ATSC Converter Box comparisons - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 1867 Old 02-08-2008, 08:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jtbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Clinton, SC
Posts: 3,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scooper View Post

One other feature I would like to see on the spreadsheet - does the box include an NTSC tuner as well ?

I will be surprised if any of them do. After all, their intended "market" is people who already have TVs with (only) NTSC tuners.
jtbell is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 1867 Old 02-08-2008, 09:06 PM
QAM
Member
 
QAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to their web site, RadioShack is selling the Zenith DTT900 for a new price of $59.99 (instead of the previous price of $69.99).
QAM is offline  
post #63 of 1867 Old 02-08-2008, 09:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
Whidbey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Marysville, WA
Posts: 888
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Use this coupon: https://moversguide.usps.com/img/cou...clientarea.gif with your $40 gov't coupon at Best Buy and get a few more bucks off your CECB. Good until 2/29.

Enjoying crystal clear TV for free.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Whidbey is offline  
post #64 of 1867 Old 02-09-2008, 12:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
holl_ands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 58
I doubt you will find one with an internal NTSC tuner....none so far....

What you need to look for is whether they have "RF PASS THRU",
which will connect the antenna through to your existing TV.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

holl_ands is offline  
post #65 of 1867 Old 02-09-2008, 07:31 AM
Member
 
roger1818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Regarding EPG, some certainly will be much better than others. The Zenith for example only displays the current and next program and will only remember programming for channels you manually tune to.

As far as an NTSC tuner, unfortunatly I think the rules prohibit it. Many of the chips being used have a built-in NTSC tuner so it could be provided with little or no cost, but it is disabled in the boxes.
roger1818 is offline  
post #66 of 1867 Old 02-09-2008, 09:37 AM
Member
 
rvonder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As I understand it, the purpose of coupon-eligible converters is to maintain the same functionality for owners of analog-only sets that they've always had via the set's internal NTSC tuner, but now within the ATSC realm.

It may sound primitive to us, but I'd bet the vast majority of the intended buyers for these converters currently have a simple OTA antenna feed running straight to the TV's RF input. Others run OTA into their VCR tuner, with a second coax link from the VCR's RF output to the TV. (The fact that CECB's are required to have an RF (ch 3/4) modulator appears to confirm this.) Since MTS stereo has been included in TVs and VCR tuners for many years, customers can currently view and record OTA with stereo audio using nothing but these basic RF connections.

That's why I find it so odd that CECB's are not required to deliver MTS stereo via their RF modulator output. Without this, people with RF-only connections completely lose their stereo sound unless they can figure out how to use the more complex composite + RCA audio connections instead -- and that assumes their TV even has these inputs. A lot of these folks have trouble just setting their VCR so it's not flashing "12:00" -- can you imagine trying to teach them about composite video, L/R RCA audio connections, and how to setup their TVs and VCRs to view those inputs instead of the NTSC tuner?

Rob
rvonder is offline  
post #67 of 1867 Old 02-09-2008, 12:54 PM
Member
 
roger1818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rvonder View Post

That's why I find it so odd that CECB's are not required to deliver MTS stereo via their RF modulator output.

The vast majority of VCRs do not deliver MTS stereo via their RF modulator output, so users with VCRs are accustomed to either listening to programming in mono or using the AV cables. From my experience most if not all stereo TVs have AV inputs so delivering MTS stereo via RF modulator is not an important feature. To keep the cost of the box down, they want to only require features that are important.

I just wish they permitted it to have an NTSC tuner to make it easier to surf both analog and digital channels.
roger1818 is offline  
post #68 of 1867 Old 02-09-2008, 01:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Luke M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by roger1818 View Post

I just wish they permitted it to have an NTSC tuner to make it easier to surf both analog and digital channels.

This seems to be the product of sheer cluelessness on the part of the NTIA. Even after 2/2009, there will be analog broadcasts (only full power stations are required to cease by that date).
Luke M is online now  
post #69 of 1867 Old 02-09-2008, 05:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Desert Hawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bakersfield California
Posts: 979
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have never seen ANY consumer device anywhere that will output an RF MTS stereo signal. I have seen analog cable boxes that will, but they only change the frequency and to not otherwise alter the signal, so that doesn't count.

