Patch Panel/ Wire Management - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 06-01-2012, 09:26 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
fax6202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Does anyone have any good recommendations for a patch/termination panel. I would like to have a panel where I can terminate everything right into keystones. That way I can just use short wires/cords from keystone connections to outlets. Thanks.
fax6202 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 06-01-2012, 09:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vanice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Southside Indy
Posts: 1,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 50
This is what I plan to use.

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2
vanice is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 06-01-2012, 10:21 AM
CEO FALCON SCREENS
 
snickers1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by vanice View Post

This is what I plan to use.

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

i have that and also bought the 4ft relay rack and a couple shelves for the fios router and the home server, they also sell gigabit switches now, but i had a coupon code for newegg and got a much better deal on a switch..

also if plan on streaming movies from a home server or would just like have a faster network or at least one that you can grow into i would think about running cat6 cable...
snickers1 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 06-01-2012, 11:10 AM
Member
 
jcorbin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Arizona
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I got the Cat6 patch panel from MP, like what vanice posted.
Also got the Cables To Go blank keystone patch panel from Amzn - here.

To hold both of those, I picked up a Tripp Lite 4U hinged patch panel bracket, also from Amzn (they love me). Here is a link.

The trip lite will go directly on the wall, high up in the equipment closet, where everything will terminate. The hinge is nice to be able to get to the rear of the patch panel if needed in the future.

If you are doing a whole house setup, you'll definitely need something larger.

Now past the drywall hump - Arizona Basement Build

jcorbin is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 06-01-2012, 12:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
scl23enn4m3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I fourth the Monoprice panel. I'm using the 12 port cat6 one and a bunch of their keystones with no issues.
scl23enn4m3 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 06-01-2012, 12:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
GWCR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 33
+5?

This is the one I got from monoprice.

12 port patch panel

Had it for over 2 years and no issues.
GWCR is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 06-01-2012, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
carboranadum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Winchester, VA
Posts: 2,941
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by vanice View Post

This is what I plan to use.

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

I used two of these and they worked out really, really well. I have them connected to two routers and we're in business!

Follow my build here: Harvest Ridge Theater
carboranadum is offline  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off