Connecting my PC to both TV and Projector using reciever - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 12-30-2009, 04:18 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
a_handa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi
I have a media center PC (with both HDMI and DVi out) , Onkyo 160 receiver and a projector with only component input.

I want to connect my PC to both TV (for normal use) and projector for occasional use.

I have connected the HDMI out of my PC to one of the HDMI inputs of the receiver. HDMI out of the reciver is connected to TV and component out is connected to projector.

TV works fine , but I don't get any picture on projector which I beleive is because the receiver cannot downgrade from HDMI to component.

If I just connect the PC and receiver with component as well as HDMI then will my projector and TV both work.

Thanks
a_handa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 12-30-2009, 05:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
xzener's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I have an EVGA 8600GTS. I output VGA to my HDTV, and use.... bare with me... A DVI to HDMI out from the video card to my ASUS Xonar (for HD audio) then out to my Onkyo AVR. The AVR outputs HDMI (full 1080p) to my Optoma HD20.

The AVR (in cunjuction with my Harmony remote) outputs audio for both HDTV and the PJ utilizing the HDMI audio.

It sounds a bit confusing when I type it. Setting it up wasn't so bad.

Quote:
Originally Posted by a_handa View Post

a projector with only component input.

They do have DVI to component cables dont they, maybe you could try those?
xzener is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 12-31-2009, 07:18 AM
Senior Member
 
3Z3VH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by xzener View Post

...
They do have DVI to component cables dont they, maybe you could try those?

DVI to Component cables require an analog signal to be sent over the DVI.

The DVI standard has three types:
- DVI-D which is a purely digital signal, and uses half the pins in the DVI connector
- DVI-A which is an analog signal, and uses the other half of the pins in the connector
- DVI-I which specifies a cable or port that supports both DVI-A and DVI-D concurrently.

Once you adapt a DVI signal to HDMI, you are utilizing only the DVI-D signal... trying to, then, adapt the signal to component would give you nothing because you already discarded the analog signal.
3Z3VH is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 12-31-2009, 07:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Mr_Mike_P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will your receiver convert Component to HDMI? Just hook up the PC w/ Component maybe and tell the RCVr to output via HDMI or Component as needed.

What about this....


PC (HDMI) -> Receiver -> TV
PC (Comp) -> Projector (directly)

then tell the PC to mirror the outputs so it sends out the same visual on both Component and HDMI?
Mr_Mike_P is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 12-31-2009, 11:23 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
a_handa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Actually I was thinking of doing this so that I can add more devices later which I want to watch on projector. Later I can just plug in more devices to the receiver and use projector component as the output.

PC (HDMI) -> Receiver (HDMI)-> TV (HDMI)
PC (DVI) -> Receiver (Comp) -> Projector (Comp)

Will this work ?
a_handa is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 12-31-2009, 12:24 PM
Senior Member
 
3Z3VH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
As long as you aren't passing audio through the HDMI, you should be fine.

If you ARE using the HDMI for audio, check to see if you can select HDMI as the audio input while Component is the video... some receivers can do this, others can't.
3Z3VH is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 01-01-2010, 07:15 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
a_handa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes for the HDMI connection I am using it for both video and audio. For the component connection I can put a additional digital coaxial audio from PC to receiver.
a_handa is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 01-01-2010, 07:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
xzener's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 28
My HDMI audio works for both VGA (browsing the net, MCE on HDTV) and the HDMI connected projector. My AVR has the ability to select the audio input source for any video input.
xzener is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 01-08-2010, 03:30 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
a_handa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried connecting the DVI-Component to the projector but am getting a very low resolution 640-480 and lots of image flickering. What can I do to fix this issue ?
a_handa is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 01-08-2010, 04:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
xzener's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 28
How long is the cable from the HTPC to the PJ?? You can get video degradation from cables. I'm running a 35 ft HDMI from my AVR to my PJ. It has a beautiful 1080p@24/60 picture.

I tried a 35 ft VGA cable with horrible results, ground loop. So I mainly use VGA for browsing the internet, and HDMI for watching movies.

I would recommend a new PJ, you can pickup an Optoma HD20 for $999.
xzener is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 01-11-2010, 09:40 AM
Member
 
fsullivan3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am also wanting to connect my pc (along with other components) to my receiver, which would then output via HDMI to my projector.

From what I understand, a simple VGA to component cable will not work. I will need a video card to output a Component signal, and an adapter VGA to Component, right?
fsullivan3 is offline  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off