Jautor's Rock Creek Theater - A post-build retrospective - Page 11 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #301 of 315 Old 02-20-2014, 01:00 PM
Member
 
Stridulent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11

Hey man, thanks again for the invite to the meet-and-demo. I was curious what all you used to mirror the video output on multiple screens throughout the house. Device(s), wiring, etc. 

Stridulent is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #302 of 315 Old 02-20-2014, 02:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 335
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stridulent View Post

Hey man, thanks again for the invite to the meet-and-demo. I was curious what all you used to mirror the video output on multiple screens throughout the house. Device(s), wiring, etc. 

There's a combination of two setups. First, the theater system's HDMI output is mirrored via the HDMI-sub output on the pre-pro, with a short HDMI cable through the wall to the on-wall TV in my game room, just outside the theater. That's the only display that can see the local source(s) in the theater.

The 'whole house' sources (two DirecTV receivers, BD, and DVD players) are common to all displays, including the theater. Those are distributed via a bank of Aton HDR44 units:

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1146188/aton-hdr44-hd-over-cat5-a-quick-review

I use the DVD/BD players on that setup to cue up pre-show entertainment (cartoon shorts, THX trailers, etc.), and have also just played "Nothing but Trailers" from HDNet AXS TV... The only downside to that setup for theater usage is for BD content limited to 1080i and DD5.1, but it's not a big deal. The local BD player is always used for the main content, of course...

Every display location in the house was wired with 3+ cat5e cables, with the Aton units using two of those for component video, analog and digital audio, and routed IR. All that cable is home-run to the equipment closet.


Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
post #303 of 315 Old 02-20-2014, 03:20 PM
AnalysisParalysis Analyst
 
TMcG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,405
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by jautor View Post

I use the DVD/BD players on that setup to cue up pre-show entertainment (cartoon shorts, THX trailers, etc.), and have also just played "Nothing but Trailers" from HDNet AXS TV... The only downside to that setup for theater usage is for BD content limited to 1080i and DD5.1, but it's not a big deal. The local BD player is always used for the main content, of course...

Does your BD player have a USB port that would allow you to autoplay these files (trailers, etc.) off a USB thumb drive and then transition directly to the BD when you want?
TMcG is online now  
post #304 of 315 Old 02-20-2014, 03:34 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 335
Quote:
Originally Posted by TMcG View Post

Does your BD player have a USB port that would allow you to autoplay these files (trailers, etc.) off a USB thumb drive and then transition directly to the BD when you want?

It does (Oppo BD93). But the problem I've found is that the transition is nothing that we'd call "direct" or "instant". Moving from the network / streaming / USB services back to the BD transport wipes out any context in the player's firmware / memory, so the BD loads from the start. Which means waiting for the disc to load, then skipping the embedded trailers, etc. Luckily I tried this in a dry run before I had a room full of people. (Isn't that a AV theater geek move!!!")

So I stick with the multi-player approach to keep everything truly cue'd up. I've used an Xbox for showing a Youtube playlist I created to re-create the pre-show bits the local Alamo Drafthouse used before "Oblivion" - for the same reason. If I ripped the BD content to a server, I'm sure it could be done well, but I'm avoiding that leap for all the other reasons...

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
post #305 of 315 Old 05-05-2014, 11:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 335
For anyone following - avtexan has just finished his theater on the southern side of town, and is preparing for another Houston get together:

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1530545/houston-area-gtg-summer-2014#post_24687399

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
post #306 of 315 Old 05-15-2014, 07:34 PM
Member
 
Maklar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: House of the Mouse, FL
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I know it's been a while but do you happen to know the actual fabric used for your curtains? I'm trying to find a nice velvet fabric to make into curtains and it's taking a while smile.gif
Maklar is online now  
post #307 of 315 Old 05-15-2014, 10:22 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 335
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maklar View Post

I know it's been a while but do you happen to know the actual fabric used for your curtains? I'm trying to find a nice velvet fabric to make into curtains and it's taking a while smile.gif

I don't, sorry... The decorator located it at one of the fabric shops. It was "relatively inexpensive", though...

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
post #308 of 315 Old 05-17-2014, 06:31 PM
Member
 
Maklar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: House of the Mouse, FL
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Thanks, I'll look around some more here. I checked out syfabrics but they don't look quite like what I am looking for.
Maklar is online now  
post #309 of 315 Old 05-19-2014, 09:04 AM
Member
 
Wahoo_envy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Jeff,

Do you remember how many coats of the Modern Masters "Antique Cooper" it took for good coverage in the coffers? I took a chance on some Rust-Oleum metallic paint that was advertised as a flat/matte that actually turned out to be semi-gloss. What a disaster is was -- good thing I figured it out a quarter of the way into the paint job. Anyway, I have re-primed the affected area and I might as well spend the extra on the Modern Masters metallic since I like the way your coffers glow in the pictures.

Also, that Tuftex carpet is nice stuff. I went with a Tuftex with a slightly higher pile and its costing me $2K for 426 sq. ft. I blew the budget on that one by 33%.

