The "Bacon Race" Theater / Patio / Bar Project - Page 43 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 182Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1261 of 3019 Old 03-14-2012, 07:14 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
damelon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 2,176
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGmouthinDC View Post

D, Bzbase thinks that your carpet would look in his dark purple room, stopped in Lowes today. Does style Silver Lake, and color LO16 Gothic suite ring a bell? The sample looks so Black.

They both do sound very familiar. I looked at it, that's for sure, and I'm almost positive I got silver lake as the style. The problem with samples on that carpet is that the small pieces are way too small to show how it looks.
damelon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1262 of 3019 Old 03-15-2012, 02:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
J_P_A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: L.A. - Lower Alabama
Posts: 4,969
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 651 Post(s)
Liked: 484
damelon,

what version of unRaid are you using? I'm planning to take the plunge and migrate my WHS to unRaid in the next few weeks, and I'm not sure if I should go with the latest stable release (4.7 I think), or try out the beta version.

Dude, are you made of leprechauns? Cause that was awesome!
The Plains Theater Has Begun
Pro Designed Room - Measurements Before/During/After Treatments.
J_P_A is offline  
post #1263 of 3019 Old 03-15-2012, 03:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smakovits's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by J_P_A View Post

damelon,

what version of unRaid are you using? I'm planning to take the plunge and migrate my WHS to unRaid in the next few weeks, and I'm not sure if I should go with the latest stable release (4.7 I think), or try out the beta version.

I am running 4.7. Have not yet felt the need to go to v5. I feel safer here.
smakovits is offline  
 
post #1264 of 3019 Old 03-15-2012, 04:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mr.Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SC
Posts: 2,844
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Mr.Tim is offline  
post #1265 of 3019 Old 03-15-2012, 05:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
damelon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 2,176
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 286
I'm running 5 beta 13. Have been for almost half of a year now with no issues. I had to go with beta 5 to support my 3TB hard drives, as they are not supported in version 4.

I use the ps3mediaserver plugin, the APC ups plugin, the myMain menu thing, and I think that's all.

Been running great so far.
damelon is offline  
post #1266 of 3019 Old 03-15-2012, 06:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
J_P_A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: L.A. - Lower Alabama
Posts: 4,969
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 651 Post(s)
Liked: 484
The unRaid forum is very helpful, but I feel like you have to understand everything to, well, understand it.

Aside from 3TB drive support, are there any other advantages to version 5? I'd really like to set this thing up and not have to worry with it for a while as the rest of this year is going to be very busy!

Dude, are you made of leprechauns? Cause that was awesome!
The Plains Theater Has Begun
Pro Designed Room - Measurements Before/During/After Treatments.
J_P_A is offline  
post #1267 of 3019 Old 03-16-2012, 06:27 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
damelon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 2,176
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by J_P_A View Post

The unRaid forum is very helpful, but I feel like you have to understand everything to, well, understand it.

Aside from 3TB drive support, are there any other advantages to version 5? I'd really like to set this thing up and not have to worry with it for a while as the rest of this year is going to be very busy!

Well with the new version came many bug fixes as well, but also it is still labeled a "beta", so there are new problems introduced. Version 5 has been in beta for a VERY long time though. I went with version 13 because it seemed to be the most stable version at the time. I haven't had a single problem in the last 6 months. (Or the entire time, depending on how you want to look at it)

It really depends on what you want it to do, etc. I needed to run version 5. If you aren't using 3tb hdds, there is no real need to run version 5. But then again, it's been out for so long now, which means all of their fixes and improvements have been focused on that version for a very long time, as well as plugin development. I'm surprised it isn't out of beta yet.

I love that program though. The entire server has such a small footprint on that thumb drive. Backup is so simple for the server configuration. The auto-spin up/down works great. Yeah writes are a little slow to the array but almost every time it is a write once, read many type of deal. I'm able to play all of my full quality blu-ray mkv's without any problems over the network.
damelon is offline  
post #1268 of 3019 Old 03-16-2012, 07:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smakovits's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by J_P_A View Post

The unRaid forum is very helpful, but I feel like you have to understand everything to, well, understand it.

