CECB onto a All in Wonder Video/tuner card ?? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 01-22-2010, 03:53 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Socatosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can I put a cheap CECB such as a RCA DTA-800 or ANY CECB between my antenna and my aTI 8500DV-All in Wonder Video card/tuner and be successful at it?

thanks
Socatosh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 01-22-2010, 04:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Youngsville, NC USA
Posts: 5,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
A CECB only outputs SD (generally composite video and stereo analog audio, a few models have s-video output) or channel 3/4 RF modulated mono audio. If your All in Wonder Video/tuner card can accept this as input - you'll be fine. You're NOT going to get HD out of a CECB though.

You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...
http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

Being A Beacon of Knowledge in the darkness of FUD
Scooper is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 01-22-2010, 04:40 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
You'd be better off spending the money on a new ATSC compatible tuner card, which would allow you to watch and record HD.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 01-22-2010, 05:45 PM
Member
 
smpowell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Socatosh View Post

Can I put a cheap CECB such as a RCA DTA-800 or ANY CECB between my antenna and my aTI 8500DV-All in Wonder Video card/tuner and be successful at it?

thanks

Yes you can.

The problem is that there is no easy way (that I know of) to change the channel on the converter box using the computer. Technically it's possible for the computer to control the box using an IR blaster, but you would have to find the software to control it.

If you are only recording a few shows you can just manually change channels on the converter. There are a few models of converters (DTV Pal, some Zenwells) that have "VCR timers" built into them; they would let you change channels but you would have to program the channel changes on the converter and program the recording times on your computer.
smpowell is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 01-22-2010, 08:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zaphod7501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Peoria Illinois
Posts: 1,922
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I have a couple of them set up to do this (using Hauppauge capture cards) and the picture quality is very good, better than any analog cable or OTA recording you would have made in the past era.

Note the limitations listed by "smpowell".

The Zenith boxes are one of the best if you have to leave a box powered on for extended periods of time. (turn on in the morning to record something before you get home in the evening)

Sturgeon's Law: "Nothing is always absolutely so."
Sturgeons Revelation: "Ninety percent of everything is crud."
My Thoughts: "A reasoned argument must share some basic common points."
zaphod7501 is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 01-23-2010, 07:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by zaphod7501 View Post

The Zenith boxes are one of the best if you have to leave a box powered on for extended periods of time. (turn on in the morning to record something before you get home in the evening)

Also, the Artecs are sort of Zenith/Insignia clones (same major chipset and very low power consumption); I mention this because they can still be bought new.
I see Zinwells are still available at Amazon with free shipping.
I spotted some DTV Pal types too but one was refurbished (the Plus).

Floydage is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 01-23-2010, 08:22 AM
Member
 
smpowell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zaphod7501 View Post

I have a couple of them set up to do this (using Hauppauge capture cards) and the picture quality is very good, better than any analog cable or OTA recording you would have made in the past era.

Note the limitations listed by "smpowell".

The Zenith boxes are one of the best if you have to leave a box powered on for extended periods of time. (turn on in the morning to record something before you get home in the evening)

Did you find a way to control the converter using the computer?

By default all CECBs are set to auto shutdown after a few hours. But they all have a place in their menus to turn off this feature.

If I were doing this with a non-"VCR timer" converter, I'd go with the Zenith or Insignia models with APT. The tuner is good at handling multipath problems (Better than the RCAs) and the metal case is good for disapating heat. The only thing I don't like about the Zenith/Insignia is the "cyclops eye" LED on the front. I fixed this by taping some red plastic over the LED. That way it only lights up when a power failure has reset the converter to standby mode.
smpowell is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 01-23-2010, 05:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Another idea is to put a piece of dark tape with a pinhole in it for the LED. I had to do this with a piece of electrical tape on my Zinwell (VCR) so that my Channel Master (TV) remote wouldn't conflict with the Zinwell; that is the tape was to cover the Zinwell IR sensor but it's so close to the LED that I put a pinhole in it so I could still see the LED.

Floydage is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 01-23-2010, 08:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zaphod7501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Peoria Illinois
Posts: 1,922
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I haven't even tried to set up a blaster but I think the one called USB UIRT is probably the best hardware but it requires third party software to operate and none of them seem to be free.

The blaster that comes with the Hauppauge cards is not a learning type AFAIK and they have not been very good at upgrading the software for new devices.

I just leave the box on in the morning.

Sturgeon's Law: "Nothing is always absolutely so."
Sturgeons Revelation: "Ninety percent of everything is crud."
My Thoughts: "A reasoned argument must share some basic common points."
zaphod7501 is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 01-25-2010, 02:59 PM
Member
 
THX-1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The TRT seems to have the best timer of the options available.

If you have multiple inputs, you can run more than one box too.
I run one into L-1 and one into F-1 on the vcrs and I could run one or two into analog as well.
I can set the vcr to record from L-1 and F-1 and then when the vcr is set, the TV defaults to the analog feed through the vcr, in my case the F-1 box.
That's two choices without even setting a box timer, from S-video too.

I may have some extra timer boxes available if you need one.
THX-1138 is offline  
Reply Coupon Eligible Converter Box (CECB)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off