Which CECB has the best signal meters? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 30 Old 07-20-2009, 11:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
EscapeVelocity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 5,641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 113
I found this thread interesting...

signal meters....true lies?

But would still like to posit the question.

Tivax?
Zinwell?
Apex?

Vizio VP322 Plasma / Vizio GV42LF LCD / Denon 2200 Silicon Image DVD / Panasonic S97 Faroudja Genesis DVD / Oppo 970HD Mediatek DVD / Oppo 983H Anchor Bay DVD / Panasonic LX-600 Laserdisc / Aiwa MX100 Multi-region VCR / JVC S7600 S-VHS / PS2 / Sega Genesis / Nintendo SNES / Roku 2 XS & HD-XR / Realistic STA-90 Reciever / Realistic Minimus 7 / Antennacraft G1483 Hoverman / Belden 7915A RG6 / Channel Master 7777 Titan 2 UHF/VHF / Panasonic AX-200u / Optoma Graywolf 92" / Draper Luma 92"
EscapeVelocity is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 30 Old 07-20-2009, 11:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 34
First outline your requirements for "best?"

As far as accuracy, probably no one here truly knows unless they have sophisticated RF test equipment to measure the boxes with; calibration is just as important too.

Floydage is offline  
post #3 of 30 Old 07-20-2009, 12:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
EscapeVelocity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 5,641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Yes, I would like seperate Quality and Strength meters with reproducable results.

Vizio VP322 Plasma / Vizio GV42LF LCD / Denon 2200 Silicon Image DVD / Panasonic S97 Faroudja Genesis DVD / Oppo 970HD Mediatek DVD / Oppo 983H Anchor Bay DVD / Panasonic LX-600 Laserdisc / Aiwa MX100 Multi-region VCR / JVC S7600 S-VHS / PS2 / Sega Genesis / Nintendo SNES / Roku 2 XS & HD-XR / Realistic STA-90 Reciever / Realistic Minimus 7 / Antennacraft G1483 Hoverman / Belden 7915A RG6 / Channel Master 7777 Titan 2 UHF/VHF / Panasonic AX-200u / Optoma Graywolf 92" / Draper Luma 92"
EscapeVelocity is offline  
post #4 of 30 Old 07-20-2009, 01:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Lazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unfortunately neither the Zenith nor the Tivax have dual meters for quality and strength. Just a singular "signal meter". Additionally the Zenith doesn't have a numeric meter but merely a sliding bar and an indication if the signal is good or bad. The Tivax supplies a numeric value which at least seems to produce plausible results.

I suspect there are other CECBs out there that could provide you with better information.


_Lazza
Lazza is offline  
post #5 of 30 Old 07-20-2009, 02:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
EscapeVelocity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 5,641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 113
rabbit73 described the Apex 502 pretty well and it has seperate meters and relatively reproducible results.

The Sansonic also has dual meters, but rabbit73 said that it was a bit fickle....and liked the Apex 502s meters better.

Vizio VP322 Plasma / Vizio GV42LF LCD / Denon 2200 Silicon Image DVD / Panasonic S97 Faroudja Genesis DVD / Oppo 970HD Mediatek DVD / Oppo 983H Anchor Bay DVD / Panasonic LX-600 Laserdisc / Aiwa MX100 Multi-region VCR / JVC S7600 S-VHS / PS2 / Sega Genesis / Nintendo SNES / Roku 2 XS & HD-XR / Realistic STA-90 Reciever / Realistic Minimus 7 / Antennacraft G1483 Hoverman / Belden 7915A RG6 / Channel Master 7777 Titan 2 UHF/VHF / Panasonic AX-200u / Optoma Graywolf 92" / Draper Luma 92"
EscapeVelocity is offline  
post #6 of 30 Old 07-20-2009, 02:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ChrisPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If you can find an old Accurian, they actually have an SNR meter.
ChrisPC is offline  
post #7 of 30 Old 07-20-2009, 02:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
EscapeVelocity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 5,641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 113
What about the Zinwells?

