Popping Breaker Problems 15A AFCI - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 37 Old 02-16-2010, 02:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ctviggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post

We built our house in 2001/2, so thankfully we did not need to install these.. another scam for the local inspector / city and a useless expense. They did get us on fire detectors, we have 12 in our house all connected in series.

12 fire detectors? Why so many?

Bob
ctviggen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 37 Old 02-16-2010, 03:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Speedskater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 2,011
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
OK, let's get back to basics!
First not all US jurisdictions are under NEC 2008 (soon to be NEC 2011).
Some are under older codes, some have additions or subtractions to code and some are not under NEC at all.

There are 3 basic types of circuit trips:

a) Over current. It may take over 3 hours for a slight current overload or almost instantaneously for a large current overload to shut-down.

b)GFCI. A ground fault is when all the "hot" lead current does not return through the "neutral" wire. Some power conditioners can cause GF shut-downs by dumping the noise current to the safety ground causing a "hot" to "neutral" current imbalance.

c)AFCI. These are sparks. Small older electrical equipment with motors like hair dryers or food blenders can cause Arc Fault shut-downs.

Kevin
Speedskater is offline  
post #33 of 37 Old 02-16-2010, 03:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,611
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctviggen View Post

12 fire detectors? Why so many?

One for each bedroom, one at the top of each staircase, on in the theater and basement.

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is offline  
post #34 of 37 Old 02-20-2010, 06:46 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jamiewilson3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ft Mill, SC
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A quick update.....

I disconnected the DTV STB to simplify things to eliminate the potential that the DTV coax is leaking the current.

I have not had a chance to run a leakage current experiment, but I will try and get to it some time this coming week. In the meantime, I replaced the AFCI breaker with a standard breaker as a stop gap. I will post the results of powering up each piece of equipment once I get that done.
jamiewilson3 is offline  
post #35 of 37 Old 02-20-2010, 07:54 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,611
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiewilson3 View Post

A quick update.....

I disconnected the DTV STB to simplify things to eliminate the potential that the DTV coax is leaking the current.

I have not had a chance to run a leakage current experiment, but I will try and get to it some time this coming week. In the meantime, I replaced the AFCI breaker with a standard breaker as a stop gap. I will post the results of powering up each piece of equipment once I get that done.

I'll bet your stop gap becomes your permanent solution...

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is offline  
post #36 of 37 Old 02-20-2010, 10:00 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jamiewilson3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ft Mill, SC
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am guessing that you are right. Again, I dont know that I will be able to fix/find the true source of the problem, but if I can, then I can. I did some google research, and I am not the first person to encounter the problem. If you search some electrician forums, it comes up from time to time.

I am just glad that I know enough to be able to do some diagnostics and also swap out a breaker, rather than pay someone to do it. It would have been a nice little bill, even to get this far. And I have access to a decent multimeter, which would cost me a nice $$ as well.
jamiewilson3 is offline  
post #37 of 37 Old 06-12-2013, 09:37 AM
Newbie
 
ElectricTechAL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If neutral and ground wires come in contact with each other it will trip your breaker. I would try disconnecting the cable to the satellite box and see if it will stay on. Some times a neutral can get mixed with the ground from the tv cable in newer televisions as to where before your older tv didn't even have a ground prong on it's cord
ElectricTechAL is offline  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off