Adidas4275's living room home theater 4 day build - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 65 Old 08-11-2009, 09:54 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Adidas4275's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Okay guys my wife and I recently bought our first home and being the [H]ard member that I am I needed to build my own home theater. Our home is a 1900 sqf 4 bed, 2 full bath with a 2 car garage. The living room, dining room and kitchen are all one open space, which is very applealing but really difficult for light control for a projector.

I did my "homework" for about 3 months and came up with my list of equipment, most of it had to be purchase since we came from a 600 sqf 1 bedroom appartment.

Equipment List:

Projector: Epson Home Cinema 720 from Visual Apex (free extra lamp from rebate)
Projector Mount: Visual Apex Universal Projector Mount AV-818U
Speakers: 5.1 (MIA is the sub, still needs to be purchased) All from "The Speaker Company" they had good reviews over at AVSfourm for the price.
Front L R and C are IW-D5 LCR pack $159
Rear 2 are IC-5 - Pair 5.25" $39.99 pair
AVR: Onkyo 605 bought for $200 off of AVS fourm

HTPC:
CPU: AMD X2 BE-2400 45w 2.3GHZ (Friday will be replaced with an X2 245)
Motherboard: Foxconn A7GM-S
RAM: 2GB DDR2 667 2 Sticks
HDD: WD Black 640gb
ODD: LG Blu-Ray reader
PSU: Antec Smartpower
GPU: ATI 4830 Silent (motherboard doesnt do 5.1/7.1 over HDMI)


WHS:
Case: Norco 4020
CPU: Intel Celeron E1400
Motherboard: Biostar G31-M7 TE (CPU and Motherboard were bought for $50 at a Frys)
HDD: 6 750gb WD7500AAKS on Highpoint RR 2300 Raid 5 with 1 as hotspare
2 750gb WD7500AAKS on motherboard as OS and storage pool drive
Drives run at 47*C with ambient at 30*C
4TB of Useable Space with RAID5 and a hotspare
PSU: Antec 650w Earthwatt
STB: Motorola STB HD comcast box (soon to be tapped into for recording via either FireSTB, ATI Cable Card (with hack) or PVR-HD)
All speaker wiring is CL2 in-wall rated 12ga wiring from monoprice, it took 200ft for my install.
HDMI cables are also monoprice: 2 6 ft and 1 25ft

All components are in the closet of the next bedroom, I will either build my own rack or buy a MA rack, depending on the $$ flow soon.....

And I have a logitech 890 RF remote that will be here on friday ( i was looking at the 900, but $400 vs $150 for basically the same function)

Here are some Pics:

My little sister who is around 5'1" for reference






























I know I still need to level the PJ, my father took back his ladder and I have not bought one yet!!!! Soon. This build took 4 days from start to finish


Sorry for the crappy iphone 3g pics, when blinds come i will post some pics with a real camera


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ ++++++++++++++++++++++++
UPDATE 1/8/2010
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ ++++++++++++++++++++++++

Okay so i started the long and expensive jouney into home automation. I recently purchased Home Seer Pro (they had a sale) and I got 2 ELO USB glass capacitive touchscreens to mount on/in the wall.

I found the touchscreens on ebay for $40 a piece (buy it now 8% CB) + shipping so I bought 2 (one is not being used and will be installed later)


I decided on homeseer for a couple reasons..... it is DIY/end user friendly, it has been around for a while, it has an active forum and community, many, many, many plugins and it is completely customizable.....

So i spent about 10 hrs creating some touchscreen with HStouch and linking them to WMP on my WHS which was a little bit of a pain to get installed and a weather screen. So far i have found HStouch and homeseer pro to be very useable and because of a good forum it is easy to find answers to easy problems.

I bought 5 homepro z-wave light switches that were suppost to be here yesterday but have not arrived and will be controlled via the touch pannel.

I installed the pannel with normal 12-2 romex a new work box and a plug. I didnt get any pics of drywalling the inside, mainly because i suck at drywall and it looks bad but no one will ever see it as it is behind the screen. The screen is mounted in the wall and it sticks out about 3/4" similar to a picture frame.

I have a CL2 monoprice 35' VGA cable and a set of monoprice USB--> CATx extenders for the touchscreen

It is in the livingroom/dinningroom/kitchen open space and is next to the hallway leading to the master suite.

