Iron Man (Blu-ray) Ultimate Edition Official AVSForum Review - Page 7 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-13-2009, 08:59 AM
Member
 
albeik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Guys! Hate to bring this old thread back up, but I maybe someone can help... So after enjoying my (first) Blu-ray player (BDP-320) playing Star Trek, Cars, The Fifth Element and Ratatouille... today I purchased Iron Man (2-Disc Ultimate Edition).

In some scenes (4 found so far) the movie just simply pauses. It's always the same scenes again and again. I wasn't sure if the disc was dirty (checked couple of times)... but it seemed clean and I just bought it.

I verified that the player is not hung - I can still click on "pop menu" and change scene and play with other settings.

BDP 320 is directly connected to the TV (Sony KDL37 XBR6) via HDMI. (No receiver is being used) All the settings are set to auto and DRC is set to off. BD-Live is disabled (no internet connection). I am also running the latest firmware version 3.34a.

I re-played the other movies and did not encounter any issues. It's just the Iron Man disc.

Anyone encountered such an issue? Suggestions?

When it's playing the other scenes the PQ/AQ is fantastic! Just amazing! thumbs up!!
albeik is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-13-2009, 12:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TheFactor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Great Northwest
Posts: 4,122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by albeik View Post

Hi Guys! Hate to bring this old thread back up, but I maybe someone can help... So after enjoying my (first) Blu-ray player (BDP-320) playing Star Trek, Cars, The Fifth Element and Ratatouille... today I purchased Iron Man (2-Disc Ultimate Edition).

In some scenes (4 found so far) the movie just simply pauses. It's always the same scenes again and again. I wasn't sure if the disc was dirty (checked couple of times)... but it seemed clean and I just bought it.

I verified that the player is not hung - I can still click on "pop menu" and change scene and play with other settings.

BDP 320 is directly connected to the TV (Sony KDL37 XBR6) via HDMI. (No receiver is being used) All the settings are set to auto and DRC is set to off. BD-Live is disabled (no internet connection). I am also running the latest firmware version 3.34a.

I re-played the other movies and did not encounter any issues. It's just the Iron Man disc.

Anyone encountered such an issue? Suggestions?

When it's playing the other scenes the PQ/AQ is fantastic! Just amazing! thumbs up!!

I dont recall any freezing when I watched it but its been a while so might have to check it out again.
TheFactor is offline  
Old 12-14-2009, 02:52 AM - Thread Starter
Blu-ray Reviewer
Moderator
 
Ralph Potts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Middletown NY
Posts: 11,745
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 900 Post(s)
Liked: 2752
Quote:
Originally Posted by albeik View Post

Hi Guys! Hate to bring this old thread back up, but I maybe someone can help... So after enjoying my (first) Blu-ray player (BDP-320) playing Star Trek, Cars, The Fifth Element and Ratatouille... today I purchased Iron Man (2-Disc Ultimate Edition).

In some scenes (4 found so far) the movie just simply pauses. It's always the same scenes again and again. I wasn't sure if the disc was dirty (checked couple of times)... but it seemed clean and I just bought it.

I verified that the player is not hung - I can still click on "pop menu" and change scene and play with other settings.

BDP 320 is directly connected to the TV (Sony KDL37 XBR6) via HDMI. (No receiver is being used) All the settings are set to auto and DRC is set to off. BD-Live is disabled (no internet connection). I am also running the latest firmware version 3.34a.

I re-played the other movies and did not encounter any issues. It's just the Iron Man disc.

Anyone encountered such an issue? Suggestions?

When it's playing the other scenes the PQ/AQ is fantastic! Just amazing! thumbs up!!

Greetings,

I haven't had any playback issues with this title. Are the problems repeatable at the same points during playback?

Regards,

Ralph C. Potts
Blu-ray Reviews
AVS Forum
My Home Theater
My DVD/HD DVD/Blu-ray Collection
Ralph Potts is offline  
Old 12-14-2009, 07:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JamE55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by albeik View Post

Hi Guys! Hate to bring this old thread back up, but I maybe someone can help... So after enjoying my (first) Blu-ray player (BDP-320) playing Star Trek, Cars, The Fifth Element and Ratatouille... today I purchased Iron Man (2-Disc Ultimate Edition).

In some scenes (4 found so far) the movie just simply pauses. It's always the same scenes again and again. I wasn't sure if the disc was dirty (checked couple of times)... but it seemed clean and I just bought it.