Aside from 3TB drive support, are there any other advantages to version 5? I'd really like to set this thing up and not have to worry with it for a while as the rest of this year is going to be very busy!

version 5 has a new GUI...

I have considered testing v5 in a non production environment, just haven't...Might be worth a look one day.

V4 has been solid to date, so I just havent seen the need to upgrade as I do not have 3TB drives yet.
smakovits is offline  
post #1269 of 3019 Old 03-20-2012, 03:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
cdika17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by damelon View Post

Closeup of Light Switches and Doorknob


Any reason why you didn't go with a grafik eye setup besides maybe cost?

-----------------------------------------------
Chase "Fetch"

Old Theater Build

New House Build
cdika17 is offline  
post #1270 of 3019 Old 03-20-2012, 05:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
damelon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 2,176
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdika17 View Post

Any reason why you didn't go with a grafik eye setup besides maybe cost?

Well cost definitely. That and need. I just didn't need it. I can RF remote the lights if I need to, but I rarely ever even need that. I just turn on the lights when we go in the room, and turn them off when the movie is ready to start and sit down. I guess I never understood the point of advanced lighting macros for a movie room. Wasn't something I ever really cared that much about.
damelon is offline  
post #1271 of 3019 Old 03-20-2012, 05:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tbraden32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cicleville, OH
Posts: 1,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What lighting system did use?

tbraden32 is offline  
post #1272 of 3019 Old 03-20-2012, 06:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
cdika17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Materials 4 Leviton RF Dimmers Smarthome 266.52 http://www.smarthome.com/45071Z.html
Materials 4 Black Face Kit for Leviton Dimmers Smarthome 7.48 http://www.smarthome.com/86558BK.html

From Damelon's cost breakdown post: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...9#post21138019

-----------------------------------------------
Chase "Fetch"

Old Theater Build

New House Build
cdika17 is offline  
post #1273 of 3019 Old 03-20-2012, 06:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
cdika17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by damelon View Post

Well cost definitely. That and need. I just didn't need it. I can RF remote the lights if I need to, but I rarely ever even need that. I just turn on the lights when we go in the room, and turn them off when the movie is ready to start and sit down. I guess I never understood the point of advanced lighting macros for a movie room. Wasn't something I ever really cared that much about.

What do you have wired to the switches? I see 4 switches, that mean there are 4 zones? Whats on each zone?

-----------------------------------------------
Chase "Fetch"

Old Theater Build

New House Build
cdika17 is offline  
post #1274 of 3019 Old 03-20-2012, 07:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
damelon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 2,176
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Thanks for pointing out the cost breakdown cdika! I was ready to post a link when I saw your post. I tried to make that in the first place so people could look it up but I guess it does get lost in the middle of the thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdika17 View Post

What do you have wired to the switches? I see 4 switches, that mean there are 4 zones? Whats on each zone?

1) Side and Rear soffit lights
2) Stage soffit Lights
3) Ceiling Rope-Lights
4) Riser step-lights


And to be honest, I am not thrilled with those step lights. I may switch them out. They don't put out enough light to really even see that they're there. Needs to be a little brighter.
damelon is offline  
post #1275 of 3019 Old 03-20-2012, 10:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nickbuol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Marion, Iowa
Posts: 2,911
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 671 Post(s)
Liked: 709
Any reason someone couldn't use a set of Lutron Maestro IRs? Are the Leviton's better? I was going to go with Maestro IRs for wall sconces, can lights, and then some regular switches for the rope lights (color changing LED, so they will be turned on and off via remote anyway) and for the star ceiling panel that is just on/off. I haven't purchased yet, so I am just asking...

http://www.dimmers.net/maestro_ir.asp
nickbuol is offline  
post #1276 of 3019 Old 03-21-2012, 06:45 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
damelon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 2,176
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickbuol View Post

Any reason someone couldn't use a set of Lutron Maestro IRs? Are the Leviton's better? I was going to go with Maestro IRs for wall sconces, can lights, and then some regular switches for the rope lights (color changing LED, so they will be turned on and off via remote anyway) and for the star ceiling panel that is just on/off. I haven't purchased yet, so I am just asking...

