Can you install carpet over laminate? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 08-22-2012, 06:36 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tnthudson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK a question has popped up in the pre-planning phases...I have a finished basement, hardwood laminate (installed on the 'pad' so I guess it's 'floating')....can you install carpet over that laminate when the time comes?
I know you "can," but does it make a difference as far as acoustics are concerned?
thanks
tnthudson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 08-22-2012, 07:19 PM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I wouldn't. Do not take a shortcut, and just rip up the laminate.
gregzoll is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 08-23-2012, 05:28 AM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 21,503
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 580 Post(s)
Liked: 738
If the laminate was installed properly and you are not likely to have any moisture issues that might cause it to buckle, it can stay, but I would only bother if it is currently solving some uneven floor issues or you actually plan on returning the room to that laminate in the future. Otherwise it should be a quick project to remove it.
BIGmouthinDC is online now  
post #4 of 7 Old 08-23-2012, 05:34 AM
Senior Member
 
hakstone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Jax, FL.
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
You could go with throw rugs.

hakstone is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 08-23-2012, 06:29 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tnthudson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK guys, thanks so much. Had a pretty long talk with 'the wife' last night about finances, plans, etc. and am probably putting the home theater on hold for a few years...HUGELY disappointed right now. The bright side is that I may move the project upstairs after kid #1 moves out, which is a huge bedroom in our cape cod, probably much better suited to doing a theater the right way.
tnthudson is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 08-23-2012, 07:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Spaceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: North Houston
Posts: 1,978
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 103
That gives you lots of time to plan it out and make it perfect.smile.gif I was in the research/design mode for more than a year and then put everything on hold for another year before really getting into mine.
Spaceman is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 08-23-2012, 07:26 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tnthudson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Spaceman, and thanks for your help. It may be more like a few years, which is the hard part to swallow, but who knows? Either way, you're right, it does give me time to plan, I was pretty rushed if I'd gone with the original plan.
tnthudson is offline  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off