what wires to run to ceiling mount projector? Ethernet to projector? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 08-28-2012, 09:18 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
michelevit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My humble home theater project is currently in studs and I’m running all my inwall wiring.
I’m planning on running vga, hdmi, usb and power to my ceiling projector mount. Any purpose to add Ethernet?
Or any other wires? I’d hate to open up the sheetrock in the future just in case I’m forgetting anything.

Thanks in advance.
michelevit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 08-28-2012, 10:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jayn_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 27
How long is the run? You may find on a longer run that HDMI is marginal and you might want to run a couple of cat-6 wires up there so you can do HDMI to cat-6 adapters.
jayn_j is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 08-28-2012, 11:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,823
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 354
Run a flex conduit to the projector location so in the future you can add whatever the next-big-thing is...

But definitely run at least 2 category (cat5e or cat6) wires to the projector. 3 would not be too many, and cat wire is super cheap. Category cable is useful for many things besides Ethernet (which you'll probably want at the projector location, too): HDMI-over-category, RS232, IR repeating, etc.

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
post #4 of 10 Old 08-28-2012, 11:44 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
michelevit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the run is short @ 15 feet. I'm currently have a vga projector but will upgrade once the bulb give out. (estimating within 2 years)
Thanks for the advice. I'll pull some ethernet for the future.
michelevit is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 08-29-2012, 08:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
BroncoSport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I ran a 15' HDMI, 3 Cat5e (network connection to projector, backup and one for IR blaster for the anamorphic lens sled) and 6 RG6 coax cables and a 1 1/4" conduit for future proofing.

Now that the projector is mounted and hooked up, I can't find ANY reason for the 6 coax wires. My thought at time of wiring was 2 sets of component cables. Now that I am using a DVDO iScan Duo in the rack, I highly doubt the coax will every get ends cut on them.
BroncoSport is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 08-29-2012, 10:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Crash11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Jackson, MI
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 19
If you do run any network cable (cat5 or cat6) run 2 as has been said already.

As far as conduit, I personally like running PVC better than flexible stuff like smurf tube. PVC is way cheaper in large sizes, and since you're not looking for perfect sealing, it's pretty easy to install.
Crash11 is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 08-29-2012, 11:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
phisch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crash11 View Post

If you do run any network cable (cat5 or cat6) run 2 as has been said already.
As far as conduit, I personally like running PVC better than flexible stuff like smurf tube. PVC is way cheaper in large sizes, and since you're not looking for perfect sealing, it's pretty easy to install.

I also used PVC pipe (2") to the projector as my conduit run - much cheaper and easy to install. Like the others I ran 3 cat6 cables to the pj, along with my 25' HDMI cable.
phisch is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 08-29-2012, 04:31 PM
Senior Member
 
GRBoomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I ran:
  • 1 RS232
  • 2 CAT6
  • 2 HDMI

And then an empty 2" conduit.
I got my HDMI cables here www.MyCableMart.com. They were local to me so I could pick them up. They actually use MonoPrice for their bulk speaker cable.
GRBoomer is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 09-02-2012, 08:19 AM
Senior Member
 
fcaico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm in the process of building my theater right now. I've run a 2" conduit to my projector and inside of that one HDMI cable.
Thats it.

I know that the conventional wisdom is to plan for the future and not use the conduit initially, but I really can't see the point. I actually fished the HDMI cable through it a couple times and it was so easy I don't feel any need to run anything else for the time being. If the HDMI needs to be changed for something else, or I need more cables I'll just fish them through at that time. I see no reason to run a bunch of cables I don't have any plans to use.
fcaico is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 09-02-2012, 09:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,823
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by fcaico View Post

I know that the conventional wisdom is to plan for the future and not use the conduit initially, but I really can't see the point. I actually fished the HDMI cable through it a couple times and it was so easy I don't feel any need to run anything else for the time being. If the HDMI needs to be changed for something else, or I need more cables I'll just fish them through at that time. I see no reason to run a bunch of cables I don't have any plans to use.

Well, you've got a 2" conduit, so it's going to be much easier to pull cables through than if it was a smaller conduit. Which is why we recommend to run existing cables outside initially. It's also much, much easier to pull cables through an empty conduit than one with cables in it (regardless of size). But with 2" available, and what sounds like an easy pull, you won't have any problem...

Running additional cables that you "don't need" is some guessing - but I only suggest running category cables because they're so flexible (in what they can be used for), and so cheap that if you never use them, you're only out a few bucks...

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off