Digital tuner gone bad? - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 73 Old 05-30-2010, 03:14 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rjhythloday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: UT
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I placed an order for the centronics ZAT 502

Tahiti,Dinosaurs,M-house, AIW , Tangled,7Wonders, HTTYD, Cloudy, Open Season, Goldberg Variations, Avatar, 3d triple, Lang Lang, Megamind,Yogi, G&J, shrek-complete.
rjhythloday is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 73 Old 06-04-2010, 07:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tomwil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I had recently purchased a plasma TV cheaply because its ATSC tuner went dead. My solution was to purchase the Coby DTV-140 HD tuner, which can be found as inexpensive as those SD CECBs.


That which may be known of God is evident within man, for God has shown it to them, so that they are without excuse. (Romans 1:19-20)
tomwil is offline  
post #63 of 73 Old 06-05-2010, 09:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,933
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Hopefully you'll have better luck than I had with several $19.99 Coby DVD players, they both died in less than a year and were used <10 hrs. each
That tuner looks very similar to the DVD players. You might want to post your link in this Coby thread.
Reminder, since it's a old thread make sure to check the old thread box on the bottom of the screen before you submit your post. Otherwise you'll lose your post, never to be seen again.
jjeff is online now  
post #64 of 73 Old 06-05-2010, 11:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Coby is the brand I see for cheap stuff in drugstores like CVS; my perception is I wouldn't waste my money on that brand.

Floydage is offline  
post #65 of 73 Old 06-07-2010, 11:36 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rjhythloday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: UT
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Floydage View Post

Coby is the brand I see for cheap stuff in drugstores like CVS; my perception is I wouldn't waste my money on that brand.

I'm happy w/ the centronics so far, good quality pic, it has an sd/hd button, it's amazing how bad the 480I is.

Tahiti,Dinosaurs,M-house, AIW , Tangled,7Wonders, HTTYD, Cloudy, Open Season, Goldberg Variations, Avatar, 3d triple, Lang Lang, Megamind,Yogi, G&J, shrek-complete.
rjhythloday is offline  
post #66 of 73 Old 06-07-2010, 05:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjhythloday View Post

I'm happy w/ the centronics so far, good quality pic, it has an sd/hd button, it's amazing how bad the 480I is.

ZAT would be interesting to toggle I try to avoid watching HD when out and about just for that reason since I'm still a caveman.

Is your Centronics made by Coby?

Floydage is offline  
post #67 of 73 Old 08-12-2010, 12:26 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rjhythloday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: UT
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Floydage View Post

ZAT would be interesting to toggle I try to avoid watching HD when out and about just for that reason since I'm still a caveman.

Is your Centronics made by Coby?

no it's made by centronics. I've purchased a few coby products in the past, very cheap and break quickly.

Tahiti,Dinosaurs,M-house, AIW , Tangled,7Wonders, HTTYD, Cloudy, Open Season, Goldberg Variations, Avatar, 3d triple, Lang Lang, Megamind,Yogi, G&J, shrek-complete.
rjhythloday is offline  
post #68 of 73 Old 08-12-2010, 05:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjhythloday View Post

no it's made by centronics. I've purchased a few coby products in the past, very cheap and break quickly.

Thanks. I think it was post #65 above that had me confused.

Floydage is offline  
post #69 of 73 Old 08-18-2010, 09:51 AM
Senior Member
 
pclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjhythloday View Post

no it's made by centronics. I've purchased a few coby products in the past, very cheap and break quickly.

Coby is Chinese for "s**t".
pclement is offline  
post #70 of 73 Old 08-18-2010, 05:15 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
With a name like "Coby", I might've thought they would be beefy and made in Japan, but I guess not.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #71 of 73 Old 08-18-2010, 05:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Well not much on this CVS/Pharmacy search

http://www.cvs.com/CVSApp/search/sea...acet=SRCH:coby

but flip through their ads and Coby stuff is on sale now and then. Craig too; I have the impression they've gone Cobyish, not the ol' Craig car radios I remember.

Floydage is offline  
post #72 of 73 Old 08-18-2010, 07:15 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Yeah, Craig is pretty bad. Probably right about up there with Audiovox.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #73 of 73 Old 04-04-2011, 05:13 PM
Member
 
THX-1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I went with crts and bought a separate tuner just in case.

Aren't the bluray dvd recorders using a hidef tuner?

They are making a big mistake not putting hidef tuners in most dvd recorders.

Also check dvr/dvd recorders.

The panasonics and a few others will run dvd/ram.
I won't buy a recorder that won't.
THX-1138 is offline  
Reply Coupon Eligible Converter Box (CECB)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off