Trt tacb-2009 - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-21-2009, 04:43 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
THX-1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Floydage View Post

I didn't mean anything derogatory by it.
Too many threads and poor marketing (IMO). You guys were on the ball.
Ironically some of us were posting on another thread looking for options, a thread about 'what boxes are left.'

Too rich for my blood without a coupon. I'll keep my eye on the used market for one of these as time goes by.

Why not just sell some of the boxes you have on ebay or craigslist?
The better boxes are doing pretty well.
I think the TRT factory has the best price without the coupon.

I wouldn't wait for used.
How many Channelmaster boxes are showing up used?
I've seen few and they are always from people that don't care about the converters.

Unless someone comes up with a better box for the price, I think these will hold their value.
Has anyone even made a hidef box with a timer yet
THX-1138 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-21-2009, 04:47 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
THX-1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by equivocal View Post

"Time Zone Setting" had a bullet of its own on the spec sheet. Which leaves "Auto Time" to mean automatically determining time zone by telepathy.

How about "Channel Info Bar with Event Information"? Event...Event timers...VCR Timers--soooooo obvious. It was there the whole time.

Info on the remote pulls up a bar at the bottom of the screen with channel info, time, now and next titles and misc channel info.
THX-1138 is offline  
Old 11-21-2009, 10:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by THX-1138 View Post

Why not just sell some of the boxes you have on ebay or craigslist?

I suspect I'd have to sell 3-4 like-new but unfortunately not new (i.e. warranty) boxes to buy one of these (~$70 including shipping?).

Plus I need to give you guys time to determine reliability . You guys have done a great job determining features and performance.

Cheap used boxes of all models will eventually flood the market as folks upgrade to digital TVs.

Floydage is offline  
Old 11-21-2009, 10:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TrevorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Floydage View Post

I suspect I'd have to sell 3-4 like-new but unfortunately not new (i.e. warranty) boxes to buy one of these (~$70 including shipping?).

My experience was $60 + $15 shipping. I think it's the same from TRT directly or their retailer. The advantage to the retailer was coupon acceptance -- obviously, no longer an issue. Given my lack of an antenna (may never be able to use the box), the purchase would have been a real stretch without the coupon.
TrevorS is offline  
Old 11-21-2009, 06:32 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
THX-1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Floydage View Post

I suspect I'd have to sell 3-4 like-new but unfortunately not new (i.e. warranty) boxes to buy one of these (~$70 including shipping?).

Plus I need to give you guys time to determine reliability . You guys have done a great job determining features and performance.

Cheap used boxes of all models will eventually flood the market as folks upgrade to digital TVs.

Most boxes seem to be bringing around $30, up to $60 on ebay.
Timer boxes sell for more.
Don't hold your breath for the timer boxes getting cheaper.
I predict the market will saturate and people will hang on to the better ones.
But I'm not sure there will be enough in the market for years.

How soon do you think people will dump a box with a front display, timer and S-video?
Few channelmasters are for sale and they made a lot of those.
If I sold any of my timer boxes or the CM, they would go to friends first.
So most of these will never hit the open market.

Zinwells are more plentiful, so I see some cheaper, but $40 is usual.
Most don't know they have a a timer.


I think you would get a better price direct from TRT, and factories are usually better at backing up defective boxes.

I had a lockup today.
I changed channels and the screen went black.
It was just as a heater kicked in and the voltage dropped, which may be related.
I had no response to the remote at all.
Cut power and back up.
The box powered up on the channel I had changed to.
First time it's happened.
I've had it on since I got it.
THX-1138 is offline  
Old 11-22-2009, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Zinwells can be purchased brand new from Amazon for $40 with free shipping, but I suppose not everyone in eBay land knows that. Some e-tailers have even dropped the price below coupon but thus far looks to be lesser boxes; $20-30.

I recently saw a few boxes given away on Craigslist where they said they just bought a new TV. No Cadillacs though.

I'm OK for now. CM for S-video and EPG, Zinwells for recording. Artec for the auto (12 V). Long-ass EPG would be nice though and it looks like you got a good one-in-all box. No need for smart antenna unless I were to move somewhere that I needed it.

Stay warm but watch your circuit load.

Floydage is offline  
Old 11-28-2009, 04:44 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
THX-1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I had another freeze today.
This time it froze on a picture with no audio.
No response to the remote or front buttons.
I turned off the master switch and back on.
Fine now.
I've been using it since I got it and I never turn it off.
This is the second freeze.
I don't know if it's a combination of commands or if it just needs to rest sometimes.

