Home Theater Demo Disc - Version 2.0 - Page 6 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 1679 Old 06-24-2011, 03:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
superleo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX - USA
Posts: 2,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrapladm View Post

Just wondering but will this disc be region free or no?

I am in Australia so I wondered if I could use the disc?

Unless Steve purposely makes it, or assigns it a region, it should be region free and copy protected free.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."
Screening Room - The Dream House
RPCRT-TV Overscan Reduction
Reference Blu-Ray Demo Disc

Reference 2: Blu-Ray Demo Disc

The Best of the Demo Discs Demo Disc

superleo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 1679 Old 06-24-2011, 06:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chrapladm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Awesome Thanks!!
chrapladm is offline  
post #153 of 1679 Old 06-26-2011, 03:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrapladm View Post

Awesome Thanks!!

Don't you have the first one?

Downloadable FREE demo discs:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475769/de...ently-authored 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #154 of 1679 Old 06-26-2011, 04:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chrapladm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 68
No.

I remember reading about it a while back and then with family and things sort of forgot about it. Then I saw it again while searching for other stuff. So hopefully this time I will be able to get this new version.
chrapladm is offline  
post #155 of 1679 Old 06-26-2011, 06:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Geezer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SFV, CA
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This has become me favorite disc. Just bought a new tv and use it to demo my system daily. Thanks again.
Geezer is offline  
post #156 of 1679 Old 06-26-2011, 06:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
amarshonarbangla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geezer View Post

This has become me favorite disc. Just bought a new tv and use it to demo my system daily. Thanks again.

The 2nd disc hasn't been released yet. Do you mean the first disc is your favorite?
amarshonarbangla is offline  
post #157 of 1679 Old 06-26-2011, 06:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrapladm View Post

No.

I remember reading about it a while back and then with family and things sort of forgot about it. Then I saw it again while searching for other stuff. So hopefully this time I will be able to get this new version.

Well, in the meantime, get the FIRST one:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...75&postcount=1

Downloadable FREE demo discs:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475769/de...ently-authored 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #158 of 1679 Old 06-26-2011, 08:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Geezer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SFV, CA
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by amarshonarbangla View Post

The 2nd disc hasn't been released yet. Do you mean the first disc is your favorite?

Yes, I have the first one. Hard to navigate the threads on a smart phone, sorry
Geezer is offline  
post #159 of 1679 Old 06-26-2011, 09:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chrapladm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Can I still buy the disc?

I still need to upgrade my computer and buy a burner so I saw the option of maybe buying the disc if its still available?
chrapladm is offline  
post #160 of 1679 Old 06-27-2011, 08:16 AM
Senior Member
 
globalgreg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrapladm View Post

Can I still buy the disc?

I still need to upgrade my computer and buy a burner so I saw the option of maybe buying the disc if its still available?

You can buy the first version through a link here. May want to wait until 2.0 is out though. The price to purchase is $52 and you can buy a burner for $85. I guess that is your choice.

globalgreg is offline  
post #161 of 1679 Old 06-27-2011, 12:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kalani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 1,445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by globalgreg View Post
You can buy the first version through a link here. May want to wait until 2.0 is out though. The price to purchase is $52 and you can buy a burner for $85. I guess that is your choice.
I picked up a nice LG burner on sale for $75, but don't forget the cost of dual-layer BR media, which is not inconsequential.

Still, you can have your disc AND a fully-functional BR burner (ready for 2.0 when it's done!) for under $100... same price as buying both discs direct.
Kalani is offline  
post #162 of 1679 Old 06-27-2011, 12:58 PM
Senior Member
 
globalgreg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kalani View Post
I picked up a nice LG burner on sale for $75, but don't forget the cost of dual-layer BR media, which is not inconsequential.

Still, you can have your disc AND a fully-functional BR burner (ready for 2.0 when it's done!) for under $100... same price as buying both discs direct.
Yeah, blank 50GB Blu-ray's definately aren't cheap. As long as you don't buy them from your local Best Buy they aren't TOO bad. These are $26.50 for a 3-pack from Amazon.

globalgreg is offline  
post #163 of 1679 Old 06-27-2011, 05:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chrapladm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 68
I will have to check out what the price of the Burners are here in OZ. But I didn't know the disc was that expensive. SO I will keep searching for prices.