Okay here are some pics:
so i am switching to live drive for hosting and this is the 3rd time posting these..... dumb live drive and its web links that dont link to the photo and the preview (small res) photos you cannot link to either....























Once the lightswitches arrive I will finish the lighting control screen and have all the lights in that main room controlled via the touchscreen and 7MC state.

Future Upgrades:

Z-wave thermostate
motion/temp sensors
z-wave light switches in each room
z-wave door lock
z-wave door/window sensors
install 2nd touchscreen in the hallway near the garage
ip webcam with motion detection for the front door


Program homeseer to work how i want it
Adidas4275 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 65 Old 08-11-2009, 11:13 PM
Member
 
xCHRISx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nice job, very similar to what I'm going to try and accomplish in my basement. I have a giant hole in the wall from the previous owners 60" CRT HDTV so I'm going to put in a built-in shelving unit with an electric screen exactly like you guys did.

Looks good!

LNT4661F
PS3, X360, Wii
Pioneer HTP-2990 5.1 Surround
xCHRISx is offline  
post #3 of 65 Old 08-12-2009, 06:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
oman321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: MASS
Posts: 4,643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Looks like a proffesional install, very nice job. Awesome HTPC and WHS solution that has been the trend around here lately. At first I thoght that space looked small but you can see the size a little better with the ladder and you folks in front of it. Enjoy.
oman321 is online now  
post #4 of 65 Old 08-12-2009, 06:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CDLehner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Dark Side of the Moon-Right Side of the Bay, MD
Posts: 8,962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 288
Dood...you don't plan to keep your Norco on the CARPET like that, do you?

CD

Music is a moral law. It gives soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and charm and gaiety to life and to everything. -Plato
CDLehner is online now  
post #5 of 65 Old 08-12-2009, 12:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 737
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great job for the time frame, and I love how dual purpose the room still seems. However your reciever is going to cook your STB.
Vcook is offline  
post #6 of 65 Old 08-12-2009, 06:21 PM
Senior Member
 
TheCableMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bellevue, NE
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What kind off wood did you use?

Always Up for a Good Zombie Flick
TheCableMan is offline  
post #7 of 65 Old 08-12-2009, 06:24 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Adidas4275's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The Built in is 118"x80"

screen is a 100" Vmax2 Elite screen


Quote:
Originally Posted by CDLehner View Post

Dood...you don't plan to keep your Norco on the CARPET like that, do you?

CD

No i do not, I am hoping that I am able to build a temp wood rack for my stuff this weekend and then eventually buy a nice MA rack....

my closet is too small to mount the rack perpindicular to the space so I will be making some sort of custom rack.... I was dreaming of having a slide out rotating MA rack.... but that might just be dreaming...




Quote:
Originally Posted by Vcook View Post

Great job for the time frame, and I love how dual purpose the room still seems. However your reciever is going to cook your STB.

Yeah my STB is hot! with that Onkyo 605, it is hotter than my WHS and my HTPC put together.... it will be taken care of by a temp wood rack with lots of fans



i bought stain grade 20" deep birch from Lowes.... it is glulam.

Then I primed all the wood, prior to building, and then painted with a semi-gloss white...... it's the paint we have on our baseboards in our home. We will be framing in all the windows in the house with the same trime that the media cabinet was trimed in and also installed crown molding over winter break.
Adidas4275 is offline  
post #8 of 65 Old 08-14-2009, 04:49 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Adidas4275's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Adidas4275 is offline  
post #9 of 65 Old 08-20-2009, 10:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
spivonious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lancaster, PA, USA
Posts: 1,941
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That looks really great! I like how the screen is completely hidden when raised.

What's behind the wall? Was the recessed space already there?
spivonious is offline  
post #10 of 65 Old 08-20-2009, 10:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pocoloco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,028
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Very nice work! Are you planning to eventually put a flat screen where the picture is? It's perfect made for that.
pocoloco is online now  
post #11 of 65 Old 08-20-2009, 10:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Johnsteph10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 4,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
That is incredibly sharp and what a cool idea for a multi-use space.

During the day -- looks like built-in shelves with display pieces....at night...the dark side comes out and the screen comes down.

