Disney's WOW: World of Wonder (Blu-ray) Official AVSForum Review - Page 23 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #661 of 705 Old 02-10-2014, 08:39 PM
Member
 
zerolimit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
haha I had to buy a new tv so I hope this helps me set up the new tube! and I can help others with their calibration
zerolimit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #662 of 705 Old 02-14-2014, 12:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Vidop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I actually did do a search on this site for a question I have. But, unless I was using the wrong search parameters, I found no answer. My question is-on WOW, the test area for subwoofer signal level with a SPL meter-is the "0" level of this signal supposed to be at +75 db or +85 db? I'm tending to think it is at +85 db. Any answers appreciated.
Vidop is offline  
post #663 of 705 Old 05-10-2014, 05:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
cyberized's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Beaverton, OR, USA
Posts: 643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I am having a Sammy 64F8500 delivered tomorrow and have been studying like crazy past few days trying to figure out HOW to break in this baby just right so I get no IR, read about running overnight slide shows, don't know how! To get to the point and the question, fro some things I read about this WOW Disc, it seemed to say there are clips of Disney Movies that you can set to LOOP on Full Screen....if this is correct, I am interested for tat ALONE.....I could then run it that way while I sleep and hasten the Break IN time.

Please tell me IF this is correct?

TKS michael;)
cyberized is offline  
post #664 of 705 Old 05-13-2014, 07:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
PM-Performance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 947
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 117
yes you can play a loop of the sceens on the disc. I ran slides on an SD card when I broke mine in.

Klipsch RF-82|RC-62|RS-52|2 SI 18's in Marty Cabs Powered by Inuke 3000DSP|
Denon AVR-X4000|Panasonic 65ST30|Panasonic BDP-220|Oppo BDP-83|Optoma HD131XE with Elite SableFrame 110"|
4 Aura Bass Shakers powered by Dayton PSA-250|4 Seatcraft 5131 seats
Apple TV3/FireTV/Chromecasts
PM-Performance is offline  
post #665 of 705 Old 05-13-2014, 12:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
cyberized's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Beaverton, OR, USA
Posts: 643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 15
THANKS! The WOW might get here by the end of this week............I downloaded one looping break in to use onto a USB but must have done something wrong because the TV sees it but does NOTHING..........I had been getting really NERVOUS about using this expensive quality HDTV w/o what many here see as a MUST way of Break IN. BUT...........my salesman, who has one, and the delivery fella, has two........both said ALL of that is totally unnecessary ........... basically said just cutback on Contrast, Brightness etc...set Pixels the Shift.....turn it on and enjoy it at lower settings until you get your 100 or so Hours and then turn it up and calibrate.
That is what I am doing now, have not noticed any burn in...........only have like 20 hours on it o far.

WOW! What a Picture.....unbelievable!
cyberized is offline  
post #666 of 705 Old 07-18-2014, 10:07 AM
Member
 
emporio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Golden State
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Guys,

i have a Samsung UN75F6400. I never could set the contrast to optimal level.
I bought this DVD yesterday and it confirmed it. When i go to section for configuring the contrast, the "ideal star" in the middle is not even close to be "almost not visible". My contrast is at the 100%.
Do you have any idea how to fix this? All other settings i am able to configure just fine.

TY in advance

Dude seriously!
emporio is offline  
post #667 of 705 Old 07-18-2014, 10:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gecko85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: California
Posts: 2,233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 95
I used the d-nice settings on my Panasonic ST60 (after appropriate burn-in time). Would it be a waste of money to get the WOW disc and see if I can further tweak the settings, or just stick with the d-nice settings and be done with it?

Panasonic TC-P60ST60, Pioneer SC-1523-K, Oppo BDP-103D, Pioneer PL-550 + Cambridge Audio Azur 640P, B&W CM1 (fronts), B&W CM Centre, Athena Point 5 Mk II (rears), Hsu VTF-2
----------------------------------------
Sony 34XBR960, Onkyo TX-NR414, Sony PS3, Athena Point 5 Mk II (center and fronts), Wharfedale WH-2 (rears), Polk PSW10
Gecko85 is offline  
post #668 of 705 Old 07-18-2014, 11:01 AM
Member
 
emporio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Golden State
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gecko85 View Post
I used the d-nice settings on my Panasonic ST60 (after appropriate burn-in time). Would it be a waste of money to get the WOW disc and see if I can further tweak the settings, or just stick with the d-nice settings and be done with it?
Gecko - i have GT50 and i used also d-nice setting on it and i like it very much. My understanding is that every panel is different, every setup, environment and personal personal preference comes to play also. I used AVHDS disk (that is free on this site), and made few tweaks that are different from d-nice and i liked the picture better.
Hope this helps.

