Is this plan practical?

• Yes

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No

Votes: 0 0.0%

Help me design my home theater - planning stage

27K views 147 replies 19 participants last post by  DIYHomeTheater 
#1 ·
I am a novice at designing theaters, and am self-taught by gleaning information from the Web for doing this. I have developed a design for my basement home theater and welcome any insights based on design reviews by the excellent comments people have made on this forum. My design principles are as follows:
  • Get the largest acoustically transparent screen as possible for the space available. Recognize that projectors may be too expensive today for such a large screen, but prices will eventually fall. I can change projectors, but not screens and false walls easily.
  • Trade a perfect' expensive- for an 80% good' reasonably-priced solution
  • Use the lessons learned from others

Accordingly, my plan (see attached floor plan) in no particular order (although I paid the most importance to the screen and seating) is as follows:

Room
  • Finished dimensions 28'5 long, 17' 11 wide, 8' 7-3/4 high
  • Carpet on floor
  • No lights in the ceiling, but sconces on the walls
  • A 6 high stage in front of the screen

Room Acoustics
  • According to Auralex Acoustics Inc., a 29' 10 room length delivers the most ideal frequency response between the possible dimensions listed' based on a similar plan
  • Room sound isolation to be achieved through RC channels , two 5/8 drywall panels with Green Glue in between
  • Mineral fiber between floor joists in ceiling? Not sure about this. (update 1/26/11: Installed R-19 in ceiling and R-13 in walls on advice of the Soundproofing Company. Was not expensive: Material cost ~$300. Seems like an entirely worthwhile thing to do based on its property to absorb low frequency bass)
  • Auralex-recommended schedule consisting of S3PP ProPanels, S3CT corner traps and SpaceCouplers suspended from the ceiling as follows (from Auralex):