Audio Format(s): Dolby TrueHD 5.1
Subtitles: English SDH, Spanish
Starring: Philip Seymour Hoffman, Joaquin Phoenix, Amy Adams, Laura Dern
Directed by: Paul Thomas Anderson
Written by: Paul Thomas Anderson
Music by: Jonny Greenwood
Region Code: A

Blu-ray Disc release Date: Febuary 26, 2013

"I am a writer, a doctor, a nuclear physicist and a theoretical philosopher. But above all, I am a man, a hopelessly inquisitive man, just like you."

Film Synopsis:

1950s-set drama centered on the relationship between a charismatic intellectual known as “The Master” (Philip Seymour Hoffman) a WWII veteran who creates a belief system which catches on with other lost souls--and a young drifter (Joaquin Phoenix) who becomes his right-hand man.

My Take:

I really enjoy Paul Thomas Anderson's work. I had a hard time with "There Will Be Blood" upon first viewing, but the films subtle nuances grew on my exponentially upon my second time. "Magnolia" is one of my favorite films of the last 20 years, and I agree with his quote "... what I really feel is that Magnolia is, for better or worse, the best movie I'll ever make.". The Master continues some of the philosophical/religious undertones and questions brought up by "There will Be Blood", but here he delves into the cult aspect of religion, and how it attracts and almost feeds on the damaged mind, whether it be mental illness, physical sickness, abuse, loneliness, or in this case scarred WWII vet Freddie Quell (Joaquin Phoenix).