There's nothing "corrupting" on broadcast TV; it's nothing compared to what's on some cable channels .
nickdawg is offline  
post #18 of 18 Old 07-23-2009, 08:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thus, the reason there are so many households without cable.

USEFUL LINKS:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
systems2000 is offline  
Reply Coupon Eligible Converter Box (CECB)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off