Thanks

I need to buy a burner anyways so I can upload BR movies. Bit slow with the movie archive/HT computer.
chrapladm is offline  
post #164 of 1679 Old 07-03-2011, 01:37 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
mrvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 6,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by superleo View Post

Unless Steve purposely makes it, or assigns it a region, it should be region free and copy protected free.

With BD authoring you don't exactly assign it a region. You have to purposely insert code to check the player's region and do something as a result. It is actually more work than authoring a DVD, where all you did was configure the authoring package as to which regions to allow it to play in (by default, all of them). With BD, if you don't add the code to check the register, it is region free.

In theory, one could check the region and actually play material that matches the frame rate of the region, as there are some players/displays in region 2/3 that won't play 1080i29.97. Anyone that is a member of this forum more-than-likely is not going to get gear that restricts playing all of the BD video formats.

As for copy protection, that is impossible (DVD or BD) with home brew authored discs. Copy protection can only be added at production houses, and only then after going through some hoops. Licenses and fees and such

BTW, if it was copy protected, distribution of RAR files of the content would not be playable after burning to the BD media

"What do you say Beckett. Wanna have a baby?" - Castle to Det. Beckett
"How Long have I been gone?" Alexis after arriving home and seeing Castle and Beckett w/ the baby - Castle - 11/25/13
Mr. Video
My Geek Images

mrvideo is offline  
post #165 of 1679 Old 07-03-2011, 01:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Vaggeto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 2,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there anyway to try and use a newsgroup for distribution as well as a torrent setup?

Go Broncos!
Vaggeto is offline  
post #166 of 1679 Old 07-03-2011, 02:00 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
mrvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 6,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by scubasteve2365 View Post

I initially was going to include them, and my first test-disc had them, but the source for the clips were 1920x1080p @ 60Hz.

If the source was a professional BD, or even a home brew authored with pro software, 1080p60 (59.94) and 1080p30 (29.97) cannot exit. I'm not sure that even multiAVCHD would accept non-compliant 1080 video.

While the Scenarist manual quotes 1080 60i and 1080 50i, I hate those nomenclatures as all values should be in FRAMES per second and not bounce back and forth between FRAMES and FIELDS. Just a little pet peeve of mine

The only 1080p that is part of the BD spec is 23.976, or exactly 24. I hate the fact that even after dumping NTSC analog in this country, we are still stuck with the legacy frame rate.

If, per chance, the source was 1080i29.97 and the video is 2:3 pulldown, it would be easy to take the 2:3 content and convert it to 1080p23.976, by using AVISynth, a recent Nvidia graphics GPU + DGDecNV and recode using x264, at a bitrate of 20 Mbps, or higher (2-pass VBR). I doubt that you would see any quality loss.

If you need some pieces recoded to remove telecine, send me a PM for details.

"What do you say Beckett. Wanna have a baby?" - Castle to Det. Beckett
"How Long have I been gone?" Alexis after arriving home and seeing Castle and Beckett w/ the baby - Castle - 11/25/13
Mr. Video
My Geek Images

mrvideo is offline  
post #167 of 1679 Old 07-03-2011, 02:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chrapladm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 68
I still have to try and get a burner. Being in Australia I just wanted to make sure that I could play the content. And so far it seems I should be fine.
chrapladm is offline  
post #168 of 1679 Old 07-03-2011, 02:41 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
mrvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 6,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrapladm View Post

I still have to try and get a burner. Being in Australia I just wanted to make sure that I could play the content. And so far it seems I should be fine.

Since scuba is doing everything at 1080p23.976, your gear should be able to play it. I think he is trying for everything at 23.976

"What do you say Beckett. Wanna have a baby?" - Castle to Det. Beckett
"How Long have I been gone?" Alexis after arriving home and seeing Castle and Beckett w/ the baby - Castle - 11/25/13
Mr. Video
My Geek Images

mrvideo is offline  
post #169 of 1679 Old 07-03-2011, 03:07 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
mrvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 6,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by shadowcaster View Post

Here's a site where you can freely download almost all the studio trailers as well as the DTS, Dolby intros. 1080p, avc, for the most part 23.976, including the Paramount intro:

http://www.demo-world.eu/trailers/hi...n-trailers.php

An excellent source of HD material. I'm downloading a bunch of the stuff now.

