New construction underway - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 02-15-2012, 11:31 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rogerssa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Been working on my new house. I've doing much of the basement right now with some help from the framers. Thought I'd put up a few pics to show progress.

Sorry for crappy photos did them with my iPhone.

From the back looking forward to where screen will be.



The bulk head that is killing me in the middle of the back row. Have some work to do here, can't get rid of it, but think I can save a lot of room if I get rid of the 2x4 framing boards and put drywall right up to the pipe.



Picture of my rack in the back of the room.



Still lots to do. Have columns up now just need a new pic of that. This is a home theater room but back of the room will be open to the basement, because we host a lot of sports parties and we like the room to watch from the bar as well. (I'm having an custom Irish bar built for other end of basement.)
rogerssa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 02-15-2012, 11:49 AM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 20,432
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 508
I see a HUGE amount of wasted headroom in the pictures of the bulkhead hanging down. You are right, bridge the bottom with drywall hanging just below the lowest hanging obstacle.
BIGmouthinDC is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 02-15-2012, 11:58 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rogerssa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It was how we had to setup septic to on that side of the house. Made the one run for all bathrooms for that septic pipe come right accross there. Only option I had. Trust me I argued with plumbers a lot. They moved it 3 times for me and this was best setup. Framers just didn't follow directions very well. So now I'll just bridge the drywall. Should get at least 6 more inches of head room.
rogerssa is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 02-15-2012, 02:27 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Dennis Erskine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Near an airport
Posts: 9,136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 43
You'll have to build a platform for that rack. You cannot set it down that low. And, while I'm thinking about it, just how are you going to get behind the rack to manage the wiring?

Dennis Erskine CFI, CFII, MEI
Architectural Acoustics
Subject Matter Expert
Certified Home Theater Designer
CEDIA Board of Directors
www.erskine-group.com
www.CinemaForte.net
Dennis Erskine is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 02-15-2012, 03:59 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rogerssa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Erskine View Post

You'll have to build a platform for that rack. You cannot set it down that low. And, while I'm thinking about it, just how are you going to get behind the rack to manage the wiring?

Why can't it be that low may I ask. How far should I build it up? I don't have that much room to build it up.

I plan on doing a remote IR.

Also it's hard to tell but I can fit behind the rack. I also thought about trimming it out so hat I could push it out or put it on casters.
rogerssa is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 02-15-2012, 04:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Glimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by rogerssa View Post

Why can't it be that low may I ask. How far should I build it up? I don't have that much room to build it up.

I plan on doing a remote IR.

Also it's hard to tell but I can fit behind the rack. I also thought about trimming it out so hat I could push it out or put it on casters.

Well it can, it's just not typically done. Dirt, getting kicked, etc. Most commercial racks have a three to four inch base built in.

FWEIW, I put my Slim5 rack group on a 4x4 frame and glued standard cove base to the front to finish it off.

BTW, are you using pressure treated lumber sitting on that bare concrete?

Glimmie's HT Page
Being redone - comming soon!

Glimmie is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 02-15-2012, 06:13 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rogerssa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's sitting on 2x4's right now. They are pressure treated. I can add another 2x4 to raise it up no problem. So it's near the 4x4 you talk about.
rogerssa is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 02-16-2012, 04:56 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Dennis Erskine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Near an airport
Posts: 9,136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:


Why can't it be that low may I ask. How far should I build it up? I don't have that much room to build it up.

Ventilation is one; but, let's forget about that for a moment ...
If that rack ever has to come out...for any reason...you want the base of the rack higher than the baseboard and trimmed in such a manner as to make it easy to move out.

Finer points ... you may be able to fit behind the rack; but, can you actually work behind the rack? Stand up, sit down, strip cables, reach tools, etc.?

Back to ventilation ... how are you going to circulate air and remove hot air from that cavity?

It's your room, you can do what you want; but, that will be a problem for you. I would have suggested an AXS type so it can actually be pulled out and worked on.

Dennis Erskine CFI, CFII, MEI
Architectural Acoustics
Subject Matter Expert
Certified Home Theater Designer
CEDIA Board of Directors
www.erskine-group.com
www.CinemaForte.net
Dennis Erskine is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 02-16-2012, 05:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tony123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Upstate, South Carolina
Posts: 4,992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Can you post a plan?

The "Twinseltown" Theater
Construction Thread
tony123 is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 02-16-2012, 05:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
J_P_A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: L.A. - Lower Alabama
Posts: 3,814
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 188
+1

I'm not sure if you're looking for advice or not, but it would certainly help everyone get a better idea of what your space looks like, and help keep everyone's interest. I'm fairly certain we all have a touch of AD... SQUIRREL!

Dude, are you made of leprechauns? Cause that was awesome!

The Plains Theater Has Begun
J_P_A is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 02-16-2012, 06:13 AM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 20,432
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 508
On the rack, I like to have it high enough so that you can at least run your baseboard molding underneath. Looking at the picture it is not obvious how you intend to finish the outside corner of the cut out, In other words is there room to drywall around the corner or to add something to finish it off.
BIGmouthinDC is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 02-16-2012, 07:15 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rogerssa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGmouthinDC View Post

On the rack, I like to have it high enough so that you can at least run your baseboard molding underneath. Looking at the picture it is not obvious how you intend to finish the outside corner of the cut out, In other words is there room to drywall around the corner or to add something to finish it off.

I see what you are saying, and I didn't think about that till now. So glad I posted this info. Anyway I'm going to raise it up this weekend to give room to run trim around the full thing. I had planned on just trimming it out with 3" trim.
rogerssa is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 02-16-2012, 07:45 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rogerssa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here are a few more pics of the plans of the basement

Here is the sketch I drew up to start with. (sorry for the poor quality didn't scan into the PC so well after I drew with with pencil)



This is the basement floor layout.


Here is the bar drawing that my cabinet builder sent me.
rogerssa is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 02-16-2012, 07:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Ontario
Posts: 3,842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Column sconce aisle four seats aisle sconce column in fourteen feet of width?
Tedd is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 02-16-2012, 08:48 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rogerssa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I removed the back column it didn't work. Didn't update the drawing.
rogerssa is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 04-17-2012, 06:36 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rogerssa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thought I'd post a quick update to my theater build. Here is Picture I took on Friday.

rogerssa is offline  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off