My Mahogany / Invisible Speaker build - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 388 Old 02-07-2011, 01:29 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Hi -- I'm a newbie here at AVS, but have been lurking and have learned so much from you guys so far. I wanted to share my build that I'm starting and will be also asking some questions as I go along.

Here's what I'm starting with, basically a ~30' x 30' daylight basement with a slab underneath. The column there is a 15" square Mahogany wrapping of two 6x6 structural posts. I'm basically burying that column in the back left corner of the new HT. As you can see, I've started laying out the wall plates just to get a rough idea of how this newly-defined space will feel:

Here's a shot showing the screen wall on the left. I'll need to extend that furring all the way up to the ceiling in order to create a flat surface:

A plan showing the entire basement. Unfortunately there are structural beams and some plumbing coming down 8", currently encased in Mahogany:

And finally a plan of the new room:

I'm going with a Panasonic AE4000U onto a 138" diagonal 2:35 painted screen. The rest of the interior walls will be paneled with a combination of 1/2" and 3/4" Mahogany plywood. For sound, an in-wall transducer-based 9.1 system from Invisible Stereo.

I'm just about to start erecting walls, so if you guys have any feedback or suggestions, I'm all ears.

Thanks!
Bryan
Meadow Vista, CA
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 388 Old 02-07-2011, 02:06 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 107
I could be completely wrong here.. but I think I have read you need more that 3' of space between the rows.. you may want to search this forum a bit Distance between rows..
post #3 of 388 Old 02-07-2011, 02:31 PM

Liked: 10
Space seems to be pretty square, hard to get good sound in a square space generally speaking and there will be large bass issues especially in the second row.