Desert Sunset Theater Build - Page 34 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #991 of 1093 Old 08-10-2012, 08:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NicksHitachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 3,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by stockmonkey2000 View Post

Yes the projector is mounted in the hushbox. It is about 20' from lens to screen. I'll try to get a photo up of the PJ in place.

Hi SM2K,.

 

What type of ventilation and how much did you use for your hush box?  Could you link me to the build?

 

Nick


Don't waste time reading signatures.....
NicksHitachi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #992 of 1093 Old 08-10-2012, 08:11 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
stockmonkey2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Utah County
Posts: 1,707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I used a Panasonic whisper quiet fan for my hushbox (amazon link below). It is installed in the adjacent equipment room. I have a thermostat in the hushbox that will turn the fan on, however with my current setup, it never kicks on because the JVC projector has intake on the right side of the front of the unit and blows hot air out of the left side front of the unit, so the hushbox itself has never gotten hot. I could re-route the fan duct but it has not been an issue so far. The PJ is quiet and the heat from the projector has not been an issue so far. I used 4" duct but if I had to do it over I'd probably increase to a 5" duct at the hushbox to keep it a bit quieter.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B003TJAGPS/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i00
stockmonkey2000 is offline  
post #993 of 1093 Old 08-10-2012, 08:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
stockmonkey2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Utah County
Posts: 1,707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
There are more details of the fan and thermostat for the hushbox in post #336.
stockmonkey2000 is offline  
post #994 of 1093 Old 08-10-2012, 09:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cw5billwade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GA
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by stockmonkey2000 View Post

Yes the projector is mounted in the hushbox. It is about 20' from lens to screen. I'll try to get a photo up of the PJ in place.
thanks I am having a house built in GA and will be putting my HT on second floor looking at 24x18x9 with 2 ft screen wall, AT screen from Jamestown like yours. Just trying to plan everything now so that the sound plan can be built into the room. It will be unfinished and I plan to finish it but need a projector that will throw the same distance as you.
cw5billwade is offline  
post #995 of 1093 Old 08-16-2012, 11:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
BllDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by cw5billwade View Post

thanks I am having a house built in GA and will be putting my HT on second floor looking at 24x18x9 with 2 ft screen wall, AT screen from Jamestown like yours. Just trying to plan everything now so that the sound plan can be built into the room. It will be unfinished and I plan to finish it but need a projector that will throw the same distance as you.

I think with a 2 ft screen wall, your pj choices are going to be a little limited.

-




Is it solipsistic in here, or is it just me?
BllDo is offline  
post #996 of 1093 Old 08-17-2012, 12:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cw5billwade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GA
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by BllDo View Post

I think with a 2 ft screen wall, your pj choices are going to be a little limited.
No what I meant was a false wall of 2 feet with a 133" or larger 240.1 scope AT screen. That would give me 22 ft to the rear wall with maybe 20 ft to the soffit like Stockmonkey200
cw5billwade is offline  
post #997 of 1093 Old 08-17-2012, 06:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nickbuol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Marion, Iowa
Posts: 1,742
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by cw5billwade View Post

No what I meant was a false wall of 2 feet with a 133" or larger 240.1 scope AT screen. That would give me 22 ft to the rear wall with maybe 20 ft to the soffit like Stockmonkey200

I've got a 2 foot deep false wall with Seymour XD (AT material) screen. The lens of my projector (JVC RS45) is about 18 feet from the screen. I could have gone closer of further back based off of specs, but the placement is perfect for me. The screen is 138" 1.78:1 format and just FYI that this DOES push the size limits quite a bit for AT screen usability in regards to picture quality with a lower gain screen (vs something a lot higher gain that isn't AT).

I can easily see myself having to mask down the 138" screen at some point to keep the image looking great.

Just a bit of advice so that you are prepared for a long throw, "low" gain, large screen setup.
nickbuol is offline  
post #998 of 1093 Old 08-25-2012, 01:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
cdika17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 706
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by stockmonkey2000 View Post

I also did some work on the hush box. Ran the fan duct and conduit and installed the electrical box for the powerbridge. All the initial wiring will be run outside the conduit leaving the conduit open for future expansion.


Did you account for all this weight on ceiling with extra clips and channel?

-----------------------------------------------
Chase "Fetch"


Current Theater Build
 

New House Build

 

cdika17 is offline  
post #999 of 1093 Old 08-25-2012, 01:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
cdika17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 706
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by stockmonkey2000 View Post

I also did some work on the hush box. Ran the fan duct and conduit and installed the electrical box for the powerbridge. All the initial wiring will be run outside the conduit leaving the conduit open for future expansion.


Did you account for all this weight on ceiling with extra clips and channel?

