The Big Bay Home Theatre - Page 18 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 22Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #511 of 534 Old 01-05-2015, 09:51 PM
Senior Member
 
panino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Indy
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by memmo View Post
Luckily for me, these are already in the basement. My thought was to build them on a dolly so I could wheel them into the theater.. but I'm not sure these will be up to the task with how heavy the subs are. I don't think they'll roll on the carpet. I'll need to get a friend over to help move them into position
I've used a very low profile sled on casters I built to move stuff like that on hard surfaces and coasters I bought at HD with the slick plastic bottoms for carpet. Seems crazy but with those coasters you can slide several hundred pound pieces of furniture with ease on carpet and solo. Would work well with something heavy like a sub.
panino is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #512 of 534 Old 01-20-2015, 04:37 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
memmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Barrie, Ontario Canada
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 40
And let there be sound...


The Big Bay Home Theater Build Thread
My personal theater build on Kempenfelt Bay, Barrie Ontario Canada
memmo is offline  
post #513 of 534 Old 01-20-2015, 05:41 AM
Senior Member
 
RedStripe88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by memmo View Post
And let there be sound...

Gorgeous!!

Agree with BIG's earlier post, it's almost a crime to hide that craftsmanship with an AT screen.

My in progress build thread: Hidden in Bethesda
RedStripe88 is online now  
post #514 of 534 Old 01-20-2015, 07:09 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 27,098
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 1492
Looking good!

toe those speakers in a bit.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/19ypjyrtdw...akers.pdf?dl=0

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #515 of 534 Old 01-20-2015, 09:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brad Horstkotte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 5,132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Sexy - bet it sounds great too - I miss seeing my speakers too, I wonder if they're still there?
Brad Horstkotte is offline  
post #516 of 534 Old 01-20-2015, 01:01 PM
Newbie
 
nnicot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OMG... ::: DROOOOOOOOOOOLL::: there should be a NSFW tag on porn like this!
nnicot is offline  
post #517 of 534 Old 01-20-2015, 04:31 PM
Senior Member
 
javeryh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Wow - love this build. Really nice job!
javeryh is offline  
post #518 of 534 Old 01-20-2015, 07:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
JVoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Beaumont, TX
Posts: 743
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by memmo View Post
And let there be sound...

Looks great! How do those speakers and massive subs sound?
JVoth is offline  
post #519 of 534 Old 01-21-2015, 10:39 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
memmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Barrie, Ontario Canada
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by JVoth View Post
Looks great! How do those speakers and massive subs sound?
I'm troubleshooting some noise issues I'm having... narrowed it down to either the processor or the power amp. When I take both out of the equation and power the LCRs using a cheapie Denon AVR, the noise goes away.

Tonight, I'm going haul down a pair of mono blocks I have in a closet upstairs and try powering the L+R from it. Presumably, if the noise is still there, its a processor thing, if its gone, then something to do with the amp.

Not fun stuff, but I'll get to the bottom of it hah

The Big Bay Home Theater Build Thread
My personal theater build on Kempenfelt Bay, Barrie Ontario Canada
memmo is offline  
post #520 of 534 Old 01-21-2015, 12:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
JVoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Beaumont, TX
Posts: 743
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 70
There have been known issues with some power amps and high efficiency speakers. I know TMcg had this problem. Monoblocks may not help prove anything if they are pretty high powered. Your amp is 200 watts per channel right? The fact that you put a cheap Denon receiver in the mix, with little power more than likely, tells me it could possibly be too much wattage for your LCR's. Do you have any speakers that are below 90 dB efficient? If you have some in another room in the house try those out in your theater. Also, if you switch around one of the surround inputs with the lcr inputs, do you still get the noise? I know those Klipsch surrounds are very efficient also but it may be worth a try. I would find it very odd for a power amp or processor to be creating noise problems with the lcr channels only. The amp may have 1 bad channel but I doubt 3 bad channels. The same goes for the processor in that having 3 bad channels is not likely.
JVoth is offline  
post #521 of 534 Old 01-21-2015, 02:35 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
memmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Barrie, Ontario Canada
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by JVoth View Post
There have been known issues with some power amps and high efficiency speakers. I know TMcg had this problem. Monoblocks may not help prove anything if they are pretty high powered. Your amp is 200 watts per channel right? The fact that you put a cheap Denon receiver in the mix, with little power more than likely, tells me it could possibly be too much wattage for your LCR's. Do you have any speakers that are below 90 dB efficient? If you have some in another room in the house try those out in your theater. Also, if you switch around one of the surround inputs with the lcr inputs, do you still get the noise? I know those Klipsch surrounds are very efficient also but it may be worth a try. I would find it very odd for a power amp or processor to be creating noise problems with the lcr channels only. The amp may have 1 bad channel but I doubt 3 bad channels. The same goes for the processor in that having 3 bad channels is not likely.
The noise is in all of the channels (including the surrounds)... I can bring some small bookshelf speakers down to test the L + R. The Klipsch are 93db.. the bookshelfs are probably 88db so a better test.