Vizio VP322 Plasma / Vizio GV42LF LCD / Denon 2200 Silicon Image DVD / Panasonic S97 Faroudja Genesis DVD / Oppo 970HD Mediatek DVD / Oppo 983H Anchor Bay DVD / Panasonic LX-600 Laserdisc / Aiwa MX100 Multi-region VCR / JVC S7600 S-VHS / PS2 / Sega Genesis / Nintendo SNES / Roku 2 XS & HD-XR / Realistic STA-90 Reciever / Realistic Minimus 7 / Antennacraft G1483 Hoverman / Belden 7915A RG6 / Channel Master 7777 Titan 2 UHF/VHF / Panasonic AX-200u / Optoma Graywolf 92" / Draper Luma 92"
EscapeVelocity is offline  
post #8 of 30 Old 07-20-2009, 03:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TalkingRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I have a Zinwell 970A. It has both strength ("intensity") and quality meters, shows a bar and also gives you a number between 00 and 100. It samples relatively fast, compared to the CM7000 (which has strength only but those results correlate better with the Zinwell's quality meter).

If you select a station that has low signal, it could take a couple punches of the button to get the data, the meter disappears too fast. However, I was lucky enough to have an early production model, so I can access a sticky screen where the meters stay on.

Zinwell uses the full range of the meter. For me, usually it's the quality that dips dangerously low, but I can still get voice and picture at single digits even -- but only if it stays stable and doesn't crash to 00. With my strong signals, often I get 100% quality, but with multipath it goes wild, say 20s to 80s in less than a second. As you might guess, I pay more attention to the quality reading.
TalkingRat is offline  
post #9 of 30 Old 07-20-2009, 06:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Sunkey SK-801ATSC is a variant of the APEX DT502 and also has the "Dual" meters. I believe there are others.
systems2000 is offline  
post #10 of 30 Old 07-20-2009, 06:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
rabbit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I favor the Apex DT502 over the Sansonic FT300A and Zinwell 970A because its signal bars have a wider range and are more consistent. I think it would help with your evaluation of indoor antennas.

If you look at my posts of calibration of the Apex you will see that it is an inexpensive substitute for a signal level meter and it gives signal quality readings that are related to BER (bit error rate). I think that signal quality is just as important as signal strength with digital.

With indoor antennas that have a built-in preamp you will be able to see changes in signal strength and signal quality. The only problem that I can think of is that the signal strength bar maxes out in the mid 80 percent range with very strong signals, but the box isn't overloaded. Just insert a fixed attenuator between the antenna and the box to bring the signal strength bar in range again.

But, the Apex DT502 in getting hard to find. All that is left in the local BestBuy stores are DT250s.

The Centronics ZAT502HD isn't a CECB but it has dual signal bars that look just like the Apex signal bars and the tuner is the same:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1136626

You can't add a channel after scan with the Apex, but you can with the Centronics. This is important to people living between two cities and DXers who like to set the tuner on a frequency and wait for a particular signal to come up.

I haven't had any experience with the Sunkey, but it has the same tuner as the Apex DT502 and you are able to add a channel after scan. Trip in VA has a Sunkey that he uses for DXing.

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
www.megalithia.com/elect/aerialsite/dttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is offline  
post #11 of 30 Old 07-20-2009, 06:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
EscapeVelocity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 5,641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Thanks everybody!

So the Zinwell 970A meter bottoms out before losing lock....thus you cant snoop faint signals?

Looks like the Apex is the way to go, but it sucks you cant add channels.

Thanks for the tip on the Centronics ZAT502HD!

Vizio VP322 Plasma / Vizio GV42LF LCD / Denon 2200 Silicon Image DVD / Panasonic S97 Faroudja Genesis DVD / Oppo 970HD Mediatek DVD / Oppo 983H Anchor Bay DVD / Panasonic LX-600 Laserdisc / Aiwa MX100 Multi-region VCR / JVC S7600 S-VHS / PS2 / Sega Genesis / Nintendo SNES / Roku 2 XS & HD-XR / Realistic STA-90 Reciever / Realistic Minimus 7 / Antennacraft G1483 Hoverman / Belden 7915A RG6 / Channel Master 7777 Titan 2 UHF/VHF / Panasonic AX-200u / Optoma Graywolf 92" / Draper Luma 92"
EscapeVelocity is offline  
post #12 of 30 Old 07-20-2009, 06:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
EscapeVelocity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 5,641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 113
I think Ill look into the Sunkey, if it has manual channel add. I quiz Trip on it.