Regards,

Shawn
Wahoo_envy is offline  
post #310 of 315 Old 05-19-2014, 11:26 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 335
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wahoo_envy View Post

Do you remember how many coats of the Modern Masters "Antique Cooper" it took for good coverage in the coffers?

No, I wasn't there to watch them paint it, but they only used two or three quarts of Modern Masters for the whole job. I remember having a bit left over in one quart jar, and throwing out an empty one. I figure there was about 320 sqft to cover, which according to MM's website, would be the conservative end of coverage for one gallon...
Quote:
Colors in the Metallic Paint Collection contain three levels of coverage/hide: Opaque, Semi-Opaque and Sheer. Opaque colors have excellent hide; two coats are recommended for best results. Semi-Opaque colors have good hide; three coats are recommended for best results. Sheer colors are translucent overcoats that when viewed from various angles flash color and/or give luster to traditional paints, other Metallic Paint colors or faux finishes/broken color. Coverage: 320-400 sq. ft./gallon

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
post #311 of 315 Old 06-06-2014, 09:36 AM
Member
 
kmhvball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Mason, Ohio
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by jautor View Post
 

Low-Voltage Wiring

 

I also picked up some inexpensive 50' Xantech IR emitter cables with 3.5mm ends, which easily reached the projector location and the GrafikEye. Since that wire would enter the line-voltage GrafikEye box, I added a pigtail later using a 1' section of Lutron control wire, which is rated to be inside a line-voltage junction box.

Wire Materials:

  • IR: Xantech emitter extension cable

 

Wire locations:

  • GrafikEye: 1x Cat5e, IR emitter cable
 

Jeff

 

Hi Jeff... I am planning to use the Grafik Eye QS, and want to be able to use the IR port on the back, and I see a normal IR wire isn't allowed into the high voltage box per code, so you did the pig tail.   I have seen in another one of your posts reference to PLEV for the pigtail.    I haven't spent much time, but did a few quick google searches and nothing clear was popping up.  I saw PLEV associated with some LED light circuits, and I saw some Lutron Control wire in 500' spools, but wasn't real sure what I should be getting.  

 

I assume you just cut the 1 end of the xantech emitter off and did a simple wire nut splice with the control/plev wire into the high voltage box?

kmhvball is offline  
post #312 of 315 Old 06-06-2014, 12:21 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 335
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmhvball View Post

Hi Jeff... I am planning to use the Grafik Eye QS, and want to be able to use the IR port on the back, and I see a normal IR wire isn't allowed into the high voltage box per code, so you did the pig tail.   I have seen in another one of your posts reference to PLEV for the pigtail.    I haven't spent much time, but did a few quick google searches and nothing clear was popping up.  I saw PLEV associated with some LED light circuits, and I saw some Lutron Control wire in 500' spools, but wasn't real sure what I should be getting.  

I probably misspelled it again. It's PELV (Protected Extra Low Voltage). The difference is that this wire is rated to be in the same box with high-voltage AC wire (romex). Lutron sells it, and I got mine from Hank's Electric who sells it by the foot (~$.45/ft).
Quote:
I assume you just cut the 1 end of the xantech emitter off and did a simple wire nut splice with the control/plev wire into the high voltage box?

No reason to even involve an emitter, and I'd use a larger-gauge wire, too. I was able to pigtail to a location nearby as my GE backs to the attic anyway, and terminated in a 3.5mm jack, which I then just attached to a 25' emitter extender cable. But a length of PELV with a 3.5mm male jack soldered on the far end would be simpler - and would be my recommendation as you certainly don't want splices in the walls if you have no access to fix them later...

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
post #313 of 315 Old 06-07-2014, 01:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 335
Well, while attempting to watch Game of Thrones last weekend, I noticed the image seemed dim, and with ~900-1000 hours on the JVC lamp, it was probably time to try "High" lamp mode. Which did make a difference, especially since GoT is almost all dark anyway. But 30 minutes in - POP! - smell of smoke, screen goes black, LEDs flashing red... Time for a new lamp! Glad that happened while I was watching alone and not with a theater full of people! eek.gif

Quick note to AV Science, and I'm up and running (thanks Jason!). And so that bill reminded me I have a perfectly good extra subwoofer sitting here:

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1534832/martin-logan-depth-subwoofer

(along with an extra 2-channel setup, and a B&K pre-pro/amp I need to set up for sale, too)

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
post #314 of 315 Old 06-09-2014, 11:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cw5billwade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GA
Posts: 1,090
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 93
1000 hours seems like not a lot is that normal for the JVC my Panny is rated for 4000-5000 hours.
cw5billwade is offline  
post #315 of 315 Old 06-09-2014, 11:25 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 335
Quote:
Originally Posted by cw5billwade View Post

1000 hours seems like not a lot is that normal for the JVC my Panny is rated for 4000-5000 hours.

For the RS50 with the original lamp design, this apparently was fairly typical. JVC was replacing some short-life lamps under warranty as they weren't lasting like they should (nor performing well). The lamp design / manufacturing has been improved, so hopefully my new lamp will fare better! Which is why I bought the lamp from AV Science - to ensure I got the most recent design version. Manufacture date on my lamp assembly was in April - so it was only in the supply chain for 6 weeks.

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off