AVS Forum banner

New House, because I love this stuff.

109K views 628 replies 97 participants last post by  rob black 
#1 ·
Well, the name says it all. I set out to buy/ build a new house because my old place didn't have the space I wanted for my home theater. Until recently, I worked in the industry as a consultant and had the opportunity to acquire some fun toys over the years. As I am in the middle of a home build and I am currently in frame, I would very much appreciate everyone's thoughts and suggestions. So here is the plan.....

#2 ·

This is the house my wife and I are building. 3900 Sq ft with a game and media room.

#6 ·
Scope:

Centralized Equipment Location

12 Zones of HDMI distributed Video

15 Zones of Audio

Control4 Control System

Lighting Control of 90% or greater of all switches in home.

HVAC Control

Solar Panels

Dedicated Theater with Genelec Sound, Stewart Screen, and JVC 950 Projector

3-Display Game Room with Arcade setup for game play across all displays

8+ Security Cameras

Occupancy Sensors in 6 rooms

Seating Sensors in Theater

This will probably grow, but the equipment I have purchased accomplishes the scope above.

#7 ·

Current State - They put on the roof today, I haven't taken any pictures yet. Meeting with electrical contractor tomorrow morning.

#8 ·

Backyard - I would also like to do a theater in the backyard once everything is done.

#9 ·

I plan to model the game room after this. Little different, 46" Sony Google TV flanked by (2) 24" LEDs.

#10 ·

This is my inspiration theater. Clean lines, comfortable. I have several trades that work with me and I plan to work with them to do wainscoting on the bottom with speakers behind faux panels and fabric walls above. Considering star ceiling.

#11 ·
Wiring Plan:

Master Bedroom -

·***** Coax for cameras to TV from equipment

·***** Dual Cat-5 for balun

·***** Dual Cat-5 for data

·***** Audio Back-feed

·***** In-Wall Speakers