John

Loganed...finally. 6/6/08
My 3.0 HT Build Thread
Johnsteph10 is online now  
post #12 of 65 Old 08-20-2009, 11:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Smitty2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Looks fantastic! Innovative and sharp!
Smitty2k1 is offline  
post #13 of 65 Old 08-20-2009, 06:03 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Adidas4275's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by spivonious View Post

That looks really great! I like how the screen is completely hidden when raised.

What's behind the wall? Was the recessed space already there?


yeah the recess was there and the cabinet company that did the rest of the house wanted close to $6,000 to build something that was 10'x6' to fit in there. it cost us about $500 for the cabinet. (so far)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pocoloco View Post

Very nice work! Are you planning to eventually put a flat screen where the picture is? It's perfect made for that.

Yeah, when i designed it I used a 52" pioneer plasma as a reference. So it will fit a wall mounted 52" TV in there. There is already cat6, HDMI, RG6 and power to the area. right now its all behind plywood, but if we ever wanted to add a TV we could.

Right now we dont watch enough TV to justify it. The Epson 720 and Screen was only $1300 for both, so it was a "in stead of" purchase at this point.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnsteph10 View Post

That is incredibly sharp and what a cool idea for a multi-use space.

During the day -- looks like built-in shelves with display pieces....at night...the dark side comes out and the screen comes down.

Thank, it took me a while to draw out all the plans to make sure everything fit and looked how I wanted it to. Then it was just up to me actually build it.



honestly the WAF was so high on this project it was great. My wife loves that the TV is not the center of attention when people come over.... well until we want it to be.... then it is not just the center of attention but everone stops what they were doing to watch.

the first 5 mins of Fast and the Furrious 3 is great to watch in 5.1 on a 100" HD screen
Adidas4275 is offline  
post #14 of 65 Old 08-20-2009, 07:07 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rboster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 17,532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Job well done. Really clean well incorporated build as a livingroom HT.

"Retired" AVS Moderator
rboster is offline  
post #15 of 65 Old 08-20-2009, 09:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kezug's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 2,290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Very nice job! I love the clean look and it has the appearance of being done professionally. To bad, you could not hide the projector somehow for a totally clean install.

Question: why did you bother painting that cubby hole in the first place... ? I have to laugh, because I completely mudded and tapped my front wall when I was going to put up a permanent screen on it anyway...still scratching my head why I bothered to do that.
kezug is offline  
post #16 of 65 Old 08-20-2009, 10:40 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Adidas4275's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rboster View Post

Job well done. Really clean well incorporated build as a livingroom HT.

Thanks, comming from a mod that it cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by kezug View Post

Very nice job! I love the clean look and it has the appearance of being done professionally.

Question: why did you bother painting that cubby hole in the first place... ? I have to laugh, because I completely mudded and tapped my front wall when I was going to put up a permanent screen on it anyway...still scratching my head why I bothered to do that.

Thanks... as for the paint... my little sister needed something to do and we were not sure if we wanted a wood backing or the wall to show through. So we painted it, knowing that if we stuck with the wood backing your wouldnt see it anyways. Also we knew we wanted to paint the bullnose so there is clean paint line between the trim molding and the wall.

yeah it was extra paint but that is okay
Adidas4275 is offline  
post #17 of 65 Old 08-23-2009, 06:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
landshark1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 1,438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 56
landshark1 is offline  
post #18 of 65 Old 08-23-2009, 10:25 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Adidas4275's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by landshark1 View Post

really professional like job!! and great design too!!

it would be even better with a flat screen on the shelf!! really, the cool factor is well worth it!!



it is setup for a LCD, LED or plasma 52" on the shelf. So if day time viewing isnt up to par with it being a living room and not really light controlled then i will buy a TV

we just got blinds today so will will post some new pics tomorrow with a real camera of the image with the blind open and closed.
Adidas4275 is offline  
post #19 of 65 Old 08-24-2009, 06:08 AM
Member
 
Bin.cue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Congratulations on a well executed project. This is exactly the setup I'm looking to implement and it's nice to get some great ideas from your work. Good job!
Bin.cue is offline  
post #20 of 65 Old 08-24-2009, 04:15 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Adidas4275's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bin.cue View Post

Congratulations on a well executed project. This is exactly the setup I'm looking to implement and it's nice to get some great ideas from your work. Good job!

thanks, thats why i posted.... be sure to post pics of your build... i got a lot of my ideas from othre posts on here and hardforum
Adidas4275 is offline  
post #21 of 65 Old 08-25-2009, 10:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cuzed2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 4,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Adidas,

Very nice - well done "multipurpose screen wall" - very clean !

