My New Home Theater 2.0, Staggered Wall HT. - Page 17 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #481 of 506 Old 03-21-2014, 01:41 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
landshark1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 1,439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quick question guys!

I'm about to start building an gym room in the basement. I'm planning to run a conduit to the TV location for HDMI & power cable. I'm having a hard time to find a decent diameter conduit at the local HD. The thickest I saw there is only 3/4" ID (those blue one that most use for wiring). Where can I find something like 1.5-2" ID flexible conduit? I'll probably need about <25' long.

Thanks in advance. cool.gif
landshark1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #482 of 506 Old 03-21-2014, 02:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 2,561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Try PVC.

MY THEATER......The Thompson Theater 11.9 channels

"Is not love not unlike the unlikely not it is unlikened to?"
- Leon Phelps
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #483 of 506 Old 03-21-2014, 02:11 PM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 20,509
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 533
If you can handle rigid conduit with sweeping bends you can save some money and use the gray PVC electrical conduit and HD stocks that. You want the big orange stuff you will pay dearly and you will need to find someone willing to sell it by the foot instead of the roll. I used to have some leftovers but I've used that up. No need to buy a roll in the near future.

If you call an electrical supply shop ask for Carlon resi-gard. There are some on-line vendors that sell small quantities.
BIGmouthinDC is online now  
post #484 of 506 Old 03-21-2014, 02:21 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
landshark1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 1,439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Thanks for the advice guys.

I'll go to HD on Sunday and check again. In the worst case, I'll just use PVC pipe since I could modify it to a pretty straight run to the mechanical room (right next to it) where the A/V equipment will be hidden from the room.

2nd question, when you run the conduit through the stud, how do you bend it 90 degree so it face the drywall when using non flexible tube? Do you attach it to a 90 degree PVC elbow or something like that?
landshark1 is offline  
post #485 of 506 Old 03-21-2014, 03:23 PM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 20,509
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 533
Plumbing elbows are too tight of a radius, they have sweeping turns next to the gray PVC conduit, stay away from the plumbing section, these will be over in electrical supply

For the wall you can actually have the conduit enter the side of an electrical box recessed in the wall no turns required. I don't think you could make a 90 degree turn inside a 2x4 wall with 1 1/2 inch rigid conduit.
BIGmouthinDC is online now  
post #486 of 506 Old 03-21-2014, 03:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
landshark1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 1,439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGmouthinDC View Post


For the wall you can actually have the conduit enter the side of an electrical box recessed in the wall no turns required.
Great idea! As always, you are the walking construction wiki! wink.gif
landshark1 is offline  
post #488 of 506 Old 03-23-2014, 07:20 PM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 20,509
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 533
why are you running power cable in conduit, if you can run conduit, can't you just run Romex?
BIGmouthinDC is online now  
post #489 of 506 Old 03-23-2014, 08:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
landshark1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 1,439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 56
I was thinking when mounting the TV flat on the wall, the power plug will get in the way as most of those plug are plugged straight to the outlet at 90 degree. On my other TVs, I just ran them inside the wall and out to the bottom outlet. But this one (where the TV wall) will have a full wall floor to ceiling mirror, so no bottom electrical outlet available. And if I put a regular outlet right behind the TV, is the power plug (at 90 degree) will get into the way to mount it flat? So I thought run the power cable via conduit (it's there for HDMI and other cables anyway) to the bare mechanical room would be the cleanest installation. I could be very wrong tho.... confused.gif
landshark1 is offline  
post #490 of 506 Old 03-23-2014, 08:48 PM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 20,509
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 533
use a recessed outlet, something like this or similar

http://www.amazon.com/Datacomm-45-0031-WH-Recessed-Voltage-Receptacle/dp/B004GZ89N0/ref=sr_1_2?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1395632850&sr=1-2&keywords=recessed+outlet

BIGmouthinDC is online now  
post #491 of 506 Old 03-24-2014, 04:51 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
landshark1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 1,439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 56
landshark1 is offline  
post #492 of 506 Old 04-22-2014, 07:20 AM
Member
 
rfolkes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 94
OK can someone help me... I have french doors and trying to think of what to do with mine. Saw these here but having trouble finding any details on this build thread... Of course I haven't looked at every page YET! ... I have scanned around a bit and find glass doors then next page is solid doors... Is there info in here on the door.
rfolkes is offline  
post #493 of 506 Old 04-22-2014, 09:23 AM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 20,509
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 533
The secret sauce is that we made panels for the door, filled them with linacoustic. Then screwed them to the door from the other side, patched and painted the screw holes. I think we put something on the glass to make it uniformly black from the outside, I can't remember what.