Quote:


I believe the DTS ones are 29.970fps though.

All but one of them is 29.97

"What do you say Beckett. Wanna have a baby?" - Castle to Det. Beckett
"How Long have I been gone?" Alexis after arriving home and seeing Castle and Beckett w/ the baby - Castle - 11/25/13
Mr. Video
My Geek Images

mrvideo is offline  
post #170 of 1679 Old 07-04-2011, 09:07 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
mrvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 6,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 86
@scubasteve2365:

I'd very much like to see your Scenarist Solution file. Are you running version 5.2, or earlier?

I should be able to load the solution file, even though it will ultimately complain about missing assets. I'd like to get hints as to how to do things.

Thanks.

"What do you say Beckett. Wanna have a baby?" - Castle to Det. Beckett
"How Long have I been gone?" Alexis after arriving home and seeing Castle and Beckett w/ the baby - Castle - 11/25/13
Mr. Video
My Geek Images

mrvideo is offline  
post #171 of 1679 Old 07-05-2011, 06:02 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
scubasteve2365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,155
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrvideo View Post

@scubasteve2365:

I'd very much like to see your Scenarist Solution file. Are you running version 5.2, or earlier?

I should be able to load the solution file, even though it will ultimately complain about missing assets. I'd like to get hints as to how to do things.

Thanks.

There's nothing really to see at this point, the solution just has all of the assets brought in, put into clips and then put into streams. I haven't finished the menu nor began working on the navigation.

I've ran into a snag and am filling up the 16MB HDMV Menu buffer again, I have twice as many pages as with the first version and for some reason I thought I was well under half of the 16MB HDMV limitation then. Turns out with Version1.0 I was at 10 of the 16MB, so when I double that, well, It's obviously more than 16MB. Gotta reduce the size and I should be home free.

"The Scuba Tank" thread here
PSN/XBL : ScubaSteve2365
scubasteve2365 is offline  
post #172 of 1679 Old 07-05-2011, 07:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
superleo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX - USA
Posts: 2,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by scubasteve2365 View Post
There's nothing really to see at this point, the solution just has all of the assets brought in, put into clips and then put into streams. I haven't finished the menu nor began working on the navigation.

I've ran into a snag and am filling up the 16MB HDMV Menu buffer again, I have twice as many pages as with the first version and for some reason I thought I was well under half of the 16MB HDMV limitation then. Turns out with Version1.0 I was at 10 of the 16MB, so when I double that, well, It's obviously more than 16MB. Gotta reduce the size and I should be home free.
I've done some experimenting with the menu buffering... the max number of pages that I've been able to branch in one menu is 9, anything above that you run out of buffer. And this is just simple pages no effects, anything after that you need to do separate pages, and if you include effects it even reduces it more

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."
Screening Room - The Dream House
RPCRT-TV Overscan Reduction
Reference Blu-Ray Demo Disc

Reference 2: Blu-Ray Demo Disc

The Best of the Demo Discs Demo Disc

superleo is offline  
post #173 of 1679 Old 07-05-2011, 07:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
scubasteve2365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,155
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 244
I believe I've solved it Leo, I just needed to take more stuff out of the IG layer and move it to the background (video) image. I haven't 100% verified it yet, but with a test I'm good. There shouldn't be a limit on the number of pages in an HDMV title, at least I don't see why. The bottleneck is likely the 16MB buffer.

Unfortunately you cannot just simply create another fresh menu and jump between them easily.

This disc has the following pages:

Auto - (This is a dummy page with an auto-action button for navigation coding)
Screen Type Selection
Widescreen Categories
Widescreen LFE
Widescreen Surround
Widescreen Visuals
Scope Categories
Scope LFE
Scope Surround
Scope Visuals

That's 10, hopefully there's no problem with 9 or more pages.

