Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 1026 Old 04-05-2010, 07:15 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14

****EDIT****

Here is the "TLDR-CLC". (To Long Didn't Read - Current Level of Completion)

Alright heres the story...

My brother found this house for me in august of 2008. Id been working for a small company flipping houses and managing rentals, so I've got some experience in contracting. Its a two story brick home right on main street in a tiny little town (one stop light).

It was banked owned and they wanted almost nothing for it...problem is...haha it was a total redo. Long story short, My wife and I didn't have the cash to buy the home, so my parents purchased it and are fronting the money for the reno, but I am doing all the work on it. When I say all the work, haha i mean all. The only thing I've had hired out was the new ductwork for the existing furnace. (the old duct work was a mess but thats another story.)

Putting a dedicated theater in an old home like this is a challenge...especially when you have next to no extra money to spend. But I'm making do. The main reason for this post is to show the progression of my theater that im finally getting to start on after about 1.5 years of reno to the rest of the house. I think ill include some other pictures of the rest of the reno as well.

I'm hoping for some moral support as well! The rest of my family doesn't feel the same passion for home theater that i do.

Here is an old post that i had started a while back with some before and afters mostly of the upstairs.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1196004

I'm not going to be able to go full tilt like a lot of you other dedicated HTers out there. Sound proofing and acoustical treatments are not in the budget for this theater, however I do see a projector in my near future :-)

On to the Pics