How can we say "the digital transition is complete" when thousands of low power stations are still broadcasting in analog?
LOW POWER ANALOG NEEDS TO DIE NOW!!!
Desert Hawk is offline  
post #70 of 1867 Old 02-09-2008, 07:06 PM
Member
 
drla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rvonder View Post

As I understand it, the purpose of coupon-eligible converters is to maintain the same functionality for owners of analog-only sets that they've always had via the set's internal NTSC tuner, but now within the ATSC realm.

It may sound primitive to us, but I'd bet the vast majority of the intended buyers for these converters currently have a simple OTA antenna feed running straight to the TV's RF input. Others run OTA into their VCR tuner, with a second coax link from the VCR's RF output to the TV. (The fact that CECB's are required to have an RF (ch 3/4) modulator appears to confirm this.) Since MTS stereo has been included in TVs and VCR tuners for many years, customers can currently view and record OTA with stereo audio using nothing but these basic RF connections.

That's why I find it so odd that CECB's are not required to deliver MTS stereo via their RF modulator output. Without this, people with RF-only connections completely lose their stereo sound unless they can figure out how to use the more complex composite + RCA audio connections instead -- and that assumes their TV even has these inputs. A lot of these folks have trouble just setting their VCR so it's not flashing "12:00" -- can you imagine trying to teach them about composite video, L/R RCA audio connections, and how to setup their TVs and VCRs to view those inputs instead of the NTSC tuner?

Rob

You're making a big deal out of a trivial issue. These same folks probably can't tell the difference between stereo and mono.
drla is offline  
post #71 of 1867 Old 02-09-2008, 10:54 PM
Senior Member
 
PinkSplice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: STL MO
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just bought an RCA DTA 800. Input is a 75 ohm F-connector, outputs are 75 ohm F (Ch 3/4 selectable) and composite video, with Left and Right channels for audio. There is also an RJ-45 for the smart antenna, which I don't have (does this make it a "B" model with the Broadcom chip?).

Initial testing, with two sets and four antennas (two inside, two outside):

The unit is exceedingly easy to program and control. Sensistivity is good (listed as -83 dbm to -5 dbm), and I was able to pick up KNLC-DT on reverse on one of the outside antennas (neat trick). Easily better performance than my Samsung 4th gen reciever.

I live in front-end overload hell, right under the guns, plus some multipath. Good performance for a first try. I'll try some DX'ing later.

One feature of use to indoor antenna users is an audio tone that allows the installer to check signal stregnth while moving the antenna (no looking/running back to the set). Huge buttons on the remote. Unit is an all-or-nothing program scan, so any channel you want to antenna-test must be captured first. No additional channel update feature. The unit does allow for letterboxing on a 4:3 screen (default is off/4:3).

All output is 480i.

Using any analog tuner with the converter box passing RF (converter unit off) is going to result in seriously degraded signal stregnth. It's DTV or snow...choose. Do not split or chain devices downstream from this unit.

In summary, the box does what it is advertised to do- allow an analog set to recieve DTV.
PinkSplice is offline  
post #72 of 1867 Old 02-10-2008, 07:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Scooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Youngsville, NC USA
Posts: 5,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by roger1818 View Post

The vast majority of VCRs do not deliver MTS stereo via their RF modulator output, so users with VCRs are accustomed to either listening to programming in mono or using the AV cables. From my experience most if not all stereo TVs have AV inputs so delivering MTS stereo via RF modulator is not an important feature. To keep the cost of the box down, they want to only require features that are important.

I just wish they permitted it to have an NTSC tuner to make it easier to surf both analog and digital channels.

I have seen ONE device in my entire life that delivered RF stereo over channel 3 / 4 - and that was intended to take a composite A/V signal from a DVD player to an older stereo TV without said A/V jacks. I have seen UHF frequency agile stereo modulators.

For most of the intended market - what the CECBs are delivering is plenty. Analog passthrough when off would seem to be a no-brainer to include in these, but you can always split the signal and use a switch. Yes, I would also like an NTSC tuner in one of these - I have a digital tuner TV in my bedroom that the NTSC tuner went out, but the digital tuner / composite A/V inputs are fine. My solution was to dig the old unused VCR out.

You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Being A Beacon of Knowledge in the darkness of FUD
Scooper is online now  
post #73 of 1867 Old 02-10-2008, 09:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Symbios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Bennett, CO
Posts: 1,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Am I the only one who finds the idea of including an NTSC tuner in an ATSC converter completely absurd? Why would they jack up the price to include something everyone already has, and will be obsolete in the next few months?
Symbios is offline  
post #74 of 1867 Old 02-10-2008, 10:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Symbios View Post

Am I the only one who finds the idea of including an NTSC tuner in an ATSC converter completely absurd? ?

