Speaker cable as powerbridge? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 03-14-2012, 07:37 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
pocoloco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Is it possible to use in-wall rated 12awg speaker wire to connect the two points between a powerbridge?

I'm guessing no but thought I'd ask.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
pocoloco is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 03-14-2012, 08:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,892
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 357
Absolutely not. (assuming you mean for carrying A/C power)

Could you use the speaker wire as a pull string to yank some romex through?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

jautor is online now  
post #3 of 13 Old 03-14-2012, 08:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
pocoloco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
didn't think so. I'm in chicago so romex doesn't even cut it. everything needs to be in metal conduit. I was hoping a powerbridge would be an exception. wishful thinking.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
pocoloco is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 03-14-2012, 09:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,892
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 357
Didn't even see your location, but yeah, you're really out of luck there. You might check to see if armored cable can be used for retrofit and meet code.

But my statement was based on safety, not code. No telling what the insulation on the speaker wire could take from a heat/damage perspective, and that's the unsafe part...

Good luck!

Jeff


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

jautor is online now  
post #5 of 13 Old 03-14-2012, 09:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
advertguy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Oakville, Ontario
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you're considering this, you first need to change your name to muyloco
advertguy2 is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 03-14-2012, 09:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
J_P_A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: L.A. - Lower Alabama
Posts: 4,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 257
+1 - NO!

No harm in asking, but that's one of those that scares me just to think about. Of course, lamp cord's not much more than speaker wire, but you can't run that in wall either

Dude, are you made of leprechauns? Cause that was awesome!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
J_P_A is online now  
post #7 of 13 Old 03-14-2012, 11:01 AM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 20,806
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 261 Post(s)
Liked: 608
F no! You might see if flexible metal conduit is acceptable in your area. that could be installed in a existing wall without too much effort.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
PROJECTS:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,

BIGmouthinDC is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 03-14-2012, 05:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
longtimelurker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
i believe in chicago it is all/only FMC/RMC
longtimelurker is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 03-14-2012, 05:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
BrittonYoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 31
lol, I have been enjoying all the responses. One other question....Ground?

Check out my whole house build
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
BrittonYoder is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 01-18-2013, 01:19 PM
Senior Member
 
justtaint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I always thought the metal conduit, when done correctly was the ground.

Tom
justtaint is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 01-18-2013, 03:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 79
FMC = flexible metal conduit

I think FMC would be easy to retrofit, for a power bridge.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 01-18-2013, 04:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
weaselfest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Home of the Hawkeyes
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 32
the conduit itself will not be considered the grounding element in the circuit., even if the continuity exists. There must be a dedicated ground wire inside the conduit, ensuring an uninterrupted path to earth ground.
Then again, your code may vary, consult the local authority of jurisdiction in your region.

underachiever extraordinaire
weaselfest is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 01-19-2013, 08:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mr.Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SC
Posts: 2,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 56
EMT, RMC and IMC are all acceptable equipment grounding conductors. See NEC 250.118.

FMC is only acceptable for use as a EGC when the sum of all lengths used to furnish a ground path in a circuit is less than 6 feet. Beyond 6 feet you need to pull a EGC or use MC.

What all that gibberish means is if your powerbridge is less than 6 feet long, you can use FMC (aka "greenfield", "bx") with no need to pull a ground (green or bare copper wire). Beyond 6 feet, you'll be pulling black, white and green. Or just use MC cable, which has a green EGC inside the armor already.

Subject to local amendments.. but I've never heard of any.

Tim

ICC Certified.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
||
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
||
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
||
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Mr.Tim is online now  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off