By the way, there is a big time delay between the Pal Plus and this box, so if you want an interesting audio effect, just run them in the same area.
Most boxes don't seem to sync with the Pal Plus, but this box seems more dramatic.
THX-1138 is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 09:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 41
I wonder if related to loading that extensive EPG data? I've heard that DTVPal varieties get locked up on something along those lines (I think they can also do the TVG function too though).

Sometimes I wonder how useful EPG info really is; half my network stations here don't supply any description ("Dave Letterman interviews guests and provides musical entertainment" - pffffffffffffft!). At least I know what show is coming on.

Yep, familiar with the time delays. Echo effect is really annoying with TVs in different rooms on the same channel. I think it's due to the different chipsets and possibly software processing used by the box mfgers. Could also just be the audio side since they do different things with the Dolby Digital input (although my CM and Zinwells both appear to output Dolby Digital but still exhibit audio time differences). A lot more data to process (time) in the digital world.

Floydage is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 10:19 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
THX-1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You just have to keep complaining about it.
They will eventually realize it's their best promotional tool.
Most people at the stations have no idea there is a guide.
Make sure you reach engineering.
And marketing, promotion.

If worse comes to worst, we can start making fun of the guides and link to the network shows.
You know, "I really loved Letterman's show last night.
He interviewed guests and provided musical entertainment.
Be sure and catch that one."

Be sure to let the promotional divisions and the show's owners know.
Big companies love being made fun of, especially when it costs them money.

Some of the guides are quite good, but there is a long way to go.
I hope as more people use the guides, they will do a better job.

Nightline will be doing interviews tonight, I see.
I guess that will make a change.
THX-1138 is offline  
Old 01-25-2010, 03:44 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
THX-1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am still using the TRT as my primary box.
I've had it running since I got it and other than the odd freeze, has been perfect.
It seems as least as good as the Channelmaster in picture quality.
The TRT has solved the issues I had with the pbs station breaking up on some material.
It either smooths out the breaks or prevents them.
I only change over to the Channelmaster now when there are signal issues due to weather. It is clearly more sensitive in some conditions.
THX-1138 is offline  
Old 01-25-2010, 07:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How has your experience been with the EPG and remote usage?
systems2000 is offline  
Old 01-25-2010, 07:40 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
THX-1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The remote works great, one reason I prefer using the TRT all the time.
Plenty of strength.

If I had the choice, I would make some minor changes in the arrangement.
The center button in the array of channel/ volume buttons needs to feel different from them, but it does no permanent harm.

The biggest annoyance is the escape from the full guide display.
You have to go to exit every time.
EPG gives you the grid display and you can change channels in the grid function, but it actually changes channels, just as in the Channelmaster.
The grid can display a full display without changing channels, but it clearly needs more memory to do it properly and consistently.
Clicking on OK gives you the detailed info on a show.
But you must exit to go back.
You can exit from the EPG grid by hitting the EPG button again or exit.

I usually can't go more than 10-12 hours ahead in the grid, even though is should be capable of more.
It can sometimes go back an hour or so, which is immensely useful.
The grid and info is very simple and doesn't have a lot of adjustment, but is very functional.

With a little tweaking, it could be the best one out there.
It does lack the ability to check programs on a station you aren't on, like the Pal Plus can.
Sometimes the grid retains this memory and sometimes not, but you can't click on program info without changing channels to the same channel.

The Pal Plus is a better remote design, but has a fraction of the functions and no operation LED on the remote.
THX-1138 is offline  
Old 01-26-2010, 09:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by THX-1138 View Post

I usually can't go more than 10-12 hours ahead in the grid, even though is should be capable of more.
It can sometimes go back an hour or so, which is immensely useful.

I thought this unit could go 1 to 2 weeks out, or are you limited by your stations? I've gotten my Artecs to hit 24 hours, better than my CM (10-12 hrs).
Yeah, going back would be nice.

Floydage is offline  
Old 01-26-2010, 09:33 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
THX-1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It seems technically capable of much more than two weeks.
The Channelmaster is limited by pages which usually works out to 10 or 12 hours.

I think it's a memory issue.
Right now I can go to 9 pm, while on a 10-11 am show.
I'm getting a few random shows days ahead on some stations.
The grid often has to reload when the time changes or you change stations.

At 10:30 am, I'm getting programs to 9 am tomorrow on a different station after tuning to it.
THX-1138 is offline  
Old 01-26-2010, 10:38 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
THX-1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It's 11:20 am and on the NBC station I can go to 6 am tomorrow on the grid, or the 5:30 am show.
It just reloaded, after being on the station for a few minutes, and it is going to 8 am on the 28th, or two days from now.
I'm seeing some shows on the fox channel that far ahead too, which often has poor epg info.

