Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 111 Old 05-13-2008, 06:11 AM - Thread Starter
Blu-ray Reviewer

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 517

Greetings,

I would like to take a moment to introduce myself. There are some who know me here at AVS but there are many who don't. I have been a member here since 2002 and until last week my user name was "placidman".

I have been writing about and reviewing A/V gear in one form or another since 1999. In late 2006 I began reviewing DVD and then Blu-ray disc. I don't claim to be an expert in the field of film making, cinematography, sound design, and the like. I do know my equipment and my room. I have had plenty of hands on experience with various A/V hardware and software. I am confident in my ability to know the differences that can exist between them.

Like all of you I love this hobby and I love movies. It is my job to provide the membership here with my impressions of the overall quality of the software that I am reviewing. That would include an overview of the audio, video, bonus content (if any), and the film itself. This is so that you have a good idea of how this film will look and sound (depending somewhat on your system configuration), its bonus content and my thoughts on it as a movie in general.

The template/system that I use is one that I have been using for some time now. I think that it provides a quick synopsis of the above along with a straight forward layout. I don't have a degree in technical writing but I try to present it using descriptive enough terminology so that it drives home the point I am making. I have received some very nice comments from some of the members and it is much appreciated. I also welcome any feedback good or bad as long as it is constructive and in proper form. I try to be accurate in my writing but from time to time I make mistakes. If you notice something please bring it to my attention and I will look at it and address any errors.