ellisr63 likes this.
BIGmouthinDC is online now  
post #494 of 506 Old 04-22-2014, 04:32 PM
Member
 
rfolkes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 94
What was done to seal the gap in the middle of the doors? How effective was this? What about the bottom of the doors. Did you use the automatic door seal or is that not possible with french doors?
rfolkes is offline  
post #495 of 506 Old 04-22-2014, 05:17 PM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 20,509
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 533
this room is a single layer of DW (Builders special) , we didn't treat the gap or the bottoms of the door for obvious reasons.
BIGmouthinDC is online now  
post #496 of 506 Old 04-22-2014, 09:22 PM
Member
 
rfolkes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Big

Maybe you can call be captain unobvious but I don't understand why you wouldn't do the gap in the door or the bottoms.

Thanks for all the insight. Appreciate it.
rfolkes is offline  
post #497 of 506 Old 04-22-2014, 10:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In the Home Theater
Posts: 1,948
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfolkes View Post

Big

Maybe you can call be captain unobvious but I don't understand why you wouldn't do the gap in the door or the bottoms.

Thanks for all the insight. Appreciate it.
I believe it is because the door gap is not the weak link with single drywall walls... Or that it is not worth the expense to seal the door opening with french doors , glass, and single drywall wall.

Denon 4520ci, 3 JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, 3 1/4 Pie bass bins, MiniDSP 2x4s, 4 Klipsch HIPs, 2 Klipsch KP3002s, PS3, XBox 360, 3 Intel NUCs, Monoprice Redmere, Monster HTPS7000, 2 SUPER SPUD subs, Panasonic AE8000u, and a Yamaha P7000s.
ellisr63 is online now  
post #498 of 506 Old 04-23-2014, 04:42 AM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 20,509
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 533
Correct, there was no reason to make the door superior to the rest of the soundproofing in place.
BIGmouthinDC is online now  
post #499 of 506 Old 06-18-2014, 01:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
landshark1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 1,439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Been busy finishing the basement home gym the last couple of months. But finally have some time to do a little update on the HT front.

I wall mounted an old 24" Dell monitor that I have laying around in the rack room. And programmed the new Harmony Ultimate remote (moved the original Harmony 900 for the gym room) so it'll just turn on the AVR, set the input to Popcorn Hour, for any update (movie library or firmware) work without turning on the projector.

S_IMG_7356 by Gary Ngo | Photography, on Flickr

S_IMG_7352 by Gary Ngo | Photography, on Flickr

S_IMG_7357 by Gary Ngo | Photography, on Flickr
landshark1 is offline  
post #500 of 506 Old 06-18-2014, 01:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NickTheGreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 79
I've only had my Ultimate for a few weeks, but I really like it. Especially for movie watching.
NickTheGreat is online now  
post #501 of 506 Old 06-20-2014, 04:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cw5billwade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GA
Posts: 1,154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Does it work through Insteon or can I use it independently? RF or just IR?
cw5billwade is online now  
post #502 of 506 Old 06-21-2014, 07:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
landshark1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 1,439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by cw5billwade View Post
Does it work through Insteon or can I use it independently? RF or just IR?
Yes, it works the same as the older 900 with Insteon, and it support both RF & IR. Plus this supports macro while the older 900 doesn't.
landshark1 is offline  
post #503 of 506 Old 07-25-2014, 11:52 PM
Senior Member
 
jimmyk36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by landshark1 View Post
OK, finally had my garage done this past weekend.

So here's the pics for you guys.

Before:


After:








Looks great! What color did you paint the walls?
jimmyk36 is offline  
post #504 of 506 Old 07-26-2014, 12:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nightlord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Southern Sweden
Posts: 1,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Wow!

Under construction: the Larch theater
Nightlord is offline  
post #505 of 506 Old 07-27-2014, 07:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
landshark1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 1,439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmyk36 View Post
Looks great! What color did you paint the walls?
I'm sorry the garage is one of the room that I didn't keep the color swap.... I think I got the paint from Benjamin Moore tho. I'm about to paint the lower half of the wall in a darker shade of grey to give it a bit more contrast too. And about to change out the 2 little light bulbs to some proper shop lights for my car detailing work.

Last edited by landshark1; 07-27-2014 at 07:17 AM.
landshark1 is offline  
post #506 of 506 Old 07-27-2014, 09:31 AM
Senior Member
 
ClemsonJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ashburn, VA
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Looks awesome. I'm a big fan of the gladiator line of products. Pricey, but well worth it!

My Home Theater Build: The Vortex Theater Build
ClemsonJeeper is offline  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

Tags
Harmony 900 Remote , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Directv , Sonos , Wii U , Xbox 360 250gb Console With Kinect
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off