ATSC Converter Box comparisons - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 1867 Old 02-13-2008, 08:45 AM
Member
 
onslowtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Zenith SAT 520 with QAM which is apparently analog, since I can hook up an antenna to the cable jack on the receiver and scan for channels and some analog TV signals show up as "cable".
Will the QAM on these newer receivers be a "digital" form of QAM?
onslowtn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 1867 Old 02-13-2008, 12:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
DrBri99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by onslowtn View Post

I have a Zenith SAT 520 with QAM which is apparently analog, since I can hook up an antenna to the cable jack on the receiver and scan for channels and some analog TV signals show up as "cable".
Will the QAM on these newer receivers be a "digital" form of QAM?

There will be no QAM tuners in the "coupon eligible converter boxes".

The samsung HDTV tuner, and most DVD recorders with an ATSC tuner also have a QAM tuner.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DVD_recorder (scroll down to the chart, and there is a column for QAM tuners)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/QAM_tuner
DrBri99 is offline  
post #93 of 1867 Old 02-13-2008, 01:59 PM
Member
 
billmcf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Portland, OR USA
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbsc View Post

I'd like to know if they're RoHS or not...
I'm all for the ideal of RoHS but until there is a lead solder replacement that is at least as good it's a waste since devices will fail much more often. They're close but not close enough.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammer View Post

Why would they be, none of the CECBs are going to Europe.

They may not have a choice. Many ICs are available only in lead-free ball-grid array packages. Generally, if the PCB contains one lead-free BGA, the entire board must be lead free. The reason is the BGA's "pins" are made of solder, and lead-free solder melts at a different temperature than lead solder.
billmcf is offline  
post #94 of 1867 Old 02-13-2008, 02:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
Desert Hawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bakersfield California
Posts: 979
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"Analog form of QAM"? Not for tv, there isn't. The only analog use of QAM is Am Stereo radio. Motorola C-QUAM, to be more precise.

How can we say "the digital transition is complete" when thousands of low power stations are still broadcasting in analog?
LOW POWER ANALOG NEEDS TO DIE NOW!!!
Desert Hawk is offline  
post #95 of 1867 Old 02-13-2008, 03:04 PM
Member
 
onslowtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The NTIA approved "Digital Stream" Set Top Box is supposed to have QAM. I am in general curious as to whether any ATSC only tuner box will have a QAM that is digital or will it still be analog.
onslowtn is offline  
post #96 of 1867 Old 02-13-2008, 03:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canonsburg, PA
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by onslowtn View Post

The NTIA approved "Digital Stream" Set Top Box is supposed to have QAM.

The South Korean version of the "Digital Stream" has QAM but it isn't yet known whether that feature is disabled or active on the U.S. box.
Sammer is offline  
post #97 of 1867 Old 02-13-2008, 07:25 PM
Member
 
DigitalTorque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The QAM function would likely be in the tuner boxes but disabled, so they would qualify as a "coupon" converter.

It would appear that the companies are now concentrating on manufacturing as many "coupon" boxes as their production capacity will allow.

When the requiirement is fulfilled, it appears very likely that QAM enabled boxes will be made available for about the same price but not coupon eligible.

The demand will be there especially with the cable TV deadline for elimination of the old analog data stream by 2012
DigitalTorque is offline  
post #98 of 1867 Old 02-13-2008, 08:52 PM
Member
 
tzank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some of the coupon eligible boxes have upgradable firmware via a RS232 port or other means. This could mean QAM or other functionalities can be added at a future date with a firmware update. Should we consider the ability of a coupon eligible box to be firmware upgradable as an important feature?
tzank is offline  
post #99 of 1867 Old 02-13-2008, 11:02 PM
Senior Member
 
dbsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tzank View Post

Some of the coupon eligible boxes have upgradable firmware via a RS232 port or other means. This could mean QAM or other functionalities can be added at a future date with a firmware update. Should we consider the ability of a coupon eligible box to be firmware upgradable as an important feature?

I'd consider it fairly important either way. It's not like these specific boxes have been around a long time with tons of in the field QA testing and bug reports.

The ability to hack firmware to enable hidden functions or features is cool and all but it's much more important that I'm able to update the box if they royally screwed something up before shipping.

I stole your sig.
dbsc is offline  
post #100 of 1867 Old 02-14-2008, 09:38 AM
QAM
Member
 
QAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrBri99 View Post

The DTV2009 site says coupons will be mailed at the end of the month.

Circuit City pulled the converter box from their website...