Cuzed2
Check out a video of my theater here
CuznEddy Cinema
Officially Hanesamatized on 8/1/09

cuzed2 is offline  
post #22 of 65 Old 08-26-2009, 03:12 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Adidas4275's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am using a harmony 890 and everytime I switch from TV to HTPC it tells the screen to go down.... which it already is, so i think that over time will stress the motor and cause it to burn out..

I was thinking a 12v wire from the PJ to the screen would be better...

ah... back into the attic at 100*C outside

also I ordered a IR power switch for my HTPC so that I could actually turn the HTPC on and off and no sleep states...
http://www.simerec.com/

we will see how well it works, I am still trying to get my WAF higher..
Adidas4275 is offline  
post #23 of 65 Old 08-27-2009, 07:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 737
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Remove the "screen down" function from all your macros and make it a separate function soft button within each activity. Sure you'll have an extra button to push when starting things up initially but it's a simple fix for your problem.
Vcook is offline  
post #24 of 65 Old 08-27-2009, 11:30 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Adidas4275's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
yeah, not waht i am looking for.... i am trying to prolong the longevity of my equipment and increase WAF.... that only increases longevity... it definately does not make it easier to operate...


I think I am going to run a 12v on swtich from the PJ to the Screen..... I got mono 1/4" jack extenders to extend the 890 IR blasters to the PJ so you dont have to point the remote at the PJ anymore.... i just need to get the energy to go up in the attic.... living in the Fresno,CA sucks for attic work
Adidas4275 is offline  
post #25 of 65 Old 08-27-2009, 11:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
oman321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: MASS
Posts: 4,643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 23
That's strange really, the harmony should know the screen is down and that it need not send the command again. Something seems to be off in the settings.

What does it do when you go from HTPC to TV?
oman321 is online now  
post #26 of 65 Old 08-27-2009, 12:17 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Adidas4275's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
it doesnt know, it send the signal again... I can hear the motor click on.

also even though my Epson PJ is on HDMI it changes the input to HDMI again.... it takes around 1.5 sec to get the signal again when switching....

I sent a tech request to logitech and they reconfigured my settings for the PJ.....

I had to manually add the screen command to the activies as well... should it automatically know to put the screen down or up?
Adidas4275 is offline  
post #27 of 65 Old 11-09-2009, 11:22 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Adidas4275's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11


recently built a temp "rack" and added a tripplite UPS (not pictured)

and I just got a Dell Keyboard, Trackball, 15" LCD 1U console from ebay for $99 shipped that I will be installing soon



also added the IR switch i linked above and it works great... the harmony remote can now power on (from full off state) and off the HTPC and with that 640gb back drive its boot is fast enough to save the WAF.... a SSD would be better

here is my review on that IR switch
http://www.missingremote.com/index.p...=4113&Itemid=1
Adidas4275 is offline  
post #28 of 65 Old 11-10-2009, 06:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
oman321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: MASS
Posts: 4,643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Hey Adidas, I never saw your reply to my post just above. Have you sorted out the Harmony issues with the screen?

You mentioned you had to manually add the screen to the activities? You should have made the screen a Generic Device add all its commands and then make the device part of the appropiate activities. The smart state should then know when that device is on (screen down) and leave it as such when switching to another activity using the same device.

If you've worked it out, never mind
oman321 is online now  
post #29 of 65 Old 11-11-2009, 03:12 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Adidas4275's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
havent done anything with it yet. I will be climbing into the actic soon to run ir blasters to the screen and PJ so that the remote will work with RF for the 2 devices.... then i dont have to point it at the screen.

when i do I will redo the screen programming. I think i added it as an applicance since it showed up with the manufacturer and product under that category.

Ill post my results when i update it..... thanksgiving break probably...

thanks
Adidas4275 is offline  
post #30 of 65 Old 11-11-2009, 06:27 PM
Senior Member
 
ragged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Wow, one of the best true "still a living room" installs I've seen.
ragged is online now  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off