Exterous' Small Theater Build - now with soda fountain construction! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes

post #1 of 84 Old 06-20-2010, 07:26 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've had the equipment for over a year and a half without a proper place for it courtesy of the demise of my previous electronics retailer employer. Thanks to this wonderful forum many grand ideas have been stuffed in my head about what I could build to house it. Sadly the CFO declined most of those

To be fair it makes sense. I have very little 'handyman' experience. I have built a workbench, hung some ceiling fans/light fixtures....yep - that's about it. We are also fairly young and my wifes job status seems to be perpetually endangered. Add in planned trips abroad and the budget shrinks to around $2500 for the room (minus electronics).

Since I will be learning along the way I figured a more straight-forward room would be the best way to learn - that way when we do have the budget for a better room I will be less likely to screw things up

So here we are.

The room will be 11'6"x19'6" with a new room to the side to house the electronics:
Epson Home Cinema 1080
Onkyo TS-XR 706
Panasonic BD60
Custom HTPC
PSB T65 towers with the C-60 center
BA CR67B surrounds (might be replaced with PSB surrounds if $ permits)

You can see the door to what will be a closed off storage area on the left. (Between the 1st and 2nd columns on the left)There will be another door leading off to the equipment room in the storage area. The equipment room will butt up against the home theater where the front left column is. Due to my foundation there really isn't a great location for the equipment farther back so I hope to be able to construct a swing out portion of that first column to reveal the electronics when need be