AVS Forum banner

Madhouse Theater project

27K views 233 replies 41 participants last post by  frank1504 
#1 ·

After 3 years in our new home, my wife and I are ready to take on the basement. After getting a few quotes, we realized we don't have the cash to pay someone to do it. My dad finished their basement and is a very good all around handy man. I seem to botch everything I do related to woodworking, but I'm a mechanical engineer and I'm confident if I take my time, I can make things work. So after a few conversations we are planning to start framing this weekend. I've been working on plans for a couple of years now and we think we have a pretty solid idea of what we want to do. My current plans are to do all the framing and wiring in walls. If the two of us can't figure out something with the electrical, there are plenty of EE's where I work to help me along. I figure I'll hire out the HVAC, drywall (at least the mudding and taping), and the plumbing for the bathroom and wet bar.

Here is my current plan in AutoCAD. I am planning to start getting into more detail in SolidWorks.