Insignia NS-DXA1 (Zenith DTT900) factory infrared commands - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 04-08-2010, 08:32 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Bavi_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I discovered some special infrared signals that my Insignia NS-DXA1 converter box responds to: one brings up a factory mode menu, and one preforms a factory reset. I assume the same commands will also work on the Zenith DTT900, Zenith DTT901, and Insignia NS-DXA1-APT converter boxes.

Factory Mode Menu

Warning: Using the factory mode menu erased the channels on my converter box. (It left one valid channel and one invalid channel in memory, and also turned on the "Analog" CC1 closed captions in the menu.)

To get to the factory mode menu, start with the converter box on, then send the Factory Menu infrared signal (see below).

The menu displays two version numbers with time stamps and a checksum. It has items for front key test, NVRAM test, factory reset, service mode, and start download. The service mode item only has one option to change which rating systems are shown in the lock menu: US, Canada, or Both.


Factory Reset

To preform a direct factory reset, start with the converter box on, then send the Factory Reset infrared signal (see below). The box will put a FACTORY OK message on the screen, and the front panel LED will turn purple. You can then turn the box off and back on, and the initial setup screens will start.

Infrared Signals

If you are familiar with the NEC infrared signal protocol, the converter box uses address F7. The Factory Menu signal is command EA. The Factory Reset signal is command EB.

If you use LIRC or WinLIRC, You can start with this configuration file and uncomment the factory commands at the end of the codes section.

If you have a Pronto remote, a Palm handheld computer with OmniRemote, or another device that uses Pronto hex codes, here are the codes for the factory commands.
Factory Menu: 0000 006D 0022 0002 0156 00AB 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 05F2 0156 0056 0015 0E5F

Factory Reset: 0000 006D 0022 0002 0156 00AB 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 05F2 0156 0056 0015 0E5F
Bavi_H is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 04-09-2010, 05:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zaphod7501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Peoria Illinois
Posts: 1,916
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 32
There is also a JP-1 upgrade with the commands if that's your remote system of choice. I built that one about 2 years ago. There is also a discrete "off" command but no matching "on" signal.

Sturgeon's Law: "Nothing is always absolutely so."
Sturgeons Revelation: "Ninety percent of everything is crud."
My Thoughts: "A reasoned argument must share some basic common points."
zaphod7501 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 04-09-2010, 06:06 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Bavi_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zaphod7501 View Post

There is also a JP-1 upgrade with the commands if that's your remote system of choice. I built that one about 2 years ago. There is also a discrete "off" command but no matching "on" signal.

I thought I found something exciting and new, but it sounds like you already knew about it? Is this factory menu already mentioned online somewhere? I must have been searching for it the wrong way.

I was really excited about the factory commands, but I did also find the "off" command. I thought it was odd I couldn't find an "on" command, so it's good to know other people didn't find one either.
Bavi_H is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 04-10-2010, 05:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zaphod7501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Peoria Illinois
Posts: 1,916
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I know that I posted about it and probably a link also but I couldn't find it either on a quick search. After so long, memory fades. It could have been here or at the JP-1 site or even on the Home Theater Forum. Your info adds other remote types and brands that I could not include.

A discrete "on" command could be generated with a macro that sends "off" followed by "on".

JP-1 is handy for searching for hidden commands but there is always the danger of "bricking" the unit with a lethal signal.

Sturgeon's Law: "Nothing is always absolutely so."
Sturgeons Revelation: "Ninety percent of everything is crud."
My Thoughts: "A reasoned argument must share some basic common points."
zaphod7501 is offline  
Reply Coupon Eligible Converter Box (CECB)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off