Dude seriously!
emporio is offline  
post #669 of 705 Old 07-18-2014, 11:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gecko85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: California
Posts: 2,233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by emporio View Post
Gecko - i have GT50 and i used also d-nice setting on it and i like it very much. My understanding is that every panel is different, every setup, environment and personal personal preference comes to play also. I used AVHDS disk (that is free on this site), and made few tweaks that are different from d-nice and i liked the picture better.
Hope this helps.
Great, thanks. I guess it's cheap enough, so might as well, right?

Panasonic TC-P60ST60, Pioneer SC-1523-K, Oppo BDP-103D, Pioneer PL-550 + Cambridge Audio Azur 640P, B&W CM1 (fronts), B&W CM Centre, Athena Point 5 Mk II (rears), Hsu VTF-2
----------------------------------------
Sony 34XBR960, Onkyo TX-NR414, Sony PS3, Athena Point 5 Mk II (center and fronts), Wharfedale WH-2 (rears), Polk PSW10
Gecko85 is offline  
post #670 of 705 Old 07-18-2014, 11:08 AM
Member
 
emporio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Golden State
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gecko85 View Post
Great, thanks. I guess it's cheap enough, so might as well, right?
Even i used the free AVSHD disk, i never had regret for buying WOW Disk, it was only $20 from Amazon. Its a good and nice tool to have. Plus it has different samples to check your settings.

Dude seriously!
emporio is offline  
post #671 of 705 Old 07-18-2014, 12:38 PM
Member
 
jerrycomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by emporio View Post
Hi Guys,

i have a Samsung UN75F6400. I never could set the contrast to optimal level.
I bought this DVD yesterday and it confirmed it. When i go to section for configuring the contrast, the "ideal star" in the middle is not even close to be "almost not visible". My contrast is at the 100%.
Do you have any idea how to fix this? All other settings i am able to configure just fine.

TY in advance
I used the WOW in 4 Samsung flat screens so far and the contrast is always at 100%.
The star doesn't change at all no matter high or low.

Heck, if you have a Samsung, crank the contrast right away to max, sharpness to 0
so you'll just have the brightness, color and tint to adjust for a calibrated tv under 5 minutes.
jerrycomo is offline  
post #672 of 705 Old 08-05-2014, 03:23 PM
Senior Member
 
aracGuate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Guatemala City, Land of the Eternal Spring
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBFilms View Post


Then, set your subwoofer up facing 90 degrees away from your listening position and make sure the front center of the driver is within 1" or LESS of your listening position. This will make a big difference in your overall sound.

Then proceed to manually calibrate each speaker with a C Weighted Response using your SPL and an 83db Reference level ... and +3db over that for your sub


Mr Casey:
when you say "... the front center of the driver is within 1" (one inch) or LESS of your listening position."
please explain a little more of this.
My SW is already next (beside my legs) to my TV viewing couch. Is this near enough?

last weekend did all the calibration and SPL metering, but am I correct?

Im a little confused in this!
aracGuate is offline  
post #673 of 705 Old 08-05-2014, 03:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
cyberized's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Beaverton, OR, USA
Posts: 643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Tried using WOW's Audio Tools to setup my Surround system; I'm using a Panasonic BD anda Sony 1040 AVR..........can't do zilch with the WOW because, for example, when you go into utility to check Polarity......it starts out playing LFT FT and Center together..........using keys on the Panny Remote NO WAY to choose OR go to next set of speakers. Ran into the same thing in there other tests.....NO WAY to make the necessary choices to actually do the real setup????????
It's back to ol' fashioned method.....da ear!


TKS
cyberized is offline  
post #674 of 705 Old 08-24-2014, 10:39 PM
Senior Member
 
meli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New York City
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 11
When playing the 20Hz to 20kHz audio sweep under the "stereo" directory, I hear a loud clicking in the right channel for the last few seconds of the track. When I play the same sweep, but under the 5.1 folder, there is no clicking. So I assume the clicking is recorded on the disc. Does anyone else hear it? Be sure you're in the "stereo" directory, not 5.1 or 7.1. The clicking is only in the right channel for the last few seconds of the 20Hz to 20kHz track.