The mono blocks are 150w channel instead of 200.

If it is infact just too much wattage, I'll just sell both and get one of the new Marantz receivers and call it a day.

The Big Bay Home Theater Build Thread
My personal theater build on Kempenfelt Bay, Barrie Ontario Canada
memmo is offline  
post #522 of 534 Old 01-21-2015, 03:20 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
memmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Barrie, Ontario Canada
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 40
I tried the bookshelf speakers in the mix and just like I suspected, the noise is MUCH less apparent. I had the pre-amp's volume set to 70 (vs the 60 I used with the Fusion's) and even though I could still hear the artifacts when I put my ear close to the speakers, from listening position, its virtual inaudible.

One thing that is really bothering me however is I think the amp is turning off the outputs (auto muting or something) when there is no signal. It makes it very hard to test. Essentially when nothing is being played, all I get is normal "hiss" which is inaudible until you put your ear next to the tweeter. When music starts, you hear the annoying high pitch noise (almost a ringing, not a hum or buzz -- very hard to describe). The amp has 3 settings "on", "music" and "12v". Its set to "ON" yet when listening to a cd for instance, in between tracks, it goes silent and sometimes I loose the first 2-3 seconds of the track before it turns on.

Frustrating problem. My big thing is. I dunno if its a problem with the processor, a problem with the amp, or if its just the nature of a not so quiet amp design with efficient speakers. If I thought the latter was the case, I'd just list and sell both items and get a new Marantz receiver. As is, I'd feel bad about selling something that I'm not 100% confident in.

The Big Bay Home Theater Build Thread
My personal theater build on Kempenfelt Bay, Barrie Ontario Canada
memmo is offline  
post #523 of 534 Old 01-25-2015, 02:58 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
memmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Barrie, Ontario Canada
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Had my mother over today and she managed to get the remaining red fabric panels done.

The one in the rear with the notch for the projector box was particularly challenging. Getting everything to fit just right proved tricky. It's pretty darn good now (its essentially wedged in).

Behind the panels are 4" of OC 705 equivalent, sitting 1" off the wall. I also used some poly vapour barrier over top of the insulation (per Bryan Pape's recommendation to reduce HF loss in the rear).

Also brought the seats in -- I got both rows used -- separately -- both the same Berkline design, slightly different finishing. All power recline. At about $300 a pop, It worked out great for now. It doesn't look like it in the the pic, but there is about 5-6 inches behind the rear row. A compromise acoustically for sure, but one I knew I about and was happy to make from day one. It's not terribly important that those seats perform well given how little use they'll see.

Now that they're in, I verified how tall I want to make the "booster" riser for the rear seats. Another 4 inches or so will be perfect

Jonny5nz, TMcG and Boomassiv like this.

The Big Bay Home Theater Build Thread
My personal theater build on Kempenfelt Bay, Barrie Ontario Canada

Last edited by memmo; 01-25-2015 at 03:02 PM.
memmo is offline  
post #524 of 534 Old 01-25-2015, 05:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Brentwood, TN
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Looking great, you lucked up on the seats!
triplejs15 is offline  
post #525 of 534 Old 01-26-2015, 05:09 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
memmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Barrie, Ontario Canada
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Update on my noise issue...

Tried a bunch of things and no luck. Then I swapped out the balanced XLR interconnects for some unbalanced RCAs. Noise gone. Anyone have any potential explanations?