Also I want to do star ceiling eventually, what do I need to run for wires? Just 12/2 romex to my grafik eye?

And what is the list of parts/components you need?

-----------------------------------------------
Chase "Fetch"


Current Theater Build
 

New House Build

 

cdika17 is offline  
post #1000 of 1093 Old 08-28-2012, 06:56 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
stockmonkey2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Utah County
Posts: 1,707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdika17 View Post

Did you account for all this weight on ceiling with extra clips and channel?
Also I want to do star ceiling eventually, what do I need to run for wires? Just 12/2 romex to my grafik eye?
And what is the list of parts/components you need?

Yes I did use extra channel and clips on the ceiling. I used the triple layer of drywall formula from the soundproofing company and then added some additional clips. With the star ceiling I actually have 4 layers with one layer being OSB. Most of the weight of the soffits are supported by the side walls which are standard stud construction with a layer of OSB which gave me plenty to attach the soffits to.

For the star ceiling I ran 2 romex (14/2). One is for the lamp and one for the motor. The motor is wired separately so it will not be dimmed by the grafik eye. My motor is hooked to an occupancy sensor.

The parts you need for the star ceiling depend a lot on how you install. The basic components are the illuminator and the fibers. You also need things like 1mm drill bits, a hot wire cutter to cut off the wires (this is necessary if you use the FOSI illuminator like I used but can be obtained from FOSI with a refundable deposit) and a template for your stars. I created my own template. You would also need painted or fabric covered panels and a method to attach them. I have lots of details in the thread about how I created the panels and attached them.
stockmonkey2000 is offline  
post #1001 of 1093 Old 08-29-2012, 06:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chinadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 5,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
How are you liking the JVC RS45? I think the throw distance on the Panny AE7000 is a little too far for the distance I need and the screen size. Any dislikes?

Bud
chinadog is offline  
post #1002 of 1093 Old 08-30-2012, 05:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nickbuol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Marion, Iowa
Posts: 1,742
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 202
chinadog, not sure if you were asking me, but I'll answer anyway. I REALLY like the RS45. As it is well noted, it is not the best 3D projector, and I don't plan to ever use it for 3D, so that works for me. The inky blacks, great *real* contrast is wonderful too. Makes for a lot more detail in the dark areas of movies where other projectors lose out. It has been argued to be the best 2D projector (under $5000 MSRP) for 2012.
nickbuol is offline  
post #1003 of 1093 Old 08-30-2012, 07:25 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
stockmonkey2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Utah County
Posts: 1,707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I agree its a great projector. It produces a great picture with great detail in the blacks. The only minor nitpick I have is some motion blur on fast moving scenes. I think part of that is due to the huge screen. I would be interested in trying a different screen at some point because I did not notice the motion blur as much when I was just using a sheet while waiting for the screen. Of course the image size on the sheet was smaller too so that could be a factor.
stockmonkey2000 is offline  
post #1004 of 1093 Old 08-30-2012, 12:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nickbuol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Marion, Iowa
Posts: 1,742
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 202
Just use the zoom to make the image smaller... wink.gif Just for testing of course, and then crank it back up! cool.gif
nickbuol is offline  
post #1005 of 1093 Old 09-08-2012, 11:21 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
stockmonkey2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Utah County
Posts: 1,707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Still not much additional progress to show - I have started finishing up the rest of the basement but have not done much on the equipment room yet. I did pick up a new beverage center which will end up in the equipment room.

IMG_5448.jpg
stockmonkey2000 is offline  
post #1006 of 1093 Old 09-08-2012, 10:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jon_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Land of the Shining Mountains, US
Posts: 616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Nice selection!
Jon_B is offline  
post #1007 of 1093 Old 09-11-2012, 01:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cw5billwade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GA
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by stockmonkey2000 View Post

I just ordered a couple pairs of 3D glasses to check out the RS45 in 3D. Anyone have recommendations on 3D blu rays? Only thing I currently have is Hubble 3D.
I have about 20 or so 3D blue rays by far the best IMHO is Parrots of the Carrabin or any other Disney film. They do 3D right
cw5billwade is offline  
post #1008 of 1093 Old 09-11-2012, 01:59 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
stockmonkey2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Utah County
Posts: 1,707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I have since bought a few other 3d blu rays and have not even tried them out. I did watch Hubble and did not care for the 3D at all, so I have not really spent time watching anything else in 3d. Have Cars 2 in 3d and its still in the wrapper.
stockmonkey2000 is offline  
post #1009 of 1093 Old 09-24-2012, 05:59 PM
Member
 
wadepoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey SM2K, I found your build on the IB cult and was so impressed I read through all 1021 posts. Love everything about your build including the crappy set backs, makes me feel like even I could do this.