I verified that the player is not hung - I can still click on "pop menu" and change scene and play with other settings.

BDP 320 is directly connected to the TV (Sony KDL37 XBR6) via HDMI. (No receiver is being used) All the settings are set to auto and DRC is set to off. BD-Live is disabled (no internet connection). I am also running the latest firmware version 3.34a.

I re-played the other movies and did not encounter any issues. It's just the Iron Man disc.

Anyone encountered such an issue? Suggestions?

When it's playing the other scenes the PQ/AQ is fantastic! Just amazing! thumbs up!!

Was just watching this again a couple of nights ago and never had any problems freezing/pausing or any of that. Might be something wrong with your player maybe?
JamE55 is offline  
Old 12-15-2009, 04:38 AM
Newbie
 
sojo2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackgray View Post

The movie works. It works extremely well and it does so because of Downey. Iron Man is the best superhero film to come along since Batman Begins! [img]http://******************************************[/img]

Yes Jackgray i completely agree with you, that was one of the best superhero movie i've ever watched. Colors are perfect, i think they performed a great job in modelling the Iron Man. and one more point i would like to mark, in preparation of robotic movies with high details of modeling, if speed of the movie is higher than a ratio (human eyes has a limited capability of catching), all the details is gonna wasted. They did a good job in Iron Man with all the details and a reasonable frame rate.
sojo2009 is offline  
Old 12-15-2009, 04:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rezzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Matrix
Posts: 9,839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 979 Post(s)
Liked: 722
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackgray View Post

The movie works. It works extremely well and it does so because of Downey. Iron Man is the best superhero film to come along since Batman Begins!

Can't disagree with that..

"I knew you'd say that"...*BLAM!*
rezzy is offline  
Old 12-17-2009, 12:17 AM
Member
 
blacksapphire08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Monroe, OH
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is easily one of my favorite blu rays. As far as the freezing issue, I dont have that problem on my copy at all. Perhaps a bad copy?
blacksapphire08 is offline  
Old 12-24-2009, 07:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
croseiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,855
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
No playback problems at all here, and I've had the movie for over a year using a Sony BDP-s550. It was my 1st BD actually. I 've probably watched it 15 times, and never had a glitch with it. I have really enjoyed it and it is one of my favorites. I have to say, I watched it the other night (using the SC-27 as a pre-amp) and turned off the DRC function. Wow, it was like a totally different sound track...Much more dynamic and engaging.
croseiv is offline  
Old 04-27-2010, 07:13 AM
Member
 
justphil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Mt. Shasta, Calif
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Though I liked this movie, for some reason the Audio didn't come across as well as what was put forward by Ralph. I am not saying anything against him but for some reason I found the bass and effects very lacking on my budget set up. I have watched a few other BR's on my set up that have just literally blown me away. I wonder why my system lacked where his sailed.
Recieverenon 1610 with an older 5.1 speaker set up.
justphil is offline  
Old 04-27-2010, 07:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dave Vaughn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 5,201
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 732 Post(s)
Liked: 1081
Quote:
Originally Posted by justphil View Post

Though I liked this movie, for some reason the Audio didn't come across as well as what was put forward by Ralph. I am not saying anything against him but for some reason I found the bass and effects very lacking on my budget set up. I have watched a few other BR's on my set up that have just literally blown me away. I wonder why my system lacked where his sailed.
Recieverenon 1610 with an older 5.1 speaker set up.

If you have one of the early discs, it would default many AVRs to turn on "Night Mode" or "Dynamic Range Compression." Check your manual and turn it to "off" and I bet you're blown away by the audio.

David Vaughn Blu-ray Reviewer / Technical Writer Sound & Vision Magazine (Print & Online)
My Atmos Renovation Part 1 http://www.soundandvision.com/conten...odyssey-part-1
My Atmos Renovation Part 2 http://www.soundandvision.com/conten...odyssey-part-2
Dave Vaughn is offline  
Old 04-27-2010, 10:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mr.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sconi
Posts: 4,635
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 578 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Vaughn View Post

If you have one of the early discs, it would default many AVRs to turn on "Night Mode" or "Dynamic Range Compression." Check your manual and turn it to "off" and I bet you're blown away by the audio.