Vizio VP322 Plasma / Vizio GV42LF LCD / Denon 2200 Silicon Image DVD / Panasonic S97 Faroudja Genesis DVD / Oppo 970HD Mediatek DVD / Oppo 983H Anchor Bay DVD / Panasonic LX-600 Laserdisc / Aiwa MX100 Multi-region VCR / JVC S7600 S-VHS / PS2 / Sega Genesis / Nintendo SNES / Roku 2 XS & HD-XR / Realistic STA-90 Reciever / Realistic Minimus 7 / Antennacraft G1483 Hoverman / Belden 7915A RG6 / Channel Master 7777 Titan 2 UHF/VHF / Panasonic AX-200u / Optoma Graywolf 92" / Draper Luma 92"
EscapeVelocity is offline  
post #13 of 30 Old 07-20-2009, 06:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TalkingRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Depends on what you mean by faint signals. It's all relative. The weakest signal (15kW UHF) my Zat picked up and added as a new station was 30 intensity, 20 quality. It took me half a dozen tries to get the same channel added on the CM, in the same location. On the CM's scale, that station was in the upper 50s strength.

It's been my experience with every CECB I have, that the signal standard required before a new station is added is higher than the signal the box is capable of holding onto. I'll have more chances to test that out when we get a few new LPs later this year.
TalkingRat is offline  
post #14 of 30 Old 07-20-2009, 07:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
EscapeVelocity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 5,641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Thanks.

Im not interested in the scan adds(but I understood what you were saying), as much as the meters....if I can add my own channels manually...if I can see them on the meters then I can hunt sweet spots for them. If Trip is DXing with the Sunkey then I bet its got manual channel add.

But Id like the meters to show faint signals as that will help with my Indoor antenna testing. Im eventually going to rewrite the whole shebang, and organize the info better.


Im also looking at getting a DTVpal and maybe the CM 7000. But the Centronics looks interesting too.

Vizio VP322 Plasma / Vizio GV42LF LCD / Denon 2200 Silicon Image DVD / Panasonic S97 Faroudja Genesis DVD / Oppo 970HD Mediatek DVD / Oppo 983H Anchor Bay DVD / Panasonic LX-600 Laserdisc / Aiwa MX100 Multi-region VCR / JVC S7600 S-VHS / PS2 / Sega Genesis / Nintendo SNES / Roku 2 XS & HD-XR / Realistic STA-90 Reciever / Realistic Minimus 7 / Antennacraft G1483 Hoverman / Belden 7915A RG6 / Channel Master 7777 Titan 2 UHF/VHF / Panasonic AX-200u / Optoma Graywolf 92" / Draper Luma 92"
EscapeVelocity is offline  
post #15 of 30 Old 07-20-2009, 07:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TalkingRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Ah, for hunting for new stations, the Zinwell has a manual scan feature. You can sequence through all the channels similar to the manual search in Zenith, but it is not nearly as handy as the Zenith. With the Zat, if you spot something, it doesn't seem to add it until I do the 'search.' I often see momentary blips in manual search, but that's not enough to pick up the search. But last weekend I saw a really badly broken up picture of a (duplicate) PBS station 50 miles away, with Terk HDTVa in the attic aimed in the opposite direction. So it was impressive to get it at all, but for station exploration, I prefer the Zenith, which also lets you just enter the channel from the keypad.

Adding--although you don't want to add the channel, there seems to be some sort of stabilization of the picture that kicks in when it's an official channel on the list. Other people here refer to it as a learning function, it's like the box gets used to the signal variation and compensates. There really does appear to be something to that, like it settles in and gets better at locking onto the signal without pixelation. I've never given it much time in the manual scan mode, but it does seem to show the picture more easily once it's on the channel list.
TalkingRat is offline  
post #16 of 30 Old 07-21-2009, 05:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Lazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, the Zenith is real cool wrt hunting for new stations or allowing you to diagnose a reception problem. For example if you modify an antenna position to help in gaining reception in one station you can easily see if it had any adverse impact to the reception of other stations. And doing a full channel scan only takes about a minute, perhaps the fastest among the CECBs.

It's just too bad the Zenith has a very crude signal meter.


_Lazza
Lazza is offline  
post #17 of 30 Old 07-21-2009, 06:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use the Insignia -APT, APEX DT502, Zinwell ZAT-970A, and Sunkey SK-801ATSC.

