Has anyone connected CECB to Windows Media Center w/ W7? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 9 Old 02-06-2010, 05:55 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was wondering if anyone has found a cheap/simple way to connect our spare CECB to Windows Media Center with Windows 7?

I realize most people buy a PC TV tuner for this task, but I have a spare Channel Master CECB (w/ s-video out) sitting around and thought that I could somehow utilize it with Windows Media Center and turn it into live TV and DVR. Has anyone researched this?

Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 02-17-2010, 01:45 PM
QAM

Simple enough... first thing you need to do is capture the "analog video" signal into your PC. A simple device I found was a Hauppauge Video Capture USB dongle (USB-Live2).

It should look like a video input device to Windows (so might be visible to media center also).

After that it's just a matter of digging into the specifics of what you want to do with the captured signal.
post #3 of 9 Old 03-01-2010, 11:16 AM - Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by QAM View Post

Simple enough... first thing you need to do is capture the "analog video" signal into your PC. A simple device I found was a Hauppauge Video Capture USB dongle (USB-Live2).

It should look like a video input device to Windows (so might be visible to media center also).

After that it's just a matter of digging into the specifics of what you want to do with the captured signal.

Thanks, that helps but most of the Video Capture Devices I've seen cost more than $35 and may not work with Windows 7.

I was just wondering if anyone found a cheap/easy alternative way to do it.
post #4 of 9 Old 03-03-2010, 11:35 PM

Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I tried using an old NTSC-only USB tuner with a CECB, but that did not work with Windows 7 Media Center either. Do CECB's even work with NTSC-only computer tuner cards?