Zenith (LG) DTT900 CECB - Page 88 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 54Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #2611 of 2615 Old Yesterday, 10:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 382 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Floydage View Post
Hey I was able to combine two antennas with a simple two-way combiner (a splitter in reverse). Loses about half my signal for each antenna but I have plenty of signal to spare. Sure beats flipping a switch but in my case it was the NBC station. .
You really arent suppose to be using a splitter in reverse though? On paper looks like that would work.

If & when I put the attic antenna down to my living room line I'll split in the attic, but before I do this I'm going to run a worst case with a splitter in the bedroom, & just drop a long line to the living room to see what indeed happens.

Really, I haven't had the time to call anyone on a new roof set yet.
Bismarck440 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2612 of 2615 Old Yesterday, 12:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bismarck440 View Post
You really arent suppose to be using a splitter in reverse though? On paper looks like that would work.

If & when I put the attic antenna down to my living room line I'll split in the attic, but before I do this I'm going to run a worst case with a splitter in the bedroom, & just drop a long line to the living room to see what indeed happens.

Really, I haven't had the time to call anyone on a new roof set yet.
Bi-directional as long as a 'standard' passive type . Now say if had a built-in amp or some kind of filtering (ex: diplexer) then no; although a passive diplexer could be used in reverse but with the same frequency dependency on each port.
Now if for some reason a device had an isolator or circulator on some ports then it would be directional. We would do this for amplifiers to maintain the proper impedance and have a dummy load for protection (ex: microwave oven so a bad condition doesn't reflect the power back into it and fry itself).

Good idea. Don't even need to run a line to the living room, just test both sides in the bedroom. Of course maybe it's just easier that way...

Floydage is online now  
post #2613 of 2615 Old Today, 09:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 382 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Floydage View Post
Good idea. Don't even need to run a line to the living room, just test both sides in the bedroom. Of course maybe it's just easier that way...
Actually worst case since I'll be using the existing RG59 in the wall (strain reliefed somewhere in the wall), I wanted to try a run of cheap cable laying around... if it works with that, I'll know to expect better, & always leave an option to go back to the roof.
Bismarck440 is online now  
post #2614 of 2615 Old Today, 02:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bismarck440 View Post
Actually worst case since I'll be using the existing RG59 in the wall (strain reliefed somewhere in the wall), I wanted to try a run of cheap cable laying around... if it works with that, I'll know to expect better, & always leave an option to go back to the roof.
Cable doesn't have much loss unless reeeeeal long. If you really want to worst case it, add in an extra two-way splitter to that side.

Floydage is online now  
post #2615 of 2615 Unread Today, 03:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jim1348's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: MN
Posts: 936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Zenith (LG) DTT900 CECB

Quote:
Originally Posted by Floydage View Post
Cable doesn't have much loss unless reeeeeal long. If you really want to worst case it, add in an extra two-way splitter to that side.
Actually, that sort of begs the questions of what your definition of "reeeeeal long" is. My experience has been that I had the best results with RG-6. It has less loss than RG-59. On the other hand, since you have existing feedline, try it and see what happens. With digital, you pretty much have a great picture, or not. Just know that if you don't have a great picture, it is time to look at the antenna system. Think of it as a system and closely examine every part of the system, if you have problems.

ATSC behaves differently than NTSC did. Remember, this ain't your grandfathers TV set that he bought from Montgomery Wards 40 years ago!
Jim1348 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Coupon Eligible Converter Box (CECB)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off