The Zinwell will show "Quality" and "Strength" of stations before scanning. The Sunkey only shows "Quality" after scan is initiated and only for the scan period. The APEX DT502 does not allow additional scanning.

As stated above, I've also noted that locking a station requires higher levels than viewing. The APEX DT502 and Sunkey loose reception around 12 to 20%, while the Zinwell will continue to show content down to 0% (for spilt second periods).
systems2000 is offline  
post #18 of 30 Old 07-21-2009, 09:59 AM
Member
 
JoeM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TalkingRat View Post

I have a Zinwell 970A...
I was lucky enough to have an early production model, so I can access a sticky screen where the meters stay on.

As far as I know, all 970As can access a meter screen that stays on as long as you want if you have a $Tree or CM remote.
JoeM is offline  
post #19 of 30 Old 07-21-2009, 10:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
EscapeVelocity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 5,641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Joe, what kind of remote do you need for the Zinwell to view the meters as long as you want?

Vizio VP322 Plasma / Vizio GV42LF LCD / Denon 2200 Silicon Image DVD / Panasonic S97 Faroudja Genesis DVD / Oppo 970HD Mediatek DVD / Oppo 983H Anchor Bay DVD / Panasonic LX-600 Laserdisc / Aiwa MX100 Multi-region VCR / JVC S7600 S-VHS / PS2 / Sega Genesis / Nintendo SNES / Roku 2 XS & HD-XR / Realistic STA-90 Reciever / Realistic Minimus 7 / Antennacraft G1483 Hoverman / Belden 7915A RG6 / Channel Master 7777 Titan 2 UHF/VHF / Panasonic AX-200u / Optoma Graywolf 92" / Draper Luma 92"
EscapeVelocity is offline  
post #20 of 30 Old 07-21-2009, 10:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeM View Post

As far as I know, ALL model 970As can access a meter screen that stays on as long as you want if you have a $Tree or CM remote.

Stays on in the Manual Scan menu.

Floydage is offline  
post #21 of 30 Old 07-21-2009, 10:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TalkingRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
The DollarTree was unbranded, labeled with a big "6" like the packaging on the Amazon link below. My dollartree had black or silver remotes. I've seen the same remote branded 'e-circuit' and 'greenbrier.' Amazon seller below is price gouging, I see they also have a seller offering it in the $3+ dollar range, plus $5 shipping.

http://www.amazon.com/Television-6-1...8198126&sr=8-2

JoeM, oops, I missed your comment that the later 970s got the A/V data screen with the sticky signal bars. Do the later versions get any of the other hidden screens, or just this one?

Floydage, good point, the manual scan menu does have a sticky signal bar, so it would be there for troubleshooting or looking for new stations. But for everyday viewing, it is nice to be able to access it with a single keystroke.
TalkingRat is offline  
post #22 of 30 Old 07-21-2009, 11:07 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
The Dollar Tree remote was the only one I've ever seen there that they sold. I actually haven't seen any at the stores around here for months and months now (in fact, I just looked while I was at one in a nearby town yesterday). Guess it wouldn't hurt to look, though.

$3.00 still might be a worthwhile price - but I wouldn't pay $8.00 - it's really, really cheap and flimsy.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #23 of 30 Old 07-21-2009, 11:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by TalkingRat View Post

Floydage, good point, the manual scan menu does have a sticky signal bar, so it would be there for troubleshooting or looking for new stations. But for everyday viewing, it is nice to be able to access it with a single keystroke.

Indeed. Plus the Manual Scan screen wipes out audio and video in the background; also, it lists by RF rather than virtual channel. It's somewhat like tuning in the dark.

All this "sticky" talk, now I know what a sticky thread is. LOL

Floydage is offline  
post #24 of 30 Old 07-21-2009, 12:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TalkingRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Floydage View Post

Indeed. Plus the Manual Scan screen wipes out audio and video in the background; also, it lists by RF rather than virtual channel. It's somewhat like tuning in the dark.

All this "sticky" talk, now I know what a sticky thread is. LOL

Plus, if you are just going through channels 2-69 to see what you can find, and try to scan an iffy station, when it fails, you do not get returned to that channel on the manual scan page, so you have to press cursor a bunch of times just to get back to where you were in the hunt.
TalkingRat is offline  
post #25 of 30 Old 07-21-2009, 04:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Take a look at this thread for more information on EPG and Meter interfaces.
systems2000 is offline  
post #26 of 30 Old 07-21-2009, 07:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by systems2000 View Post

Take a look at this thread for more information on EPG and Meter interfaces.

