Need some ideas/help with brick mounting and wires for new tv. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 04-27-2012, 07:40 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
greeknasty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have a picture attatched of my house..i really want something that looks good for the 55inch tv i bought but i also dont want to cut down walls and go in fireplaces to pull wires..anbody have any ideas? the nearest outlet is on the wall to the left and its about a foot or less away from cabinets...any ideas would be greatly appreciated
LL
greeknasty is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 04-27-2012, 08:12 PM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
What is above that room? Any competent electrician that knows their business will be able to pull a outlet. Only other thing I can suggest as you the homeowner, would be using wiremold like you see in schools that have brick walls, but it will be what they call "Putty" colored, and stick out.
gregzoll is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 04-27-2012, 08:57 PM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 20,701
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 580
The minimum visible wiring would be to hook the tv up an extension cord and hide a wireless HDMI adapter behind the TV. Now if you want to totally hide the wiring you have to do some surgery, sorry no free lunch. Looking at the picture, get a white extension cord and run along the back edge of the mantel over to the side. You really need to get an outlet in the base of the cabinets and cut some holes to run wires for the other gear.
BIGmouthinDC is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 04-27-2012, 09:35 PM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGmouthinDC View Post

The minimum visible wiring would be to hook the tv up an extension cord and hide a wireless HDMI adapter behind the TV. Now if you want to totally hide the wiring you have to do some surgery, sorry no free lunch. Looking at the picture, get a white extension cord and run along the back edge of the mantel over to the side. You really need to get an outlet in the base of the cabinets and cut some holes to run wires for the other gear.

Sorry, but an extension cord is only rated for "Temporary" use. The way you are stating, that means that it becomes permanent use at that point for the OP.
gregzoll is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 04-27-2012, 10:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audiovideoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Murray KY
Posts: 2,365
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post

Sorry, but an extension cord is only rated for "Temporary" use. The way you are stating, that means that it becomes permanent use at that point for the OP.

Are you serious? Its not a spare tire here. A good extension cord is no different than power strips.

LMAO
audiovideoholic is online now  
post #6 of 10 Old 04-28-2012, 04:00 AM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 20,701
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 580
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post

Sorry, but an extension cord is only rated for "Temporary" use. The way you are stating, that means that it becomes permanent use at that point for the OP.

If it is going to keep you up at night, exchange the power cord that came with the TV for a longer white one.
BIGmouthinDC is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 04-28-2012, 08:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
carboranadum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Winchester, VA
Posts: 2,940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Is that a real fireplace or a gas burning insert? If it's a gas burner, chances are that the brick is only one layer deep. You may be able to remove a single prick and install a box where you want your TV to be.

If it's real, you may be able to remove the mantle and install a chase to route wires through it. That would make wires visible for only a small part on each end. A little paint matching and you would barely notice that they are there. OK, since you are in this forum with the rest of us who have an unhealthy dose of OCD, YOU will notice, but your family and friends won't see a thing!

Good luck!

Follow my build here: Harvest Ridge Theater
carboranadum is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 04-28-2012, 09:50 AM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiovideoholic View Post

Are you serious? Its not a spare tire here. A good extension cord is no different than power strips.

LMAO

Yes I am serious, and there is no such thing as a "good" extension cord. Read the info on them sometime, that is printed on the packaging, along with the NEC regarding the use of them. They have and always are for "Temporary" use only.
gregzoll is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 04-28-2012, 01:57 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
greeknasty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for the replies guys..i was thinking i needed some kind of extension/surge protector..and if i do get one it will be a rather nice one not a cheapo..ill have the tv/cablebox/ps3 hooked up. also its 1 story and its a real log brick fireplace that will never be used
greeknasty is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 04-28-2012, 03:06 PM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
If it is a true log burning fireplace, and depending on the age of the structure, you may not be able to pull any wiring behind the brick. You should consult with a chimney sweep who can tell you if you are able to have an electrician pull any conduit behind the brick face.

Otherwise, you will have to remove the mantle to have it routered for conduit to be placed behind it, so that you can place a outlet into the face of the mantle for plugging in the tv, and also for coax or hdmi.

This is something that you will have to do some planning, before just jumping in and doing, since you need to figure out how to get power up there, and also how to get video input from any gear that you may be placing either to the left or right on the shelves.
gregzoll is offline  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off