"The Scuba Tank" thread here
PSN/XBL : ScubaSteve2365
scubasteve2365 is offline  
post #174 of 1679 Old 07-05-2011, 07:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
superleo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX - USA
Posts: 2,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by scubasteve2365 View Post
I believe I've solved it Leo, I just needed to take more stuff out of the IG layer and move it to the background (video) image. I haven't 100% verified it yet, but with a test I'm good. There shouldn't be a limit on the number of pages in an HDMV title, at least I don't see why. The bottleneck is likely the 16MB buffer.

Unfortunately you cannot just simply create another fresh menu and jump between them easily.

This disc has the following pages:

Auto - (This is a dummy page with an auto-action button for navigation coding)
Screen Type Selection
Widescreen Categories
Widescreen LFE
Widescreen Surround
Widescreen Visuals
Scope Categories
Scope LFE
Scope Surround
Scope Visuals

That's 10, hopefully there's no problem with 9 or more pages.
Steve, do you actually have a menu for the dummy page? The way that I've done it is just the same menu but at top level first play, but is not actually a new page perse. What I see you have is 9 pages excluding the Auto.

I've also managed to run out of sub level folders in PS

Just trying different things...

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."
Screening Room - The Dream House
RPCRT-TV Overscan Reduction
Reference Blu-Ray Demo Disc

Reference 2: Blu-Ray Demo Disc

The Best of the Demo Discs Demo Disc

superleo is offline  
post #175 of 1679 Old 07-05-2011, 07:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
superleo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX - USA
Posts: 2,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Just to clarify on the number of pages...

I've believe you are correct as far as not having a limit if you just use 1 - 3 buttons per page, heck like this you could prob go to 100 pages before you run out of buffer. I'm talking to the type of disc we are doing, multiple clips (40/50) thus 10-15 buttons per menu... then you run out of buffer a lot faster.

Specifics on my case per menu: 9 buttons for the main menu and then it goes into 9 pages.

So I guess to depends on the number of buttons per page (?)

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."
Screening Room - The Dream House
RPCRT-TV Overscan Reduction
Reference Blu-Ray Demo Disc

Reference 2: Blu-Ray Demo Disc

The Best of the Demo Discs Demo Disc

superleo is offline  
post #176 of 1679 Old 07-05-2011, 08:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
superleo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX - USA
Posts: 2,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Sorry Steve... I've missed read your post and now that I re read it...

I see your Auto menu has an Auto-action button... you never see this menu. I believe, if you run out of buffer having this menu as part of a page, you could leave it as a different menu... the disc might lag a little when it goes to that level/menu and it might not appear completely smooth transitions between menus but you'll get rid of the menu buffer problem.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."
Screening Room - The Dream House
RPCRT-TV Overscan Reduction
Reference Blu-Ray Demo Disc

Reference 2: Blu-Ray Demo Disc

The Best of the Demo Discs Demo Disc

superleo is offline  
post #177 of 1679 Old 07-05-2011, 08:11 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
scubasteve2365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,155
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by superleo View Post
Sorry Steve... I've missed read your post and now that I re read it...

I see your Auto menu has an Auto-action button... you never see this menu. I believe, if you run out of buffer having this menu as part of a page, you could leave it as a different menu... the disc might lag a little when it goes to that level/menu and it might not appear completely smooth transitions between menus but you'll get rid of the menu buffer problem.
The buffer issue has nothing to do with the number of pages, buttons ect. It's simply a buffer for the graphics (IG layer) of the menus. My auto-action button is literally one black pixel, that is in the lower right corner of the screen and will be covered within the black bars of the widescreen/scope menu background. This auto action button, that resides in it's own menu-page is so virtually small I could probably build a million of these pages within a single HDMV menu. If I were you, I'd see if there is anything I can move from your individual buttons (N1: XXX, S1: XXX, A1: XXX) for each of your BOGs in each Page to a background layer. This will reduce the total IG size and will more than likely allow you to put all of your pages in one simple menu. This will ease the authoring side quite a bit.