No, I agree it would be a dumb idea, and would lead to a lot of problems when analog is turned off. And the box the "gubmint" made people get no longer gets all the noisy, ghosty channels it did before,
becuase it won't get the digital ones with the .99 walmart antenna.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #75 of 1867 Old 02-10-2008, 12:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Luke M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Symbios View Post

Am I the only one who finds the idea of including an NTSC tuner in an ATSC converter completely absurd? Why would they jack up the price to include something everyone already has, and will be obsolete in the next few months?

If it doesn't support NTSC, then it requires a more complex setup to receive analog (split the antenna signal, etc).
Luke M is online now  
post #76 of 1867 Old 02-10-2008, 05:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
DrBri99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Symbios View Post

Am I the only one who finds the idea of including an NTSC tuner in an ATSC converter completely absurd? Why would they jack up the price to include something everyone already has, and will be obsolete in the next few months?

Those in remote locations are probably receiving signals from Low Power stations or translators, these stations can still transmit in analog past the 2.2009 cut-off date.

I have one such station, they currently transmit analog and digital, and I've tried to receive it with the Samsung set top HDTV tuner, but I cannot get it. Analog, it is watchable, but snowy.

If the STB had an NTSC and ATSC tuner, it would just allow you to not have to switch inputs on the TV, that's all.

If I find it that much of an inconvienience, I'll just use a DVD recorder as my tuner.
DrBri99 is offline  
post #77 of 1867 Old 02-10-2008, 06:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Symbios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Bennett, CO
Posts: 1,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke M View Post

If it doesn't support NTSC, then it requires a more complex setup to receive analog (split the antenna signal, etc).

If you have it connected via RF (which I assume the majority of the target consumers will) it should only be as complex as pressing the power button on the remote, putting the remote in TV mode and changing the channel... And for those who have it connected via composite, they would simply need to connect the included coax cable to their TV so the box would pass the signal to the TV when the box is off.
Symbios is offline  
post #78 of 1867 Old 02-11-2008, 09:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Luke M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Symbios View Post

If you have it connected via RF (which I assume the majority of the target consumers will) it should only be as complex as pressing the power button on the remote, putting the remote in TV mode and changing the channel... And for those who have it connected via composite, they would simply need to connect the included coax cable to their TV so the box would pass the signal to the TV when the box is off.

Pass through is an acceptable alternative, sure. But directly supporting NTSC is better, and not absurd, given that it's a "free" feature of many digital TV chips.
Luke M is online now  
post #79 of 1867 Old 02-11-2008, 11:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
holl_ands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 58
With PASS-THRU, Grandma has to remember to turn the box OFF and use
TV R/C to watch some channels and turn the box ON and switch to the box
R/C to watch others....unacceptable....even with an integrated R/C.

If an RF Splitter is used to feed both the box and TV, then she still has to deal
with the remote control shuffle....still unacceptable....

Integrated ATSC/NTSC tuner would solve confusing remote control shuffle problem....


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

holl_ands is offline  
post #80 of 1867 Old 02-11-2008, 11:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
holl_ands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by PinkSplice View Post

Just bought an RCA DTA 800. Input is a 75 ohm F-connector, outputs are 75 ohm F (Ch 3/4 selectable) and composite video, with Left and Right channels for audio. There is also an RJ-45 for the smart antenna, which I don't have (does this make it a "B" model with the Broadcom chip?).

The "A" model uses Zoran/Oren-Cascade and "B" model uses Broadcom ATSC Decoder chips.
Press releases from each manufacturer say they support Smart Antenna I/F.

Apparently you'll need to pop the cover to let us know which big chips it uses.
If you could, also let us know part numbers on the tin can tuner.
And a few pictures??? (macro mode, offset angle to prevent flash reflections).

Maybe the serial number series are different for the two boxes???


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

holl_ands is offline  
post #81 of 1867 Old 02-11-2008, 02:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by holl_ands View Post

The "A" model uses Zoran/Oren-Cascade and "B" model uses Broadcom ATSC Decoder chips.

Sure would be nice to do a side by side comparison of actual production units. So far these units are
not available here yet.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #82 of 1867 Old 02-11-2008, 06:05 PM
Senior Member
 
PinkSplice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: STL MO
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by holl_ands View Post

The "A" model uses Zoran/Oren-Cascade and "B" model uses Broadcom ATSC Decoder chips.
Press releases from each manufacturer say they support Smart Antenna I/F.