: As of 2/14/08 the Zenith DTT900 is NOW listed on the Circuit City web site. ($59.99)

"Available soon"
QAM is offline  
post #101 of 1867 Old 02-14-2008, 12:01 PM
QAM
Member
 
QAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
BTW, just noticed that Circuit city will be hosting a "live event" Digital TV Transition Forum, Feb. 19th, 7-7:30pm ET

http://www.circuitcity.com/ccd/gener....do?oid=204359
QAM is offline  
post #102 of 1867 Old 02-14-2008, 04:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Youngsville, NC USA
Posts: 5,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Can anyone make a comment if the Zenith DTT900 will have analog passthrough ? On the Radio Shack site, someone said it did, but I trust this site farther regarding things like this.

You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...
http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

Being A Beacon of Knowledge in the darkness of FUD
Scooper is offline  
post #103 of 1867 Old 02-14-2008, 07:08 PM
Member
 
beachbum_50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Longmont, CO
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like the Magnavox and Philco are clones:

Philco user manual:
http://www.funai-corp.com/6pdf/om/TB100HH9.pdf
This unit is supposed to have an RF pass through. This unit is listed on Amazon.
http://www.amazon.com/Philco-TB100HH...3044252&sr=8-1


Magnavox user manual:
http://www.funai-corp.com/6pdf/om/TB100MW9.pdf
This is the non-RF pass through version available at some Walmarts right now.
http://www.walmart.com/catalog/produ...uct_id=8283870
beachbum_50 is offline  
post #104 of 1867 Old 02-15-2008, 07:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Symbios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Bennett, CO
Posts: 1,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got a newsletter from solidsignal.com that says they are now set up to accept the coupons online. Currently, they only carry the Sansonic FT-300RT and Channel Master CM-7000 though.
Symbios is offline  
post #105 of 1867 Old 02-15-2008, 08:51 PM
QAM
Member
 
QAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by QAM View Post

: As of 2/14/08 the Zenith DTT900 is NOW listed on the Circuit City web site. ($59.99)

"Available soon"

CC web site now lists the DTT900 as "in stock" in ALL stores in my area. Now if I only had that darn coupon.
QAM is offline  
post #106 of 1867 Old 02-16-2008, 09:42 AM
Member
 
Whodart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NLRock AR
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rvonder View Post

As I understand it, the purpose of coupon-eligible converters is to maintain the same functionality for owners of analog-only sets that they've always had via the set's internal NTSC tuner, but now within the ATSC realm.

It may sound primitive to us, but I'd bet the vast majority of the intended buyers for these converters currently have a simple OTA antenna feed running straight to the TV's RF input. Others run OTA into their VCR tuner, with a second coax link from the VCR's RF output to the TV. (The fact that CECB's are required to have an RF (ch 3/4) modulator appears to confirm this.) Since MTS stereo has been included in TVs and VCR tuners for many years, customers can currently view and record OTA with stereo audio using nothing but these basic RF connections.

That's why I find it so odd that CECB's are not required to deliver MTS stereo via their RF modulator output. Without this, people with RF-only connections completely lose their stereo sound unless they can figure out how to use the more complex composite + RCA audio connections instead -- and that assumes their TV even has these inputs. A lot of these folks have trouble just setting their VCR so it's not flashing "12:00" -- can you imagine trying to teach them about composite video, L/R RCA audio connections, and how to setup their TVs and VCRs to view those inputs instead of the NTSC tuner?

Rob

Rob, you'd be suprised how many of the 10 year-old grandchildren of these folks that can't set the time on their TV or VCR can set up any kind of electronics without batting an eye. Regards

Whodart

Whodart NLRock
Whodart is offline  
post #107 of 1867 Old 02-16-2008, 09:58 AM
Member
 
Whodart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NLRock AR
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scooper View Post

Can anyone make a comment if the Zenith DTT900 will have analog passthrough ? On the Radio Shack site, someone said it did, but I trust this site farther regarding things like this.

Hi Scooper. Here's the url http://www.zenith.com/dtv/dtt900.html
spex don't show RF passthru. Regards

Whodart

Whodart NLRock
Whodart is offline  
post #108 of 1867 Old 02-16-2008, 12:08 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I just hope the TR-40's available within the time limit for my coupons. That's really the only one I'm interested at this stage, because of it's features.

Wish I'd have held off a little on ordering them.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #109 of 1867 Old 02-16-2008, 12:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Youngsville, NC USA
Posts: 5,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I just got back from a shopping trip, decided to take a look inside my closest Radio Shack - they had about 10-12 of the Digital Stream DTX9900 converters sitting out, price $59.99 . No, I didn't pick one up for testing, as I want one of the 2 Philco's or the Echostar units as my first choices. The sales associate said they got them and put them out yesterday.

From looking at the box - no s-video, but the other standard outputs are there. The box said nothing about analog passthrough, but that is something that has to be tested for a final answer.