http://www.dimmers.net/maestro_ir.asp

There is no reason you couldn't use those. However I wanted to use RF/Z-Wave and be able to control them without directly pointing at them. Based on where they are in the room it wouldn't be a big deal for me either way, but I prefer to not require Line of Sight, and my harmony supports RF so it worked great for me.
damelon is offline  
post #1277 of 3019 Old 03-21-2012, 06:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nickbuol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Marion, Iowa
Posts: 2,911
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 671 Post(s)
Liked: 709
Makes since. Thanks for the clarification. My light switches will be to the side and slightly in front of the seating area. I just figured that they would generally be controlled once, maybe three times (in case of a bathroom/food/phone stop) during a movie. Plus my Harmony One isn't RF.

Thanks again. Now back to just watching your build continue.
nickbuol is offline  
post #1278 of 3019 Old 03-21-2012, 08:08 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
damelon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 2,176
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 286
So looks like the plan is that on the wall exterior to the movie room we are going to put a stone veneer and sconces. So the entryway will need to be finished up (Painted). This will also mesh into the bar area behind the theater, but I'm not sure on the timetable as we are looking to do a lot of outdoor work like patio, pool, hot tub, etc. My wife will be the driving force on priority there as I'm sure we can't do it all at once. Still, I will provide photos and updates once any of that happens, even though it isn't technically part of the theater.
damelon is offline  
post #1279 of 3019 Old 03-21-2012, 08:31 AM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 28,151
Mentioned: 267 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3898 Post(s)
Liked: 3333
Quote:
Originally Posted by damelon View Post

And to be honest, I am not thrilled with those step lights. I may switch them out. They don't put out enough light to really even see that they're there. Needs to be a little brighter.

I am reaching the same conclusion after having installed a couple more of these bargain lights (Under $10)

I did some searching based on something to stuff in a standard single gang box and run on line voltage. Found a couple LED lights.

http://www.lightinguniverse.com/led-...e_g547088.html

http://www.laststoplighting.com/p6827-30.html

on LED lights 3000k isn't too unnatural of a color light, if you go higher they start getting Bluish/white.

The first (cheaper) doesn't mention if they are dimmable would need to check.
BIGmouthinDC is offline  
post #1280 of 3019 Old 03-21-2012, 08:35 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
damelon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 2,176
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGmouthinDC View Post

I am reaching the same conclusion after having installed a couple more of these bargain lights (Under $10)

I did some searching based on something to stuff in a standard single gang box and run on line voltage. Found a couple LED lights.

http://www.lightinguniverse.com/led-...e_g547088.html

http://www.laststoplighting.com/p6827-30.html

on LED lights 3000k isn't too unnatural of a color light, if you go higher they start getting Bluish/white.

The first (cheaper) doesn't mention if they are dimmable would need to check.

I dont know if it's the bulb itself or the actual cover. I dont think that cover lets out a lot of light in general. As long as it has a cover like that, I dont think the dimming part would matter. However I think something like this would be necessary to give out enough light to actually make it more visible.

http://www.lightingdirect.com/elco-e...ce=gba_1661374
damelon is offline  
post #1281 of 3019 Old 03-21-2012, 09:33 AM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 28,151
Mentioned: 267 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3898 Post(s)
Liked: 3333
My bias is to use lights that don't have the potential to shine in the direction of the screen, that is why on the front side of a riser I like the louver design. On the side it is a different story.
BIGmouthinDC is offline  
post #1282 of 3019 Old 03-21-2012, 06:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Expat444's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Bay Area CA
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGmouthinDC View Post

My bias is to use lights that don't have the potential to shine in the direction of the screen, that is why on the front side of a riser I like the louver design. On the side it is a different story.

+1, I had to change my front riser light cover to a louvre one as it was reflecting off the hardwood floor onto the screen.
Expat444 is offline  
post #1283 of 3019 Old 03-22-2012, 05:36 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
damelon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 2,176
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGmouthinDC View Post

My bias is to use lights that don't have the potential to shine in the direction of the screen, that is why on the front side of a riser I like the louver design. On the side it is a different story.