Apparently you'll need to pop the cover to let us know which big chips it uses.
If you could, also let us know part numbers on the tin can tuner.
And a few pictures??? (macro mode, offset angle to prevent flash reflections).

Maybe the serial number series are different for the two boxes???

Should have looked first. It's right next to the S/N#: DTA800B S/N PA111J026A1360. One of the menus I paged through had a firmware date of 8 JAN 08.

OK, case open, $50 shot.

My cell phone shots are low-res, so I'll have to write down the chip information.

Chip is a Broadcom. 1ST LINE: BCM3543KPB5G. 2ND LINE: TN0749 P20 3RD LINE: 849780 U3

Presumed S/N sticker on PCB board is : 08 01 34570
Inlaid number on PCB board shows DTA800B-07

I'll post photos, if I can figure out how to do so
PinkSplice is offline  
post #83 of 1867 Old 02-11-2008, 06:24 PM
Senior Member
 
PinkSplice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: STL MO
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, here are shots of the interior and back of the unit. Apologies for the low-res and background; it IS a ham "shack" after all...
LL
LL
LL
PinkSplice is offline  
post #84 of 1867 Old 02-11-2008, 09:19 PM
Senior Member
 
PinkSplice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: STL MO
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Put the box back together. Still works.

RF passthrough for analog, converter box power on or off, is horrible. Tried on three sets now, all bad results. Great for DTV, death for analog. To those wishing for an NTSC tuner, I think this is what they had in mind: DTV, or nothing.
PinkSplice is offline  
post #85 of 1867 Old 02-12-2008, 06:16 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tkrhdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Marietta/Kennesaw
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whidbey View Post

Use this coupon: https://moversguide.usps.com/img/cou...clientarea.gif with your $40 gov't coupon at Best Buy and get a few more bucks off your CECB. Good until 2/29.

They have not even started mailing coupons out yet have they?
tkrhdtv is offline  
post #86 of 1867 Old 02-12-2008, 07:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
DrBri99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The DTV2009 site says coupons will be mailed at the end of the month.

Circuit City pulled the converter box from their website, and nothing released has RF pass-through. Is there any word on the release date of the Echostar CECB?

My tuner just died on my VCR (great timing), the line in recording still works, so it looks like I'll be buy one of these soon.
DrBri99 is offline  
post #87 of 1867 Old 02-12-2008, 08:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
Whidbey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Marysville, WA
Posts: 888
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrBri99 View Post

The DTV2009 site says coupons will be mailed at the end of the month.

Circuit City pulled the converter box from their website

I believe they are supposed to be mailed out on the 17th. But that's a Sunday, so more likely the 18th. I'm hoping to have my coupon on time to use the BB coupon. Plus I have a BB gift card so my box will be free to me. If the coupons are mailed from Portland, I'll have mine Tuesday or Wednesday.

CC will probably add the CECB back once people start showing up at the store with coupons in hand.

Enjoying crystal clear TV for free.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Whidbey is offline  
post #88 of 1867 Old 02-12-2008, 09:40 AM
Member
 
ledgerat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Simpsonville, SC
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hate to say it, but I hope the OTA digital signals that I will get with the new boxes are missing a few channels or requires regular re-adjustment/re-tuning in my area....haven't had cable, while saving for our new home....now that we are moved in, this would help convince the Mrs. that we need to go ahead and get D*...

...hanging near the rafters of Gampel like ledge rats.
ledgerat is offline  
post #89 of 1867 Old 02-12-2008, 09:55 AM
Senior Member
 
dbsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd like to know if they're RoHS or not. I'm hoping not really what with having to deal with hairline cracks in solder joints and other problems associated with non-lead solders.

I'm all for the ideal of RoHS but until there is a lead solder replacement that is at least as good it's a waste since devices will fail much more often. They're close but not close enough.

I stole your sig.
dbsc is offline  
post #90 of 1867 Old 02-12-2008, 05:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canonsburg, PA
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbsc View Post

I'd like to know if they're RoHS or not. I'm hoping not really what with having to deal with hairline cracks in solder joints and other problems associated with non-lead solders.

Why would they be, none of the CECBs are going to Europe.
Sammer is offline  
Reply Coupon Eligible Converter Box (CECB)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off