Surge protector for LCD tv with recessed outlet? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 04-06-2009, 07:21 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ugatampa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a mounted LCD tv on the wall with a recessed AC outlet behind it, and I'm having trouble finding a surge protector for my set up. I've seen several surge protectors for this set up that plug right into the outlet, in which you then plug the tv into that. However, since my AC outlet is recessed, none of these types of surge protectors will work (their plugs aren't long enough to plug into the outlet itself). Any help or recommendations would be appreciated.
ugatampa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 04-06-2009, 07:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
oman321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: MASS
Posts: 4,679
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Most usually do a powerbridge. Your outlet behind your tv would'nt be powered, it would be like an extension inside your wall. See the diagram on the link below. If your handy with electrical it is an afternoon project.
http://www.powerbridgesolution.com/a...werbridge.html

However since you already have an outlet there you could simply replace it with a surge protection duplex outlet like the one on the link below.
http://images.google.com/imgres?imgu...%3Den%26um%3D1
oman321 is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 04-06-2009, 08:00 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ugatampa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks---I assume this is a pretty easy install to do? I guess its almost as easy as, say, putting a dimmer switch in one of your outlets.
ugatampa is offline  
post #4 of 17 Old 04-06-2009, 08:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
oman321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: MASS
Posts: 4,679
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Pretty, much if you are referring to replacing the outlet. Since you have an outlet there already just make not of the wires and the screws they are connected to.

Typically Black = power and goes to gold/brass colored screw. White = neautral and goes to silver screw. Green = ground and goes to green screw.
oman321 is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 04-06-2009, 08:44 AM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 20,645
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 569
Sometimes if the light is dim, you can't tell the difference between brass and silver. The easiest way for me to remember is is White =W = Wide blade on the plug.

In any case you should always use one of these to test all your outlet wiring jobs. The wires may be switched somewhere else in the house and without testing you would never know. You can pick one up for a few bucks, toss it in your tool box you will use it for decades unless you lose it or loan it out.

BIGmouthinDC is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 04-06-2009, 09:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
oman321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: MASS
Posts: 4,679
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Good tip Big,

As long as were on it, another thing to remember is the order in which one should wire the connections.

George Washington Bridge
Ground White ........Black
oman321 is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 11-25-2009, 06:01 PM
Member
 
hmmm5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i swear, i've suffered enough googling trying to find what i need. i don't know why i can't locate a recessed receptacle like this that has surge protection. keep seeing one without the other. or.....can this be swapped in with one of the recessed boxes (can't tell from picture)

http://images.google.com/imgres?imgu...%3Den%26um%3D1

levitron's got to make one (have been all through smarthome which has been a great source in the past). i do refuse to look at monster though i'm sure they sell one for $125.....
hmmm5 is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 11-25-2009, 06:03 PM
Member
 
hmmm5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
oops, here's a direct link that still works:

http://www.smarthome.com/36521/Levit...e-36521/p.aspx
hmmm5 is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 11-25-2009, 07:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
NJ Jackals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 687
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
hmmm5, if you look at the specs for the leviton, you can see that it will protect the plugs that are downstream from it. It is not quite as effective but should be fine for a tv. Just replace the plug that is just in front of your recessed plug.

EDIT: I can't find the instructions anywhere online but I recall this from the little paper insert that came in the box. I might have an extra one lying around somewhere but you can always call Leviton's support line to confirm. Tech Line: 1-800-824-3005

EDIT2: I found an extra 5380 in my office but the paper insert is missing. Better off just calling to confirm.
NJ Jackals is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 11-26-2009, 06:30 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Dennis Erskine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Near an airport
Posts: 9,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Panamax has a recessed in-wall outlet for this purpose.

Dennis Erskine CFI, CFII, MEI
Architectural Acoustics
Subject Matter Expert
Certified Home Theater Designer
CEDIA Board of Directors
www.erskine-group.com
www.CinemaForte.net
Dennis Erskine is offline  
post #11 of 17 Old 11-26-2009, 06:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
NJ Jackals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 687
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Erskine View Post

Panamax has a recessed in-wall outlet for this purpose.

I looked at the Panamax before buying the Leviton. Panamax's is rated at only 546 joules vs the Leviton's 720 and the Panamax is twice the price of the Leviton.
NJ Jackals is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 11-26-2009, 10:47 AM
Member
 
hmmm5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
could you please specify the leviton (it's recessed too?) as i've failed to find on my own?

and thanks for panamax lead.
hmmm5 is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 11-26-2009, 06:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
NJ Jackals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 687
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by hmmm5 View Post

could you please specify the leviton (it's recessed too?) as i've failed to find on my own?

and thanks for panamax lead.

No, the 5280 is not recessed. If you put it in line just in front of your recessed plug it will protect it also.

As I said:

Quote:
Originally Posted by NJ Jackals View Post

hmmm5, if you look at the specs for the leviton, you can see that it will protect the plugs that are downstream from it.

NJ Jackals is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 11-27-2009, 05:38 AM
Member
 
hmmm5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks NJ, i understand. i was just hoping to swap out the one existing outlet instead of two (the one in question with a recessed, and then one upstream with surge) but your suggestion is a good one and will save $$ compared to the one combined Panamax option.

i'm just surprised there aren't more options for a combined recessed/surge (or, why isn't the first receptacle, in a line of outlets, typically wired with surge protection?)......i'm beginning to think not necessary to have dedicated protection (behind a new plasma) and may just go with recessed...
hmmm5 is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 11-27-2009, 06:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
NJ Jackals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 687
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by hmmm5 View Post

(or, why isn't the first receptacle, in a line of outlets, typically wired with surge protection?)

because the further away you get from the surge protector, the less effective it becomes. That's why you would want to put it immediately adjacent to the plug you are most concerned about. With the leviton at 720 and the panamax at 546, you likely get the same or better protection form the leviton even though it is one plug away from your TV. In my case, the plug behind my lcd was tapped off of a plug directly below it within the same stud cavity. I bought a recessed planning on placing the leviton below the tv and the recessed behind the TV. Turned out that I did not need the recessed so I just used the Leviton behind the TV.
NJ Jackals is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 12-08-2009, 08:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
NJ Jackals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 687
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
looks like you might be able to use this single gang version of this recessed box with the leviton.

http://cableorganizer.com/arlington-...cal-boxes.html

NJ Jackals is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 05-21-2014, 11:01 AM
Member
 
thecountofzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has this been confirmed? Will the Leviton 8280 fit nicely with this recessed box?
thecountofzero is offline  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off