AVS Forum banner

Hawaii Home Theater Construction AND the Quick and Dirty Theater!

155K views 1K replies 116 participants last post by  just jim 
#1 · (Edited)
Opening remarks: After years of planning and reading, this is my first attempt at a real
home theater. I have no construction experience whatsoever. As much as I adopted a mentality of "measure 6 times and cut once", I probably wasted a lot more materials in building this room than any professional would have due to trial and error at times (at least I would hope). My purpose in this build thread was twofold; it would keep the pressure on myself not to waste time or give up and secondly show everyone that anyone can create a wonderful home theater if they truly wanted to. On a technical standpoint, even though I had completed years of research, it would have been impossible to get this done without the advice on numerous occasions from a good friend, Jim Goodrich at Cinelife. My family and I are in his debt for helping make this dream come true. I want to also thank my wife for putting up with me (and the large bills) while I muddled along at times aimlessly during this build. She knows how much this meant to me and supported me along the way and I love her even more for it. I am a very lucky person to have the family I do. Without further ado.....

The following equipment list has been modified with the most current information on 21 September 2015

Equipment:
Aerial Acoustics 20T Mains in birds-eye-maple
Aerial Acoustics CC5 center speaker in Birds-eye-maple
Aerial Acoustics LR5 (Wides)
Aerial Acoustics 5B (Heights)
Aerial Acoustics SW12 subwoofer X 4 in Birds-eye-maple (1 in each corner)
Aerial Acoustics SR3 surrounds
Aerial Acoustics 5T ceiling surrounds X 3 pair

Definitive Technology BPVX (rear surrounds- left over from my previous system)

Kaleidescape 3U Movie server
Kaleidescape M700 Disc Vault

Sony VPL-VW1000ES 4K Projector (upgraded to VPL-VW1100ES standard)

ISCO Anamorphic Lens on a Cineslide