YES! The EPG thread I need to read when I get a chance (or another coupon). Thanks!

Floydage is offline  
post #27 of 30 Old 07-21-2009, 09:51 PM
Senior Member
 
pm3839's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: midwest, usa
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have the DN TR40, ARTEC T3A, ZINWELL 970A and AIRLINK ATVC102 boxes here....

i think the TR40 has the best signal meter amongst those 4....pixellation threshold is 58 and below....max is 100 and it almost never goes to 100 so its not too 'loose' or easily pinned to 100% like the ZINWELL 970A ....so antenna peaking on weak signals is ez with the TR40....the TR40 meter will stay up/visible for up to 3 minutes and probably much longer if youre in manual scan mode....

the ARTEC T3A (same as most or all ZENITHS, i think) is also pretty good but it doesnt have a numerical value....just a small sliding 'BAD to GOOD' bar graph....altho it has 3 'section lines' where u can assign 33% and 66% values visually.....pixellation threshold seems to be around 25% by that method (meaning a little below the 33% BAD line, if that makes any sense)....it also has a 'beep tone' that increases in speed as the signal gets stronger.....but it only stays up for 1 minute....

also the ARTEC T3A allows u to enter any rf channel number (even if it was never found before and without going to the manual scan mode) and it will display signal level and/or video for that actual rf channel....which is great for dx'ing....i wish the TR40 did that...all the dtv boxes should do that.....

the ZINWELL 970A has a numerical and bar graph dual meter that displays INTENSITY and QUALITY....but its hard to to tell which is more important, if either is.....one problem is the ZINWELL 970A meter is very easy to 'pin' or max out to 100%....i have several stations here that are nowhere near max on the TR40 or the ARTEC but on the ZINWELL 970A they always hit 100%....and as for weak signal pixellation threshold i cant tell because some stations come in well all the way down to 1% or 2% values but others pixellate at 20%......that makes no sense to me....

by far the worst meter i have seen is the AIRLINK ATVC102 ....its totally screwy/unpredictable as best as i can tell....it also has a major video quality problem.....i did a review of it in the AIRLINK thread if u want to read about it....

*** its high time to go back to OTA antennas and CANCEL our cable/satellite pay tv services! their greed is totally & insanely out of control! ***
pm3839 is offline  
post #28 of 30 Old 07-22-2009, 08:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by pm3839 View Post

the ZINWELL 970A has a numerical and bar graph dual meter that displays INTENSITY and QUALITY....but its hard to to tell which is more important, if either is.....one problem is the ZINWELL 970A meter is very easy to 'pin' or max out to 100%....i have several stations here that are nowhere near max on the TR40 or the ARTEC but on the ZINWELL 970A they always hit 100%....and as for weak signal pixellation threshold i cant tell because some stations come in well all the way down to 1% or 2% values but others pixellate at 20%......that makes no sense to me....

Maybe it has a better tuner?
INTENSITY and QUALITY may help discern multipath issues.

Floydage is offline  
post #29 of 30 Old 07-22-2009, 11:29 AM
Member
 
JoeM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pm3839 View Post

...the ZINWELL 970A has a numerical and bar graph dual meter that displays INTENSITY and QUALITY....but its hard to to tell which is more important, if either is...

Generally you want the QUALITY bar to be greater than or at least equall to the INTENSITY bar.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pm3839 View Post

..one problem is the ZINWELL 970A meter is very easy to 'pin' or max out to 100%...

That's because the INTENSITY meter is optimized for displaying very weak signals so you can adjust your antenna.


Quote:
Originally Posted by pm3839 View Post

...and as for weak signal pixellation threshold i cant tell because some stations come in well all the way down to 1% or 2% values but others pixellate at 20%......that makes no sense to me....

I suspect the ones that go down to 1 or 2 % are fairly clean signals, whereas those that pixellate at 20% are somehow distorted.
JoeM is offline  
post #30 of 30 Old 07-22-2009, 08:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pm3839 View Post

the ARTEC T3A (same as most or all ZENITHS, i think)

From your description, it is exactly like the Zenith and Insignia CECB's.
systems2000 is offline  
Reply Coupon Eligible Converter Box (CECB)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off