How many standard def channels can one TV station run? - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 37 Old 01-19-2010, 11:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
StudioTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 861
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
^ But this is what some in the FCC would LOVE to see happen across the country.
StudioTech is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 37 Old 01-27-2010, 12:16 PM
Member
 
JoeM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's an article I found about a box that claims to use mpeg4 to provide multiple channels in Mexico City:

http://www.ftabins.net/showthread.php?p=492193
JoeM is offline  
post #33 of 37 Old 01-27-2010, 10:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
deltaguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: solano county
Posts: 907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
The location of brick and mortar stores that sell television antennas is important. Not everyone purchases online, nor do they need to trust that what they purchase online will arrive safely. They may also want to be able to return same without a shipping fee. A Graceville Florida resident was considering a Winegard product for receiving OTA, including HD. Dothan Alabama is around 20 miles away. That beats going almost a hundred miles for a Winegard dealer. And I still do NOT no the answer to that question.

The antenna could receive subs as well.
deltaguy is offline  
post #34 of 37 Old 01-30-2010, 11:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canonsburg, PA
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeM View Post

Here's an article I found about a box that claims to use mpeg4 to provide multiple channels in Mexico City:

http://www.ftabins.net/showthread.php?p=492193

Sounds a lot like the USDTV service that went bankrupt about 4 years ago and used the US Digital set top box (Hisense HDTV receiver) sold by Walmart.
Sammer is offline  
post #35 of 37 Old 02-03-2010, 01:46 PM
Member
 
JoeM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With "HiTV" in Mexico, they encript the subchannels. Did they do that with USDTV ?
JoeM is offline  
post #36 of 37 Old 02-03-2010, 04:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canonsburg, PA
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeM View Post

With "HiTV" in Mexico, they encript the subchannels. Did they do that with USDTV ?

Yes, the USDTV subchannels were numbered 99.xx and encrypted.
Sammer is offline  
post #37 of 37 Old 02-06-2010, 01:28 PM
Member
 
JoeM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unlike USDTV, there's no monthly fee just the cost of the box.
HiTV will try to take customers away from Sky and DirecTv.
JoeM is offline  
Reply Coupon Eligible Converter Box (CECB)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off