I seem to consistently get nine hours total from most channels though.
Or eight hours ahead of the program I'm watching.
The ION station is the other exception, going to 9 am tomorrow currently.
THX-1138 is offline  
Old 01-26-2010, 11:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Sounds like the stations since you got a few to go a couple of days. It would be interesting to see if someone else in your area with one of the other multi-day boxes receives the same data.

I oftentimes have to toggle back and forth on a station in the EPG on my Artecs to get more data (and sometimes it will get less, then more, etc.) so you might try that. Probably a buffer issue.

Floydage is offline  
Old 01-26-2010, 03:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Apex DT502's and special ZAT-970A have the same problem but I think it's coming from the stations. Very few devices go more than 12 hours and stations seem to be limiting there information to that time period.

My Zinwell's all do the same thing with OSD. I have to either use the "MENU" or the "EXIT" buttons to exit back back through the system to viewing.

The Pal may be the only unit that doesn't change channels, when you scroll through the EPG information. I don't remember if the DS or Insignia stay put or not - I'll check my Insignia.
systems2000 is offline  
Old 01-26-2010, 05:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 41
My Artecs sometimes have the info and sometimes tell me I have to tune to the station to retrieve the info; could be that I already channel surfed previously and don't realize it picked up the info in the background.
I never have to perform the aforementioned toggle kluge on my CM.

Floydage is offline  
Old 01-31-2010, 09:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
THX-1138

How well do the timers work on this unit? Can you upload some pictures of the menus?
systems2000 is offline  
Old 02-01-2010, 03:25 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
THX-1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I haven't used them a lot yet, but I haven't had any issues.
I'm not able to post pictures now.

You enter menu, then setup, then timer setup, then program timer.
Options are Timer Number 1-8
Can be set to on/off for each.
Once, Daily, Weekly, Monthly
It lists the channel as Wakeup Channel
Month
Date (day)
Time
You can cycle each number for the time or punch them in.

Everything for each timer is displayed on a grid.
White letters on a blue background with yellow highlighting.
You have to save all changes.

I don't think you have to do anything once the timer is armed.
It runs regardless of being on or off.
THX-1138 is offline  
Old 09-09-2010, 03:37 PM
Member
 
JoeM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
THX-1138 wrote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by THX-1138 View Post

...
They may modify the box now that the limitations are gone.
Everyone should list their desired features for a new hidef or lodef box.
...

Here's a copy of a e-mail I sent to Zinwell:

"Some TV stations are now transmitting Mobile TV using MPEG AVC (ITU H.264) video coding. My Zinwell 970A can receive the audio portion of these transmissions but not the video. Can you modify the software, so that the Zinwell boxes can also receive the video ? "

Modifying or making up new software will be easier on boxes that have an RS-232 port but I'm requesting with the Zinwell anyways. Not all CECB's can aquire the subchannels onto the channel list.
If your CECB has an RS-232 port, I suggest you contact the mfg/cs to see if they can add MobileTV reception to it. The potential advantages are better reception and more channels

Some major cities (like LA and San Diego/Mexico) are doing trial transmissions right now. In Mexico it's being used for fixed applications. See the HDTV Technical section of avsforum for more info on MobileTV.
JoeM is offline  
Old 10-13-2011, 01:56 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
THX-1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My LG directtv hidef tuner and dvd has almost total remote interaction between the two remotes and the TRT box.

I've been using the TRT timer and the only issues so far are due to stations with the incorrect time broadcast.
THX-1138 is offline  
Old 10-13-2011, 09:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by THX-1138 View Post

My LG directtv hidef tuner and dvd has almost total remote interaction between the two remotes and the TRT box.

A long shot but dig through the menus and see if there's a remote control setting to solve this problem (I've seen something of that sort on the ChannelMaster).

I had the same problem with my CM remote controlling my Zinwell (but not the other way around). Ruined a few recordings until I put black electrical tape over the remote sensor on the Zinwell; have to temporarily peel it back to set up the Zinwell for timer recording. Also punched a small hole in the tape for the status LED (if the hole is too big the remote signal would bleed through). I also have to be careful not to get too close with the CM remote or the signal will bleed through but it works fine from a normal viewing distance.

Otherwise a big thumbs up on your TRT thus far?

Floydage is offline  
Old 10-15-2011, 08:52 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
THX-1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yes, I'm recording with it right now.

I don't think the LG or theTRT have those remote options.
THX-1138 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off