The Big Bay Home Theater Build Thread
My personal theater build on Kempenfelt Bay, Barrie Ontario Canada
memmo is offline  
post #526 of 534 Old 01-27-2015, 09:29 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
LeBon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pebble Beach, CA
Posts: 855
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Loose ground in a balanced cable or chassis connector? We all like to think balanced eliminates noise. But it doesn't eliminate ground loops, I guess. This is a very interesting one.
LeBon is offline  
post #527 of 534 Old 01-28-2015, 01:08 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
memmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Barrie, Ontario Canada
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeBon View Post
Loose ground in a balanced cable or chassis connector? We all like to think balanced eliminates noise. But it doesn't eliminate ground loops, I guess. This is a very interesting one.
Swapped XLR cables and it made no difference. I guess I'll stick with RCAs until I upgrade

The Big Bay Home Theater Build Thread
My personal theater build on Kempenfelt Bay, Barrie Ontario Canada
memmo is offline  
post #528 of 534 Old 01-28-2015, 03:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
JVoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Beaumont, TX
Posts: 743
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 70
So, no more noise with the 7030/Sherbourn Amp and speakers if you go unbalanced? To be honest, the balanced connections vs unbalanced never made a difference in sound as far as I could tell. Either way, it shouldn't make a hissing noise. Good luck finding an answer for that! Glad it finally worked out. Time for measurements!
JVoth is offline  
post #529 of 534 Old 02-08-2015, 12:34 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
memmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Barrie, Ontario Canada
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 40
So, the JVC RS4910 arrived and I did some testing this weekend. It looks phenomenal.... but ... I have to stop and finish/tweak my "hush-box" as I think the projector is getting too hot.

I started a new thread asking a few questions, hoping to get a bit more expsoure. If anyone has the time to take a read and let me know if you have any thoughts, that would be appreciated! Here is the thread

Thanks!

The Big Bay Home Theater Build Thread
My personal theater build on Kempenfelt Bay, Barrie Ontario Canada
memmo is offline  
post #530 of 534 Old 02-11-2015, 06:16 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
memmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Barrie, Ontario Canada
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Now that I'm past my hushbox issues (glass arrives today), I've got only 2 more velvet panels to install on the screen wall and install the door hardware. I have some zero-international style door seals (jamb stops).. I'm wondering if most people mitre the top corners or just attach the header piece and but the side stops up against it?

The Big Bay Home Theater Build Thread
My personal theater build on Kempenfelt Bay, Barrie Ontario Canada
memmo is offline  
post #531 of 534 Old 02-11-2015, 06:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TMcG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Manbearpig Search Headquarters
Posts: 3,221
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 676 Post(s)
Liked: 493
Do not mitre. Install the top piece and butt the sides against it. If you have to make any cuts, they would be straight chop cuts at the very bottom of the side pieces to get the correct length. You may also have to chop the header piece on one side to get the precise width.

Last edited by TMcG; 02-18-2015 at 12:43 AM.
TMcG is offline  
post #532 of 534 Old 02-11-2015, 06:21 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
memmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Barrie, Ontario Canada
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by TMcG View Post
Do not mitre. Install the top piece and but the sides against it. If you have to make any cuts, they would be straight chop cuts at the very bottom of the side pieces to get the correct length. You may also have to chop the header piece on one side to get the precise width.
Great thanks! Any tips to installing them (door stops) in general?

The Big Bay Home Theater Build Thread
My personal theater build on Kempenfelt Bay, Barrie Ontario Canada
memmo is offline  
post #533 of 534 Old 02-11-2015, 06:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TMcG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Manbearpig Search Headquarters
Posts: 3,221
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 676 Post(s)
Liked: 493
Close the door to get your markings after getting just the right amount of compression. You can get one mark through the screw hole and then use a 6' level to get a dead straight vertical line. If your door is off slightly, you can install them against a closed door...it's just a bit more difficult to get a good install angle with your screw gun.
TMcG is offline  
post #534 of 534 Old 02-11-2015, 07:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mr.Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SC
Posts: 2,494
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 106
I've had doors slightly warped or the left and right jambs are not perfectly plumb.

I usually do the hinge side first. Close door and get mounted with proper compression. Don't go too crazy as seal may get pinched when door closes. Operate the door a few times and make sure you are happy

Put a screw in the stop on the head jamb near the hinge side (so it lines up with hinge side jamb, obviously). Close door an secure latch side of head jamb.

Install latch side stop with one screw near top to align with head jamb. Close door and line up side stop so you have consistant compression all the way down the door.

Don't go too crazy with compression, you can bow the door if you go overboard.

Tim
Mr.Tim is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off