Control of AV components. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 11-05-2011, 02:33 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
outlikealight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi everybody,

Right now all of components are below my screen. I am going to a dedicated room and the components will now be in wall behind the seating area.

How are you guys controlling all of your AV components that are behind the seating area or in another room?

Thanks for any help in advance.
outlikealight is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 11-05-2011, 02:36 PM
Senior Member
 
MarkDub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lots of IR repeater options which are easy and cheap...

Mark
______________________________________________
Oh...Johnny, I apologize; I forgot you were there. You may go now.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MarkDub is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 11-05-2011, 02:43 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
outlikealight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkDub View Post

Lots of IR repeater options which are easy and cheap...

Thanks for the reply. I have a Harmony IR repeater. But the cable length is nowhere near what I would need for placement. Just trying to find out what others are using.
outlikealight is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 11-05-2011, 02:49 PM
Senior Member
 
MarkDub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not familiar with that model, but you should have no problems with most options running longer cables to meet your needs. For example, check out the instructions on this one:
http://www.buffaloelectronics.com/infrared/ir350.htm

Mark
______________________________________________
Oh...Johnny, I apologize; I forgot you were there. You may go now.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MarkDub is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 11-05-2011, 03:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fotto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: N.E. OH
Posts: 1,868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 19
This is working nicely for my needs (eqpt rack outside of HT)
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B002IC0YL8/...SIN=B002IC0YL8

Floyd

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
fotto is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 11-05-2011, 03:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MrBobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 16
In Michael Jackson's HT he used to have a console (captain chair) in the sweet spot where he controls everything.

Solution: FREE. Explanation: I will have to charge$ you.

MrBobb is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 11-05-2011, 03:16 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
outlikealight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBobb View Post

In Michael Jackson's HT he used to have a console (captain chair) in the sweet spot where he controls everything.

Unfortunately - I don't have a command deck or a crew that listens to me.
outlikealight is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 11-05-2011, 03:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brad Horstkotte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 5,119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 57
I use a Harmony 880 IR remote, and a HotLink XL Cat5 IR repeater:

http://www.amazon.com/Hot-Link-CAT-5...0531375&sr=1-1


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
| Xbox Live: Atomic Hamper
Brad Horstkotte is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 11-05-2011, 03:37 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 7,563
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 402
I have used IR repeaters and I moved to RF. I like RF much better. Never have to worry about pointing the remote. Also consider Ethernet control if you are getting new equipment.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Brands we sell: 
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 
Call for B-stock projectors
Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI, Falcon & many more.
RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Technology, MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech.
AV Science Sales 5 is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 11-05-2011, 03:39 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
outlikealight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brad Horstkotte View Post

I use a Harmony 880 IR remote, and a HotLink XL Cat5 IR repeater:

http://www.amazon.com/Hot-Link-CAT-5...0531375&sr=1-1

That looks promising. I tried to google the direction but came up with nothing. Does it come with the Cat5 cable and how long was it.

Sorry for the questions .
outlikealight is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 11-05-2011, 04:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brad Horstkotte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 5,119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 57
I don't think it came with a cat5 cable, or if it did, it was very short, so not useful. I used a spare cat5 cable I had laying around, connected to cat5 wiring and wall plate connectors that I ran between behind my screen wall and the equipment room.

Instructions:

http://www.hot-link.com/pages/produc...id=1&mrchid=11
http://www.hot-link.com/dl.cgi/12041...kxlinstruc.pdf


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
| Xbox Live: Atomic Hamper
Brad Horstkotte is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 11-05-2011, 09:07 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
outlikealight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 05 View Post

I have used IR repeaters and I moved to RF. I like RF much better. Never have to worry about pointing the remote. Also consider Ethernet control if you are getting new equipment.

Thanks. I will research that a little also.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Brad Horstkotte View Post

I don't think it came with a cat5 cable, or if it did, it was very short, so not useful. I used a spare cat5 cable I had laying around, connected to cat5 wiring and wall plate connectors that I ran between behind my screen wall and the equipment room.

Instructions:

http://www.hot-link.com/pages/produc...id=1&mrchid=11
http://www.hot-link.com/dl.cgi/12041...kxlinstruc.pdf

Thanks - I appreciate the help.
outlikealight is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 11-07-2011, 06:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AirBenji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 1,367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 71
If you have an iPad, you could check out iRule. There's a huge thread here on it and many people really are enjoying the app.

The Esquire Theater Construction Thread:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
AirBenji is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 11-07-2011, 07:52 AM
Member
 
EricM313's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just another vote for the Hot Link XL repeater over CAT5. On the "front of the room" side, it has a sensor and an acknowledgement LED. I put both behind an AT screen and the blue confirmation LED is just barely visible through the screen if you are looking for it. It then has a nice six-head IR blaster on the other end.

I ended up getting the Harmony One and the repeater instead of the 900 because I heard Logitech removed sequences from the 900. They are not critical, but I like having the lights turn off when I hit play, and them turn on to 20% brightness when I hit pause. It's simple, but makes me smile every time.
EricM313 is offline  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off