I wouldn't want that either. It still needs to be bright enough though to actually have a function. They are just too dim as-is. Trial and error I guess!
damelon is offline  
post #1284 of 3019 Old 03-22-2012, 04:45 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
damelon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 2,176
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Quick "Leftovers"

I have 3 pieces of 2" thick OC703 at 2' x 4'
I have 17 pieces of 1" thick 3lb dense cotton at 2' x 4'
I have 7 pieces of 2" thick 3lb dense cotton at 2' x 4'

I also have about 17 feet (give or take a couple of feet) of the red "Claret Accent" GOM on a spool.

If anyone is interested in any of my old materials, let me know. Local Pickup is preferred due to size. My car wasn't made to fit boxes like that in.
damelon is offline  
post #1285 of 3019 Old 03-22-2012, 05:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Expat444's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Bay Area CA
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by damelon View Post

Quick "Leftovers"

I have 3 pieces of 2" thick OC703 at 2' x 4'
I have 17 pieces of 1" thick 3lb dense cotton at 2' x 4'
I have 7 pieces of 2" thick 3lb dense cotton at 2' x 4'

I also have about 17 feet (give or take a couple of feet) of the red "Claret Accent" GOM on a spool.

If anyone is interested in any of my old materials, let me know. Local Pickup is preferred due to size. My car wasn't made to fit boxes like that in.

I'm interested if you don't get any local takers, thanks.
Expat444 is offline  
post #1286 of 3019 Old 03-24-2012, 03:11 PM
Senior Member
 
DIYHomeTheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by damelon View Post

Here is an example of building a wall!

BEFORE:

Now the top black panel is inserted...

Another Angle

I don't see any electrical outlets along the walls. Are there any?
DIYHomeTheater is offline  
post #1287 of 3019 Old 03-24-2012, 03:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
dstew100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by damelon View Post

Quick "Leftovers"

I have 3 pieces of 2" thick OC703 at 2' x 4'
I have 17 pieces of 1" thick 3lb dense cotton at 2' x 4'
I have 7 pieces of 2" thick 3lb dense cotton at 2' x 4'

I also have about 17 feet (give or take a couple of feet) of the red "Claret Accent" GOM on a spool.

If anyone is interested in any of my old materials, let me know. Local Pickup is preferred due to size. My car wasn't made to fit boxes like that in.

PM sent
dstew100 is offline  
post #1288 of 3019 Old 03-24-2012, 04:03 PM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 28,151
Mentioned: 267 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3898 Post(s)
Liked: 3333
Quote:
Originally Posted by DIYHomeTheater View Post

I don't see any electrical outlets along the walls. Are there any?

Sides of columns, usually on the side you can't easily see. Front wall behind the screen wall, Front of riser. Plenty. Most of the wiring was done inside the room and traveled around the room inside the soffits minimizing wall penetrations.

here is a pic of the front column.

BIGmouthinDC is offline  
post #1289 of 3019 Old 03-24-2012, 04:30 PM
Senior Member
 
DIYHomeTheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGmouthinDC View Post


Sides of columns, usually on the side you can't easily see. Front wall behind the screen wall, Front of riser. Plenty. Most of the wiring was done inside the room and traveled around the room inside the soffits minimizing wall penetrations.

here is a pic of the front column.

Thanks. So, no electrical boxes where you have fabric covered walls?
DIYHomeTheater is offline  
post #1290 of 3019 Old 03-24-2012, 04:40 PM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 28,151
Mentioned: 267 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3898 Post(s)
Liked: 3333
Quote:
Originally Posted by DIYHomeTheater View Post

Thanks. So, no electrical boxes where you have fabric covered walls?

in this case but there is an example of an outlet on a 1 inch thick fabric wall on the Black Cat theater thread. You build a furring frame surrounding the outlet, staple the fabric, cut a hole for the receptacle, You need to pull the receptacle out flush with extra long screws, The cover plate covers the staples. Make sure you know how big it is and where you can staple.
BIGmouthinDC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

Tags
Optoma Th1060p Projector , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , M80 V3 Floorstanding Speaker Boston Cherry , Sony Vpl Vw95es Full Hd 3d Home Cinema Projector , Seaton Sound Submersive H P

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off