You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...
http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

Being A Beacon of Knowledge in the darkness of FUD
Scooper is offline  
post #110 of 1867 Old 02-16-2008, 12:55 PM
Member
 
beachbum_50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Longmont, CO
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd like to order the TR-40 as well.
Here's a link to an article that was posted in another forum about changes some people in congress want made to the coupon program:
http://www.broadcastingcable.com/article/CA6532079.html
Looks like I'll have to complain to my congressman later this year if my coupons expire before the TR-40 becomes available...
beachbum_50 is offline  
post #111 of 1867 Old 02-16-2008, 12:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
Avio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ABQ: NM
Posts: 826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rammitinski View Post

I just hope the TR-40's available within the time limit for my coupons. That's really the only one I'm interested at this stage, because of it's features.

Wish I'd have held off a little on ordering them.

According to EZDigitalTV.com, the following are the only reported features:

- Up to a seven-day electronic programming guide (EPG)
- Program search
- Parental locks
- VCR auto-tune timers
- MSRP of $39.95
- RF analog pass-through

http://www.ezdigitaltv.com/EchoStar_TR-40.html

Which features of the TR-40 make it uniquely interesting to you?

Avio
Avio is offline  
post #112 of 1867 Old 02-16-2008, 12:59 PM
Member
 
drla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scooper View Post

I just got back from a shopping trip, decided to take a look inside my closest Radio Shack - they had about 10-12 of the Digital Stream DTX9900 converters sitting out, price $59.99 . No, I didn't pick one up for testing, as I want one of the 2 Philco's or the Echostar units as my first choices. The sales associate said they got them and put them out yesterday.

From looking at the box - no s-video, but the other standard outputs are there. The box said nothing about analog passthrough, but that is something that has to be tested for a final answer.

They had the TR-40 at Radioshack? I thought they were delayed till June.
drla is offline  
post #113 of 1867 Old 02-16-2008, 01:03 PM
Member
 
drla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The TR-40 has TV Guide's EPG. It doesn't use a station's PSIP. The EPG would be worth something. That and it's cheap. I don't know if the ATSC decoder is any good. Somebody will have to open it up.
drla is offline  
post #114 of 1867 Old 02-16-2008, 01:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Youngsville, NC USA
Posts: 5,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Pluses of the Echostar unit -
#1 - Analog passthrough
#2 - VCR timers
#3 - TV Guide
#4 - cheaper (although that isn't really a factor)

I expect it's tuner to be pretty decent, if they are using the same tuner chips as are in their DBS /OTA receivers.

You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...
http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

Being A Beacon of Knowledge in the darkness of FUD
Scooper is offline  
post #115 of 1867 Old 02-16-2008, 01:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Youngsville, NC USA
Posts: 5,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by drla View Post

They had the TR-40 at Radioshack? I thought they were delayed till June.

NO !

I was commenting that Radio Shack had the DTX9900 in stock, but I'm holding out for a TR40.

You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...
http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

Being A Beacon of Knowledge in the darkness of FUD
Scooper is offline  
post #116 of 1867 Old 02-16-2008, 02:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
Avio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ABQ: NM
Posts: 826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drla View Post

They had the TR-40 ... ? I thought they were delayed till June.

For those interested in the availability of the EchoStar, I found this clip at the bottom of a 2/13/2008 Denver Post article:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Denver Post View Post

EchoStar said its $39.99 TR-40 digital converter box will go on sale in limited quantities beginning in March on its website. Larger quantities will be available in June or July and might be available at some stores. EchoStar recommends consumers wait until May to apply for the coupon. For more information, e-mail EchoStar at tr40@slingmedia.com.

Full Story:

Viewers in the dark on digital TV
By Kimberly S. Johnson
The Denver Post
Article Last Updated: 02/13/2008 11:21:04 PM MST
http://www.denverpost.com/business/ci_8254258

Avio
Avio is offline  
post #117 of 1867 Old 02-16-2008, 04:21 PM
QAM
Member
 
QAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just wondering what the "VCR timer" feature of the converter box really is. Does it mean that the box will switch channels at a specific time/day so the VCR can (time) record multiple channels using the box? Just curious.
QAM is offline  
post #118 of 1867 Old 02-16-2008, 06:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Youngsville, NC USA
Posts: 5,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
That's the general definition....

You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...
http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

Being A Beacon of Knowledge in the darkness of FUD
Scooper is offline  
post #119 of 1867 Old 02-17-2008, 07:37 AM
QAM
Member
 
QAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scooper View Post

That's the general definition....

That's a cool feature. Probably why it uses the (7-day?) TV Guide EPG. hmmm... maybe I'll wait for the Echostar box, as it seems to be the only one with VCR timers. hmmm.... on second thought, I can't wait till May. lol.
QAM is offline  
post #120 of 1867 Old 02-17-2008, 11:23 AM
Senior Member
 
jpconard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, maybe the government shouldn't be mailing out the coupons yet, until the model that people really want is available. More government BS. My coupons will be coming soon, I didn't know about this Echostar model. I'm sure the government did, they had to approve it.
jpconard is offline  
Reply Coupon Eligible Converter Box (CECB)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off