Great Dane Cinema aka Brent's Budget Theater - Page 8 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 224 Old 08-12-2013, 09:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
djkest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by meyer64 View Post

Today is the day! I'm anxiously awaiting the arrival of my new Panasonic ae8000u. The next couple hours can't go by fast enough!

Will you be able to hook it up and watch a movie, or are there other things you'll have to do before you can play with it?
djkest is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 224 Old 08-12-2013, 09:44 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 47
I should be able to set it up right away. I already have the mount and all cabling in place from my old projector. Hopefully it will be pretty quick to get it up and running. I picked up a couple pair of xpand 3d glasses for $12 to test out too.
meyer64 is online now  
post #213 of 224 Old 08-12-2013, 09:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Larry M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 1,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by meyer64 View Post

Today is the day! I'm anxiously awaiting the arrival of my new Panasonic ae8000u. The next couple hours can't go by fast enough!

Congrats!

It is exciting...I remember when I received my projector a year and a half ago....it still sits in a pretty box
Larry M is offline  
post #214 of 224 Old 08-12-2013, 07:24 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 47
I have the new projector installed, up and running! I have the lens memory function set for 16:9 and 2.35:1 ratios. I'm surprised how quickly it can detect and automatically switch between the two. It works really well for my setup. Brightness is greatly improved over my old 700u. The 8000u is very watchable with some ambient light, something I had issues with before. Unfortunately, it also makes the difference between bluray and DVD much more noticeable, so it looks like i'll be expanding my bluray library too smile.gif
meyer64 is online now  
post #215 of 224 Old 08-12-2013, 08:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
djkest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by meyer64 View Post

I have the new projector installed, up and running! I have the lens memory function set for 16:9 and 2.35:1 ratios. I'm surprised how quickly it can detect and automatically switch between the two. It works really well for my setup. Brightness is greatly improved over my old 700u. The 8000u is very watchable with some ambient light, something I had issues with before. Unfortunately, it also makes the difference between bluray and DVD much more noticeable, so it looks like i'll be expanding my bluray library too smile.gif

I went from 250 DVDs and 0 blu-rays, to 365 blu-rays and 100 DVDs in a couple of years. I made a post a while back about cheap ways to upgrade your collection to blu-ray. But yeah I've noticed SD content doesn't look so good on the big screen. No amount of "upscaling" can fix it. smile.gif
djkest is offline  
post #216 of 224 Old 08-15-2013, 09:57 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 47
More cheap automation! I decided that I wanted the theater to be as easy to use as possible. And i have always been annoyed that I needed to walk over to the equipment room to turn on my HTPC and subwoofer amplifier. My receiver is connected to my network and has an iPad app, so i can power it up that way or using the remote via IR repeaters. The iNuke amp i have running my sub does not have an auto turn on feature, just a bush button on/off toggle. So, I picked up a current sensing switched outlet off ebay to take care of turning the amp on when my receiver turns on.
But turning on my pc automatically was going require another custom solution. so I built this:


It simulates a button press using relay when it gets +12v from the trigger output of the receiver. The other relay opens the circuit once the pc has powered on. so turning the receiver on and off wont send more button presses. I configured the 12 trigger to only go high when the HDMI input for the HTPC is active, so i can still use the reciever for other sources without the HTPC turning on. Its pretty slick.
meyer64 is online now  
post #217 of 224 Old 09-16-2013, 07:57 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Finally, some more progress!
Tonight I put together the first of the grilles for the columns. I wasn't sure if my construction plan would work so I just started with one.
First, I built the frame. Basically, I built a top and bottom plate using 1/2 plywood and corner trim to create an overhang.
Since my corners probably aren't exactly 45 degrees, I opted to use round dowels for the front supports to allow for more margin of error.
I added some blocks at the ends of the dowels for added strength. The assembly is glued and finish nailed together.


I used some automotive body filler to fill in the gaps and sanded the corner trim to match the radius of the dowel.
IMG_8419Large_zpsb5bcabd3.jpg

Then, I stretched the fabric over the frame. Here you can see how the fabric is installed around the corner trim overhang.


And the finished grille panel.
IMG_8421Large_zpscd8935d8.jpg

And here it is, friction fit in its new home. The grille stays put very well on its own, but is still easily removable to access the speaker which it hides.
IMG_8424Large_zpsab502b38.jpg

IMG_8428Large_zpscaa05fa1.jpg

IMG_8436Large_zpsad607d28.jpg
meyer64 is online now  
post #218 of 224 Old 09-17-2013, 01:19 AM
AnalysisParalysis Analyst
 
TMcG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,527
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 244
TMcG is offline  
post #219 of 224 Old 09-23-2013, 09:28 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 47
The rest of the column grilles are assembled and installed. Now I don't need to look at bare speakers anymore smile.gif I didn't mention it in my previous post, but the clearance inside the column is pretty slim. I had to remove the factory grilles from the speakers to get them to fit without hitting the column grille face. There is only about 1/2 in clearance.

Here's a shot of the room as it looks now.
Spaceman likes this.
meyer64 is online now  
post #220 of 224 Old 10-21-2013, 07:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FantaXP7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,032
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
This is fantastic, well done!

What kit did you purchase for the fiber optic stars? I have seen a few and I am not sure what to get or how many.

Thanks
FantaXP7 is online now  
post #221 of 224 Old 10-23-2013, 04:56 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
meyer64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by FantaXP7 View Post

This is fantastic, well done!

What kit did you purchase for the fiber optic stars? I have seen a few and I am not sure what to get or how many.

Thanks

I didn't really use a 'kit'. I used two of the coolsky LED illuminators and purchased three different sizes of fiber on spools. it did take quite a bit of planning to figure out how much fiber to get. The amount you will need will greatly depend on your layout size and how dense you want the star field.
meyer64 is online now  
post #222 of 224 Old 10-26-2013, 03:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FantaXP7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,032
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by meyer64 View Post

[quote name="FantaXP7" url="/t/1221305/great-dane-cinema-aka-brents-budget-theater/210#post_23862537"]This is fantastic, well done!What kit did you purchase for the fiber optic stars? I have seen a few and I am not sure what to get or how many.Thanks[/quote]I didn't really use a 'kit'. I used two of the coolsky LED illuminators and purchased three different sizes of fiber on spools. it did take quite a bit of planning to figure out how much fiber to get. The amount you will need will greatly depend on your layout size and how dense you want the star field.

Cool. Any chance you could link me the materials?

Thanks

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk
FantaXP7 is online now  
post #223 of 224 Old 10-29-2013, 01:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
Daniel Chaves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: LA (Valley Village)
Posts: 705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 58
wow this is looking great and gave me some more ideas. ^_^ *subscribed

Daniel Chaves is offline  
post #224 of 224 Old 11-06-2013, 02:09 PM
Member
 
dRwOOD73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Southeast PA
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I just got caught up on your thread - the theater really looks great.

dRwOOD73 is offline  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off