For example, if you remember version1.0. On the right side of the menus is a transparent arc, on top of this arc is where all of the selectable items are. Up until now this transparent arc has resided in my IG, on each button, spliced accordingly. This caused the menu size to be larger than it needed because I just simply move that transparent arc to the background image (the image of my theater) so that the menu IG doesn't have to store that data for the graphics. I did this with Version1.0 because the arc was different between the category and clip selection screens. with Version2.0 the arc is exactly the same, so I'm pulling it from the menu IG. This reduced a single page from about 1.9MB to 0.7MB. Designer has a buffer checker, but from what I can see that is only for BD-J, which has a 45MB Buffer to work with.

You don't want to hop between menus, i.e. (One menu with 4 pages for widescreen and another separate menu with 4 pages for scope) because you then lose your ability to store register values. This is at least how I understand it. Not to mention the lag and delay, which is something I want to avoid.

"The Scuba Tank" thread here
PSN/XBL : ScubaSteve2365
scubasteve2365 is offline  
post #178 of 1679 Old 07-05-2011, 08:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
superleo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX - USA
Posts: 2,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 214
I would agree when you have a static/same graphic such a a background/overlay that remains the same through out the menus, however I'm trying to appear/disappear (on/off) menus as you scroll up or down, so part of the graphics could go on the background IG but I still need a background graphic at each page level to create the on-off effect as a BG in each page.

Using this software is more of an art than anything else... I totally dig your project... not an easy task!!!

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."
Screening Room - The Dream House
RPCRT-TV Overscan Reduction
Reference Blu-Ray Demo Disc

Reference 2: Blu-Ray Demo Disc

The Best of the Demo Discs Demo Disc

superleo is offline  
post #179 of 1679 Old 07-05-2011, 11:34 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
mrvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 6,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by scubasteve2365 View Post

There's nothing really to see at this point, the solution just has all of the assets brought in, put into clips and then put into streams. I haven't finished the menu nor began working on the navigation.

At this point, the V1 solution would be fine, as I'm just trying to get some hints. IMHO, the manual really sucks. I've had to do a lot of reading between the lines at times.

Unfortunately I won't have clean transitions between menus. Three of the four button selections will go to separate menus as the button descriptions are part of the background. The text is 24 bit color and it is beveled, so it looks great. Can't do that with 256 bit indexed color.

So, there is no "normal" image, only "active" and "selected." The images are single color, resulting in a palette that is only three colors (including transparent). A simple pointer, as would be done within a DVD. I'm certainly not going to go with BD-J just to get 24 bit color. I'm having enough fun with HDMV as it is, without adding BD-J to the mix

BTW, did you get my PM?

"What do you say Beckett. Wanna have a baby?" - Castle to Det. Beckett
"How Long have I been gone?" Alexis after arriving home and seeing Castle and Beckett w/ the baby - Castle - 11/25/13
Mr. Video
My Geek Images

mrvideo is offline  
post #180 of 1679 Old 07-05-2011, 12:34 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
scubasteve2365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,155
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrvideo View Post

At this point, the V1 solution would be fine, as I'm just trying to get some hints. IMHO, the manual really sucks. I've had to do a lot of reading between the lines at times.

Unfortunately I won't have clean transitions between menus. Three of the four button selections will go to separate menus as the button descriptions are part of the background. The text is 24 bit color and it is beveled, so it looks great. Can't do that with 256 bit indexed color.

So, there is no "normal" image, only "active" and "selected." The images are single color, resulting in a palette that is only three colors (including transparent). A simple pointer, as would be done within a DVD. I'm certainly not going to go with BD-J just to get 24 bit color. I'm having enough fun with HDMV as it is, without adding BD-J to the mix

BTW, did you get my PM?

The V1 Solution won't be of much help, because it won't show you the steps. What you need is a tutorial.

You have to have a normal image, as well as active and selected. All 3 states will be present at one time or another. If it's static text and simple an arrow that points at the static text indicating your selection, then the normal state needs to exist, just empty. The selected and active states can be the same, or different if you want confirmation after the button click. If you're doing animations, I will be of no help.

I assume you are building your menus in Photoshop and using Scenarist Designer.

I'll send you a PM.

"The Scuba Tank" thread here
PSN/XBL : ScubaSteve2365
scubasteve2365 is offline  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off