Thanks.
meli is offline  
post #675 of 705 Old 08-25-2014, 02:45 PM
Senior Member
 
meli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New York City
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If anyone is still looking for the manual online:
http://disney-wow.com/downloads.html
NickTheGreat likes this.
meli is offline  
post #676 of 705 Old 08-27-2014, 06:06 AM
Member
 
skinner84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hey guys,

I bought this solely for the Pixel Flipper as my VT60 has some logo burn in

Does the DVD version have the pixel flipper? I can't seem to find it anywhere.
skinner84 is offline  
post #677 of 705 Old 12-04-2014, 09:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 27
WOW Blu Ray is on sale for $12.98 at amazon now

2 disc version is $18.50
Ralph Potts likes this.
pitpat is offline  
post #678 of 705 Old 12-10-2014, 06:30 PM
Member
 
hanshotfirst1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I bought this disc, I'm genuinely curious, how tech savvy do I have to be? I did get the version with booklet, but my previous attempts at calibration haven't looked much different to me. Am I sitting at the wrong distance from the HDTV, watching it at the wrong angle, etc?
hanshotfirst1138 is offline  
post #679 of 705 Old 12-11-2014, 08:39 AM
Senior Member
 
MilkManX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: AZ USA
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by hanshotfirst1138 View Post
I bought this disc, I'm genuinely curious, how tech savvy do I have to be? I did get the version with booklet, but my previous attempts at calibration haven't looked much different to me. Am I sitting at the wrong distance from the HDTV, watching it at the wrong angle, etc?
It walks you through most of it pretty easily. I found it to be the easiest and user friendly self calibration disc. Even on the advanced mode which I recommend.
MilkManX is offline  
post #680 of 705 Old 12-12-2014, 01:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Audio Geek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by hanshotfirst1138 View Post
I bought this disc, I'm genuinely curious, how tech savvy do I have to be? I did get the version with booklet, but my previous attempts at calibration haven't looked much different to me. Am I sitting at the wrong distance from the HDTV, watching it at the wrong angle, etc?
The most noticeable effects of calibration (to me) generally affect color accuracy, so images should look more natural. If you're looking at images that are computer generated (animations) or not natural (color graded), then it may be hard to know what it's supposed to look like. As a start, look for flesh tones that look natural.

Ideally, you should be facing the TV head on, and at a sufficiently close distance. http://s3.carltonbale.com/resolution_chart.html

Do the calibration where you're going to be watching, and in the same environment (daytime vs. nighttime).
MilkManX likes this.
Audio Geek is offline  
post #681 of 705 Old 12-12-2014, 07:49 PM
Member
 
hanshotfirst1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I didn't realize how frigging huge this thing would be, LOL, I don't know how I'm going to movie it if I ever have to, I'll have to put it in a car and surround it with pillows or something, LOL. I can't sit far enough back from it in my bedroom, never thought that'd be a problem . So how do I figure the backlight into the calibration?
hanshotfirst1138 is offline  
post #682 of 705 Old 12-14-2014, 03:16 PM
Member
 
JohnnymoZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Received my WOW 2 disc set yesterday. I had time to sit down and play with it today. Its easy to use and instructions are well conveyed even in the advanced section. I didn't make any adjustments in the professional sections. It doesn't seem to need any further tweaking in my opinion. I would say overall, most of my settings were close though... my adjustments were fairly small. The overall results are nice, but, as stated, my settings didn't seem too far off before using the calibrations from the disc. Still, for under $24.00 shipped, it was worth the price to get a good baseline for all my settings.
MilkManX likes this.

my stuff:

Harman Kardon AVR 3600

Emotiva XPA-3

OPPO BDP-103

Klipsch RF-82II Mains

Klipsch RC 62II Center

Klipsch SS.5 L&R Surrounds

Klipsch SS.5 L&R Rear Surrounds

HSU Research VTF2-MK4 Subwoofer

Samsung UN65F8000 LED Monitor

JohnnymoZ is offline  
post #683 of 705 Old 12-14-2014, 05:52 PM
Member
 
hanshotfirst1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Disney's WOW: World of Wonder (Blu-ray) Official AVSForum Review

This is such a n00b question that I'm embarrassed to ask it, but what is the difference between graphic and video HDMI modes? What about noise reduction and dynamic contrast? Should I have them off? Should I fiddle with the white balance and color space options, or not? I've found calibrating the brightness and contrast to be fairly easy, it it's difficult to find the "right" color settings with the tests they give. I assume the "hue" and such deals with more complicated settings outside of my knowledge? On my HDTV downstairs, I have an HDMI cable connected to a very cheap DVD player, and it frankly looks appalling. Tons of noise and grain. Settings, or just the cheapness of the player? Even running the DVR at 1080i, I'm having trouble with bleeding solid colors too. They look...how do I describe it, like they're a separate piece of the screen unto themselves, chunks of color, it's odd.

