Long Run HDMI cables (Redmere) - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 07-09-2012, 01:18 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
colleycol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Seattle Area
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not sure if this is the right place to ask.
Anyone know where I can get a reliable long run (40-45 ft) HDMI cable, preferably with Redmere technology?

Monoprice just pushed their ECD back to 8/1/12.
http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10255&cs_id=1025501&p_id=9171&seq=1&format=2

I am trying to have all my cables in the conduit by end of the next week. I know I won’t get as cheap as Monoprice but I am not paying $400 for Monster cables.

Thanks

_________________________________________________
JVC RS4810, Screen Excellence 4K 115 inch wide
Lumagen Radiance 2021
Onkyo 818, Emotiva Amp
B&W CT700 Series Speakers, (2) PowerSound Audio XS30s
HTPC running Emby, 12TB Server for storage
colleycol is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 07-09-2012, 02:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tlogan6797's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 5,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Have you tried Blue Jeans Cable?

Tom Logan
Everytime I reply the thread ends
Need motivation? Get LOGANED
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1014847

The Yellow Dog Cinema and Draft House
tlogan6797 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 07-09-2012, 03:15 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: NW Houston, TX
Posts: 10,500
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1216 Post(s)
Liked: 777
Quote:
Originally Posted by colleycol View Post

I am trying to have all my cables in the conduit by end of the next week.

Assuming you mean flexible conduit for future-proofing purposes, run to your projector location or rack, you DON'T want to put cables in that conduit. Run them outside the conduit, next to it. You want to save the conduit for the future stuff you didn't know you needed...

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht
jautor is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 Old 07-10-2012, 11:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blipszyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 2,804
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Amazon has some good HDMI cables. I second what jautor said - run your existing cables outside the conduit. Save conduit for future-runs that you don't know about (or forgot smile.gif )

Visit the Lipszyc Home Theater! 1.0
2.0 done and finally posted! - Theater 2.0

And now...The Queen City Theater (3.0)
blipszyc is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 07-11-2012, 11:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
carboranadum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Winchester, VA
Posts: 2,986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Blue Jeans Cable. I had the same problem...Monoprice was out of the long run I needed, so I ordered it from BlueJeans. +1 on running the cable outside the conduit!

Follow my build here: Harvest Ridge Theater
carboranadum is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off