future proof cable wiring - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 06-05-2008, 12:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sladewatts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Oregon City, OR
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm going to drywall my theater room in the near future and so am currently running wires through my walls. I'm doing component and HDMI to the pj. Is there another cable I should run now to make it more future proof? I'm setting it up so that I can always try to pull more cables through, but it will never be easier than now to do it.

On a related note, I'm growing concerned about the size of the holes I'm drilling through the 2x4s (note that they really are 2x4 as the house is 90+ years old). How big it too big? Are two smaller holes better than one big one?

Sorry if this is a redundant thread. I tried to do a search, but am feeling a bit lazy today.

Thanks a lot!

ItÂs amazing that brain can generate enough power to keep those legs moving.
sladewatts is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 06-05-2008, 12:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
oman321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: MASS
Posts: 4,772
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 39
So are you doing conduit, for future proofing? Are you planning on connecting a computer to the proj.? If so a VGA/RBG cable is in order. Also might want to run a coupled of cat5 or cat6 cable just for the sake of running them. They can be used for many things that are often an afterthought. Good luck.
oman321 is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 06-05-2008, 01:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
Weasel9992's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by oman321 View Post

So are you doing conduit, for future proofing?

When in doubt, put the conduit in. Better to have it and not need it than need it and not have it.

I also agree with the VGA/RGB idea. Will you need speaker wire in the future?

Frank

Frank Oesterheld
Weasel9992 is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 06-05-2008, 01:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
In2Photos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Monroe, NC
Posts: 1,985
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I disagree with the VGA cable. With the resolutions going above 1080 VGA is useless, is it not? DVI and HDMI are todays prominent video connections for computers. A second HDMI cable would be a better bet, since you can buy a DVI to HDMI convertor.

Mike
In2Photos is online now  
post #5 of 12 Old 06-05-2008, 01:34 PM
Senior Member
 
percept's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: CA
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by In2Photos View Post

I disagree with the VGA cable. With the resolutions going above 1080 VGA is useless, is it not? DVI and HDMI are todays prominent video connections for computers. A second HDMI cable would be a better bet, since you can buy a DVI to HDMI convertor.

vga connections are also used for monitors...which have higher resolutions than 1080, no?
percept is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 06-05-2008, 02:29 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sladewatts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Oregon City, OR
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, I'm planning on doing conduit.

Yes, I'm also doing speaker wires, but I'm not worried about upgrading them in the future (I'm assuming that's safe).

I thought about VGA, but decided against it b/c it seems like most computers have HDMI outs now, yes? I only really use the HT for DVD and Tivo, but I can see the computer as a possibility as downloads become more ubiquitous (though netflix has a box now for that too).

I don't understand how a cat6 cable would be of benefit going to a projector?

thanks.

ItÂs amazing that brain can generate enough power to keep those legs moving.
sladewatts is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 06-05-2008, 02:45 PM
Senior Member
 
BigSlade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One thing I did was I put an outlet in the ceiling by where I had my HDMI cable ran and ran a power wire to another outlet on the wall where my equipment will be located. This is a closed circuit between the two points. Now, when i install my projector I will need to make a custom power cord with male ends on both sides, one side will be plugged into my surge protector and the other will be plugged into the outlet on the wall where my equipment is located.
BigSlade is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 06-05-2008, 03:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
oman321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: MASS
Posts: 4,772
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 39
BigSlade, you should only need one male end with what you are describing. The end in your equipment area is where you should have your surge protector the male plug there would then provide power to the other end which should be a basic outlet. You then have a protected outlet for your Projector/set.
oman321 is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 06-05-2008, 03:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
oman321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: MASS
Posts: 4,772
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 39
sladewatts,

If your gonna have conduit don't worry about it, but cat5/6 can be used for several thing including IR control, svideo, component, HDMI etc...
oman321 is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 06-06-2008, 10:29 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sladewatts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Oregon City, OR
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, I went and bought 1" conduit today and couldn't even get my component video cable into it; to say nothing of the HDMI cable or anything else that I might want. But, I don't think I want to drill holes bigger than an inch through my 2x4s. What's the solution here?

Thanks!

ItÂs amazing that brain can generate enough power to keep those legs moving.
sladewatts is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 06-07-2008, 05:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
2 inch conduit it your only real option for future proofing the projector. Doesn't put your cable in it though. You want the conduit empty so that it is there if you need to run something. You can order 2" raceway online. It ain't cheap.

http://www.hometech.com/techwire/resigard.html

And btw - I ran mine through a soffit. You are right that a 2 1/4 hole in a normal stud is too big.

Cathan is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 06-07-2008, 05:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Ontario
Posts: 4,177
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 79
How about hiding a surface mounted conduit disguised in a faux ceiling beam? You build your own or use a commercial reasy to use product.

http://www.fauxwoodbeams.com/beams_regal.php
Tedd is offline  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off