Good advice to which I would add (since I own the Denon 2309) you have to be playing the Iron Man BD in order to turn off DRC on Denon receivers, otherwise the setting to turn it on and off is not visible in the menu. I struggled with this problem for months before figuring out this simple solution. Of course it should be turned off in the Blu-ray player too. After turning off DRC the sound on this movie was terrific.

All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten Movies
Mr.G is offline  
Old 04-27-2010, 10:45 AM - Thread Starter
Blu-ray Reviewer
Moderator
 
Ralph Potts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Middletown NY
Posts: 11,745
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 900 Post(s)
Liked: 2752
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.G View Post

Good advice to which I would add (since I own the Denon 2309) you have to be playing the Iron Man BD in order to turn off DRC on Denon receivers, otherwise the setting to turn it on and off is not visible in the menu. I struggled with this problem for months before figuring out this simple solution. Of course it should be turned off in the Blu-ray player too. After turning off DRC the sound on this movie was terrific.


Greetings,

Mr.G I am sorry that you struggled with this problem for so long. I did mention it in the audio/video portion of my review (final paragraph in italics).

Regards,

Ralph C. Potts
Blu-ray Reviews
AVS Forum
My Home Theater
My DVD/HD DVD/Blu-ray Collection
Ralph Potts is offline  
Old 04-27-2010, 04:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mr.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sconi
Posts: 4,635
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 578 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralph Potts View Post

Greetings,

Mr.G I am sorry that you struggled with this problem for so long. I did mention it in the audio/video portion of my review (final paragraph in italics).

Regards,

So you did. The answer was there all along. Problem was that I purchased the Denon about a month after you published your review and I never thought to read it for the hardware solution.

All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten Movies
Mr.G is offline  
Old 04-27-2010, 05:47 PM - Thread Starter
Blu-ray Reviewer
Moderator
 
Ralph Potts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Middletown NY
Posts: 11,745
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 900 Post(s)
Liked: 2752
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.G View Post

So you did. The answer was there all along. Problem was that I purchased the Denon about a month after you published your review and I never thought to read it for the hardware solution.

Greetings,

Gotcha..


Cheers,

Ralph C. Potts
Blu-ray Reviews
AVS Forum
My Home Theater
My DVD/HD DVD/Blu-ray Collection
Ralph Potts is offline  
Old 04-28-2010, 07:02 AM
Member
 
justphil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Mt. Shasta, Calif
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hmmmmm I rented the BRD so I have no knowledge of when it was purchased. Yet again this forum proves what an invaluable resource it can be. You guys are all totally amazing.
I will look into this now as I have had a few other movies that seemed to lack some and didn't know why.
justphil is offline  
Old 04-28-2010, 02:06 PM - Thread Starter
Blu-ray Reviewer
Moderator
 
Ralph Potts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Middletown NY
Posts: 11,745
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 900 Post(s)
Liked: 2752
Quote:
Originally Posted by justphil View Post

Hmmmmm I rented the BRD so I have no knowledge of when it was purchased. Yet again this forum proves what an invaluable resource it can be. You guys are all totally amazing.
I will look into this now as I have had a few other movies that seemed to lack some and didn't know why.

Greetings,

You're more than welcome. Best of luck!


Regards,

Ralph C. Potts
Blu-ray Reviews
AVS Forum
My Home Theater
My DVD/HD DVD/Blu-ray Collection
Ralph Potts is offline  
Old 05-01-2010, 08:54 AM
Member
 
Yosemite Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 40
I created a thread on this DRC problem in the BR software thread where I found several other movies had the same DRC issue. Specifically 3 other movies I own were just as affected as Ironman. Troy, Daredevil and Black Hawk Down had all the same drastic improvement once I permently disabled DRC on my PS3 which defaults to automatic in the settings. The odd thing is that none of these movies have TrueHD as 2 are PCM and one is DTS-HD so I don't think it's just a TrueHD occurrence. For ages I couldn't figure out why these sounded like 3 star presentations where every review considered them close to 5 star presentations. Several other movies I owned also had noticeable improvements but not as pronounced as the aforementioned.

The big telltale sign it seems for any DRC issue seems to be volume level. If you have to crank it up much more than normal then DRC has been triggered and probably at fault. Now I'm just happy I found Black Hawk Down's room shattering bass that seemed to MIA in my living room when I first bought it.
Yosemite Dan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Iron Man Blu Ray , Blu Ray Movies
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off