Last edited by hanshotfirst1138; 12-15-2014 at 07:59 PM.
hanshotfirst1138 is offline  
post #684 of 705 Old 12-15-2014, 08:51 AM
Senior Member
 
MilkManX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: AZ USA
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by hanshotfirst1138 View Post
This is such a n00b question that I'm embarrassed to ask it, but what is the difference between graphic and video HDMI modes? What about noise reduction and dynamic contrast? Should I have them off? Should I fiddle with the white balance and color space options, or not? I've found calibrating the brightness and contrast to be fairly easy, it it's difficult to find the "right" color settings with the tests they give. I assume the "hue" and such deals with more complicated settings outside of my knowledge? On my HDTV downstairs, I have an HDMI cable connected to a very cheap DVD player, and it frankly looks appalling. Tons of noise and grain. Settings, or just the cheapness of the player? Even running the DVR at 1080i, I'm having trouble with bleeding solid colors too. They look...how do I describe it, like they're a spike piece of the screen unto themselves it's odd.
LCD? Sharpness too high maybe?
MilkManX is offline  
post #685 of 705 Old 12-15-2014, 08:01 PM
Member
 
hanshotfirst1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Disney's WOW: World of Wonder (Blu-ray) Official AVSForum Review

Don't know how accurate this is, but I've been told that generally, my best bet is to simply drop the sharpness all the way down, which is what I've done currently. As far as Audio settings, I know what SRS is, though it's never sounded much different to me, but I don't know what AVL is or whether to set the audio output to PCM, none, or raw.
MilkManX likes this.

Last edited by hanshotfirst1138; 12-16-2014 at 09:09 AM.
hanshotfirst1138 is offline  
post #686 of 705 Old 12-16-2014, 09:10 AM
Senior Member
 
MilkManX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: AZ USA
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Yeah on the LCD (Toshiba) that is in the front room for the wife and Kids I turned the sharpness to 0 and then went up to about 5(on a 20 scale I think) and it looks good. Closer to 10 it gets grainy and at 20 its a pixely mess.
MilkManX is offline  
post #687 of 705 Old 12-16-2014, 04:45 PM
Member
 
hanshotfirst1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Where could I find a pro to do calibration, and how much would it cost? I tried using the disc, but when I switched my new HDTV to "movie" mode, the colors seemed warmer and the brightness was less blown out even though the contrast was jacked way up and the color was in the middle. It was peculiar, but hey, maybe they know something I don't .
hanshotfirst1138 is offline  
post #688 of 705 Old 12-16-2014, 07:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
RickD1225's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 71
There is a thread on AVS about pro calibrators. It costs $300+, but totally worth it unless you TV was only $500. I had my Panny plasma calibrated a few years ago and it still looks fantastic. Thanks Lee Gallagher!

RickD1225 is offline  
post #689 of 705 Old 12-17-2014, 09:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gecko85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: California
Posts: 2,233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickD1225 View Post
There is a thread on AVS about pro calibrators. It costs $300+, but totally worth it unless you TV was only $500. I had my Panny plasma calibrated a few years ago and it still looks fantastic. Thanks Lee Gallagher!
I concur. I had my Sony XBR960 calibrated years ago, and it made a big difference. I think I paid just over $200 at the time.

Panasonic TC-P60ST60, Pioneer SC-1523-K, Oppo BDP-103D, Pioneer PL-550 + Cambridge Audio Azur 640P, B&W CM1 (fronts), B&W CM Centre, Athena Point 5 Mk II (rears), Hsu VTF-2
----------------------------------------
Sony 34XBR960, Onkyo TX-NR414, Sony PS3, Athena Point 5 Mk II (center and fronts), Wharfedale WH-2 (rears), Polk PSW10
Gecko85 is offline  
post #690 of 705 Old 12-17-2014, 02:41 PM
Newbie
 
90Ninety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Exclamation Disney WOW

I just got this disc set . I have a blu ray player on my HTPC . However when playing through VLC or Aurora ( Blu ray payers ) I am not seeing any calibration material . It seems that the PC skips the context menu and plays the movie samples but not calibration

Any ideas for using this disc for PC's ??
90Ninety is offline  
Reply Official AVS Forum Blu-ray Disc Reviews

Tags
Blu Ray Movies , Disney Wow World Of Wonder Blu Ray
Gear in this thread - Disney by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off