I do have one question, could we see some more pics of the rack, front/back. What circuit size did you go with for the rack set up (15/20/30A)?

Keep up the good work!
wadepoe is offline  
post #1010 of 1093 Old 09-25-2012, 11:54 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
stockmonkey2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Utah County
Posts: 1,707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I'll try to get some pictures of my rack up. I still have work to do on the equipment room and some wire management to do. I have 2 20A dedicated outlets in the rack for the amps and I also have a 15A dedicated circuit that the rest of the equipment and projector are on. Probably overkill but I do have 4 2 channel amps and will be adding another. One of the amps (sierra audio) is pretty heavily biased in Class A and would sometimes trip a 15A breaker on its own when flipping the switch. The bigger sierras have 2 power switches one to charge up the capacitors and then another to power up the amp. My sierra is the smallest one and the power supply has 200,000uf of capacitance. The projector is plugged into a UPS which runs on the 15A circuit.
stockmonkey2000 is offline  
post #1011 of 1093 Old 10-08-2012, 07:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vanice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Southside Indy
Posts: 1,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 41
SM2k - Can you help me out with a sub wiring question? Is this how you wired up your IB subs?

4SVC_2-ohm_2ch.jpg

I'm working on installing mine now and wanted to verify this before going much further.
vanice is offline  
post #1012 of 1093 Old 10-08-2012, 07:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
stockmonkey2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Utah County
Posts: 1,707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Yes that is exactly how I wired them. What amp are you using?
stockmonkey2000 is offline  
post #1013 of 1093 Old 10-08-2012, 07:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vanice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Southside Indy
Posts: 1,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 41
vanice is offline  
post #1014 of 1093 Old 10-08-2012, 07:20 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
stockmonkey2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Utah County
Posts: 1,707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
The wiring above would give you around 350 watts per driver with that amp which is plenty. I've never pushed my IB to the limit yet.
stockmonkey2000 is offline  
post #1015 of 1093 Old 10-08-2012, 07:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vanice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Southside Indy
Posts: 1,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Thanks for the confirmation. I started to wire it up differently but remembered that they are 2 ohm speakers and not 4 ohm. I just hope that my wire run wasn't too exact since I'll have to stretch the run a little bit to the next speaker. rolleyes.gif

Has the IB lived up to what you thought it might be?
vanice is offline  
post #1016 of 1093 Old 10-08-2012, 09:15 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
stockmonkey2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Utah County
Posts: 1,707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
They do sell the speakers in 4 ohm models - just make sure that you ordered the 2ohm. Its not possible to get 4 ohm load for 2 channels with the 4 ohm drivers. The IB sub has been really great. The only thing that I was a bit disappointed in was that the subs do naturally roll off at 20hz or so (your experience may be different). I have EQ'd them for deeper response, but I did expect the response to go deeper naturally. In real world use though there is plenty of deep bass. The nice thing is never having to worry about the bottoming out the drivers. I've never come close to doing that.
stockmonkey2000 is offline  
post #1017 of 1093 Old 10-08-2012, 09:25 AM
AnalysisParalysis Analyst
 
TMcG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,475
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 235
SM2K - is that rolloff a function of any kind of equalization / DSP / room correction you have or is that a function of the speaker? Have you had the room professionally calibrated so that you could see / hear that super low-end response with the sub-sonic roll off?
TMcG is offline  
post #1018 of 1093 Old 10-08-2012, 09:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vanice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Southside Indy
Posts: 1,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Thanks stock, I did get the 2 ohm version. I still need to get something to eq. What are you using?
vanice is offline  
post #1019 of 1093 Old 10-08-2012, 12:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
damelon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 1,684
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by stockmonkey2000 View Post

I have since bought a few other 3d blu rays and have not even tried them out. I did watch Hubble and did not care for the 3D at all, so I have not really spent time watching anything else in 3d. Have Cars 2 in 3d and its still in the wrapper.

Pretty much all of the Animated 3D movies are decent in 3D. The IMAX "Under the Sea" is a good one. You get both amazing depth underwater and some great pop-outs. Also, the Avengers had some good 3D in it, though most of it is the Avatar-ish depth 3D. I'd much rather a movie come in scope than be 3D. All of these epic movies coming out in 16:9 due to 3D is pissing me off.
damelon is offline  
post #1020 of 1093 Old 10-08-2012, 12:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cw5billwade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GA
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 93
guess I will have to unwrap my avengers and watch it then. Still on 55" Panasonic plasma GT30. No where near as fun as you all. On my TV there is bars on top and bottom of most 3D are you saying that avengers is 16x9?
cw5billwade is offline  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

Tags
Jvc Dla Rs45 Home Theater Projector 1080p Hdmi , Behringer Europower Ep4000 Professional Amplifier , Integra , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off